We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Falstaff in Canterbury
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Newcastle
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Our room placed us in the annex, at the back of the 14th century main building, and although not luxurious, this was clean and well maintained, with decent sound-proofing on the windows (although these could have done with a paint). Location is great, just outside the west gate of the city, three minutes walk from the cathedral. Staff were helpful, getting us fresh milk for our room very readily.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mac094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,051 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    463
    182
    77
    50
See reviews for
157
547
58
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We left there today after 3 nights accommodation. It is a very old building going back to the 14th century, full of character. Superb location just step out of the hotel and you are into the shops and the Cathedral is just around the corner. The staff there were quite honestly the best I have encountered, from those on Reception to those in the breakfast lounge. Great breakfast too- buffet.Nothing is too much trouble. The information about where to go to enjoy the stay was spot on. Cannot fault the place. I'll be going back I can assure you

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10, it was great there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chowWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We had a room in the annexe, the room was large, clean and had everything you could require. Yes the rooms were a little warm but having read this on trip advisor I took a fan with me so no problem there. All the staff were helpful and friendly, they seemed to take a pride in their job and appreciated your feedback. The location was perfect all the attractions of Canterbury were close and there was a multitude of great bars and restaurants within easy walking distance. I would not hesitate to stay here again and to recommend it to others. Thank you Falstaff for a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelle s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

We had a family room at the front and a twin room in the Old Woodmill, the annexe. Both rooms were of good, clean, 3-star standard with hairdryer and teamaking facilities. The bathrooms are getting a little tired, but everything functioned well. The main building is old and timber-framed which gives it a quirky layout of the rooms, and very creaky floorboards. The hotel is right next to a pub, so we made sure the window in the family room was shut to avoid the inevitable noise at closing-time. The double glazing did a good job and we had 2 peaceful nights - if you want to have the window open, ask for a room in the Woodmill building. The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful. We had a very comfy stay, and enjoyed exploring Canterbury on foot: the car stayed in the free hotel carpark. .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Good location, easy to find, and a nice car park. Staff very nice on check in.
The hotel is right at the edge of the main street, so a great location for sightseeing, particularly if you value the convenience of popping back to your hotel without needing the car. The room I had, 55, was ok, if a little worn. The room was one of a number in a building next to the hotel. I wouldn't ask for it again, too hot, little ventilation, and consequently hard to sleep. If you stay on a hot day, it would be pretty uncomfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.4 km away
ABode Canterbury
ABode Canterbury
#7 of 16 in Canterbury
1,848 reviews
0.5 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 16 in Canterbury
419 reviews
1.5 km away
Best Western Abbots Barton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 16 in Canterbury
1,130 reviews
1.1 km away
Canterbury Hotel
Canterbury Hotel
#5 of 16 in Canterbury
269 reviews
0.7 km away
Castle House Hotel
Castle House Hotel
#10 of 16 in Canterbury
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Falstaff in Canterbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Falstaff in Canterbury

Property: The Falstaff in Canterbury
Address: 8-10 St. Dunstans Street, Canterbury CT2 8AF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Canterbury
Price range (per night): $121 - $187
Hotel Class:3 star — The Falstaff in Canterbury 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just metres from Canterbury's medieval West Gate, this charming building dates back to 1403. A former coaching inn, it offers free WiFi and free parking, 2 minutes' walk from the city centre. The Falstaff still retains many original features, including oak beams and an open log fire. Each room has a TV for guests to use, and facilities for making tea and coffee. The hotel offers a cooked to order full English breakfast as well as self service buffet option. The bar offers a range of wines and variety of exclusive cocktails. Canterbury West Rail Station is a 3-minute walk from the building. The city's spectacular Norman cathedral can be reached in less than 10 minutes on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Falstaff in Canterbury reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing