We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A tranquil, comfortable get-away”
other travellers have booked this property
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence River Stour close by the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
41 reviews
'The House at Plucks Gutter'
2017 Certificate of Excellence
River Stour close by the cottage
Conservatory
Patio Area
Lounge
Inglenook
Conservatory and Formal Dining Table
Farmhouse Kitchen - Dining Area
Farmhouse Kitchen - Storage
Farmhouse Kitchen - Range
Lounge
Staircase
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1
Jacuzzi in Main Bathroom [Ground Floor]
Downstairs shower room
If only the trains stopped here...!
Cottage makes a great winter retreat
River in Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Canterbury, Kent, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Julie N
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A tranquil, comfortable get-away”
Reviewed 20 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Wonderful riverside location, very peaceful and away from the hubbub of everyday life. The cottage is delightful and very comfortable and we felt at home immediately. Plenty of places to visit locally, from beach to countryside and many pubs to eat at if you can't be bothered to cook in the spacious and extremely well equipped kitchen. Do however be bothered to make a log fire and curl up with books and a glass of wine.

We hope to return very soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosiness of cottage
Liked least: There's no cat!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Many thanks for your review, we look forward to seeing you again, Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“lovely weekend - would recommend”
Reviewed 30 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

beautiful cottage with lots of thoughtful touches. quiet scenic location but with easy access to Ramsgate, Broadstairs and Canterbury. Pub is very close by which is friendly and does nice food.

Bring a torch to get to and from pub in the dark

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Dec 2015
Hi: We have replaced the torch which was there - honest Guv..!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrisbaneB...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A Beautiful Home For a Holiday”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My wife and sister-in -law chose this house from the reviews printed on Trip Advisor and had two great weeks there in September. The house is beautifully located in the Thanet area of Kent, close to Canterbury and Sandwich and the coastal resorts of Ramsgate and Broadstairs. The setting beside the Stour River is spectacular. The weather was mostly kind to us, allowing us to enjoy walks exploring villages and market towns.

It's an old house [a former pub, actually] but there is good heating, lots of hot water, good wi-fi and the most beautiful garden to enjoy. The only criticism we could make is the difficult driveway - hard to negotiate and easy to miss - and the stairs leading to the bedrooms are steep and not very suitable for frail or aged people. The house is charming, however, and a real pleasure to live in.

I think I also need to note the whimsy or eccentricity of the way the house is offered to visitors. The friendly owners have left their house with family photographs still on display, ice cream in the freezer, lots of expensive wine on shelves and good china and glasses in cupboards. We felt like guests in someone's home. This is not a bad thing, of course, but it was unusual to turn up bottles of scent on dressing tables and good whisky within easy reach. The owner's generous philosophy is that guests should use what they want and replace it as you leave. The honour system seems to work.

The friendly local pub [The Dog and Duck] is just over the road and serves great pub food in a friendly atmosphere.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself is charming. The location is superb, The garden is delightful.
Liked least: Some eccentric plumbing - and some of the electircal appliances were so
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Thank you for your feedback, we hope to see you again soon, Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SirMike82
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect for our immediate family wedding reception”
Reviewed 11 September 2015 for a stay in July 2015

What a wonderful cottage! We stayed here for our wedding weekend and had about 20 family members round for the Saturday afternoon and early evening to raise a glass. We had an outstanding time and all our guests were bowled over by the beauty of the cottage and it's surroundings. Mike and Celia were extremely generous and helpful and I recommend staying there as highly as is humanly possible!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How homely it felt
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2015
Thank you for your feedback - we hope to see you again soon. Mike and Celia
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugina H
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic experience, thankyou”
Reviewed 6 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Beautiful comfortable cottage, cosy, well maintained. Very kind and helpful owners. We were welcomed with flowers and wine in the fridge. Fantastic jaccuzi. very friendly local pub. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay- Thankyou

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The bath!
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Sep 2015
Thank you for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon. Mike and Celia.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing