We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay at Ebury Hotel - May 2012” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Certificate of Excellence
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Stay at Ebury Hotel - May 2012”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

A very comfortable hotel, within close walking of the centre of Canterbury. Warm welcome by all staff, with clean, smart bedrooms. Provides a full restaurant and a separate lounge and bar. Breakfast was full English and well cooked, along with a good dinner selection. Stayed 2 nights with a room overlooking the back garden, which was quiet and offered good views. Hotel provides a pool, which we did not use, but saw other guests utilizing the facility and commenting on the cleanness of the pool. A great place to stay if visiting Canterbury and surrounding area.

Room Tip: Back rooms overlook garden and good garden views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KEJA58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    176
    166
    65
    9
    4
See reviews for
93
200
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evreux, France
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2012

Room and facilities including the pool were clean and pleasant, and good value for money. Only downside were the old sash windows that let in a lot of road noise.
Tempted by the variety of the menu and French chef, we decided to try and the restaurant. Big error.
Started with a horrible cocktail and informed that a few nuts or olives to go with it had to be PAID FOR. Food was just average pub grub, down to the oven chips and tepid white wine slopped on the table by the unpleasant bored waiter. By the time that Leo Sayer came around again on the loop of 70's easy listening muzak, we left.
Summary: would use the hotel again but - inclusive breakfast aside - would never eat in that restaurant again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was a last minute booking and all I could find for under £70 within a mile of the city centre. The hotel looks grand from the outside and is well signposted with a large off-road car park.

I booked a single en-suite for one night which cost £60.00 (including breakfast). The room was nicely decorated with basic facilities. As a large guy (6ft 6") I find single rooms to be too small - but this room was nicely proportioned with tea/coffee tray, ample wardrobe space, LCD TV (with Sky Sports 1, 2 and Sky One plus terrestrial channels) desk, chair and en-suite bathroom. The bathroom to my disappointment only had a hand-held shower attachment and bathtub.

The hotel boasts a medium sized swimming pool and spa which was a great bonus. The pool is inside an out-house with changing facilities and massive windows overlooking the gardens. Reception provide the towels and also the access code required to access the building. It was a lovely 28 degrees in the pool.

The bar is modern and reasonably priced. Unfortunately I cannot comment on breakfast as I never made it, but it smelt good.

I would definitely stay here again as the hotel is within 10 minutes walk of the city centre so far enough away to have a quiet nights sleep.

Tips: Ask for a room with a shower and do not park under the trees in the car park as your car will get plastered in bird poo.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a shower. There are no lifts in this hotel and the rooms are spread over three f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012 via mobile

Very Findlay and welcoming and quiet hotel, 10 mins walk to central Canterbury. We had a double room which was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good. We only stayed one night but it was a vey nice stay.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank LondonGlasgowTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We had a wonderful stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Our room was beautiful and even though it overlooked the road there was very little noise. We had a superb meal in the restaurant and a plentiful lovely breakfast. I need a gluten free diet and took my own bread. This was not required as the hotel keep a stock in. Well done and thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen3157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
1.2 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.2 km away
Abbots Barton Hotel
Abbots Barton Hotel
#3 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
1.5 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#4 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.0 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Canterbury City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments

Property: Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Address: 65-67 New Dover Road, Canterbury CT1 3DX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Canterbury
Price range (per night): $128 - $293
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ebury Hotel is located a short walk from Canterbury city centre and the cathedral, this 15 bedroom elegant Victorian building is situated in its own gardens. All bedrooms are ensuite, and have Freeview tv channels, flat screen tvs, free fibre optic wi-fi, and welcome trays. The double rooms all have kingsize beds. Family rooms are available. Facilities include a large free carpark, indoor heated pool, Henry's Bar,the sun terrace and gardens. Two bedroomed serviced apartments located in the hotel grounds are also available. Self-catering cottages are available on weekly lets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Expedia APAC so you can book your Ebury Hotel and Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ebury Hotel Canterbury

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing