We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Excellent and Quirky B&B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arthouse b + b

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arthouse b + b
Ranked #30 of 76 Canterbury B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Excellent and Quirky B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

This is a great B&B located a very short walk (comfortably less than 10 minutes) from the town centre. The building is an old firestation and the owners are artists - the combination produces a truly unique B&B. The interior is full of great pieces of modern art - I don't really know much about art so I won't try and describe the pieces but they produce a great feel to the place. The interior is very generous for a B&B and there are only two rooms so you feel like you have tonnes of space. Each bedroom has its own bathroom (although not en-suite - they are separate rooms), there is also a living area, a kitchen and a dining room - all of which are exclusively for guests.

We loved this place and would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We had the 'back' room - which is located closer to it's bathroom. However, the front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maxpaln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    21
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
62
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bath
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

Beautiful building located within walking distance of the centre. Very wellcoming, comfortable, home from home! we loved our stay at the Arthouse. Breakfast was excellent, great choice and very good quality products!
The house is full of interesting art and lovely touches! Very light and airy! we even had fresh flowers in our bedroom.
If we visit Canterbury again we won't consider anywhere else!
:-)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Having read countless wonderful reviews on Trip Advisor, we chose the date of our Canterbury trip entirely on the basis of when the Arthouse b+b could accommodate us. Despite very high expectations, we weren't disappointed in any respect!

John and Ann are fantastically friendly hosts. The accommodation is full of wonderful art and humorous oddities, achieving a perfect balance of style and comfort. The bedrooms are spacious and the shared living are on the second floor is massive and a great place for a bit of light reading, with access to full kitchen facilities, tea, coffee, etc at all times.

Breakfast is set out early and guests are free to eat at their pleasure, which makes a welcome change and makes you feel like you're in your own home. Like most reviewers, we also found the place to be spotlessly clean with excellent facilities.

Very, very highly recommended indeed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mystic-Cabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
614 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

This B&B has two rooms, because we are a family with two little children we needed two rooms which automatically meant that we had the shared living room and bathrooms for ourselves.
On arrival we had to search a little bit. We parked the car next to the house and thought the owners lived in the opposite house. But the man sitting there did not give us much attention. So we went on searching, but after 5 minutes it was a woman that indeed came from the opposite house.
She was very friendly and relaxed and immediately gave some tips for the road to the center, which is about a 10 minute walk. We stayed here for 2 nights, for which we had to pay 250 pound.
The house though was not very clean, and with two kids aged 2 and 3 that’s not so nice. Dust was easy to find and it gave me the feeling that the last big cleaning action was years ago.
One of the two beds made a lot of noise, that is, if you lay still all night, you don’t have much of a problem.
I booked this after reading the good stories here, but in the end, this B+B is in my opinion a little bit overrated here.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FORZA7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2012

What an absolute delight this B&B proved to be! The accomodation in an old fire station is beautifully furnished with many kitsch and retro items of furniture and decor; and the wonderfully quirky and humorous artworks created by the owners. Everything was spotlessly clean, and breakfast was abundant and top quality.

The welcome from the owners was warm and they proved to be kind and generous hosts - I would unhesitatingly return next time I am in Canterbury, and recommend Arthouse b+b to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Kent.

Arthouse is a very short walk from the centre of town, so proved to be a great base from which to explore the town, and to return to after dinner.

There is offroad parking (a rarity in town) - and a small hint is worth making here. The parking is accessed through an arched tunnel beneath the main building (visible in photos of the frontage of the building) - it's a very tight turn when coming from the west, and still pretty tight coming from the other, easterly direction. Better to come across the London Road from the road opposite (New Road) as this way you can drive straight in.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dunnjon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Canterbury hotels
0.7 km away
Pilgrims Hotel
Pilgrims Hotel
#11 of 17 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
1.1 km away
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
Canterbury Cathedral Lodge
#1 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
1.0 km away
Cathedral Gate Hotel
Cathedral Gate Hotel
#2 of 17 in Canterbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Black Horse Inn
The Black Horse Inn
#49 of 76 in Canterbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.9 km away
Peregrine House
Peregrine House
#37 of 76 in Canterbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.4 km away
House of Agnes
House of Agnes
#2 of 76 in Canterbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arthouse b + b? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthouse b + b

Property: Arthouse b + b
Address: 24 London Road, Canterbury CT2 8LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Canterbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Canterbury
Price range (per night): $96 - $281
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthouse b + b 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A totally different b and b experience. Arthouse is an old fire station, 5 min. walk from Canterbury West station, and 10 mins. to the city centre. Arthouse is a quirky, beautiful and comfortable place to stay, full of art, treasures, and beautiful things. Two bedrooms each with a private bathroom. Guests have the use of the whole house as the owners live in a house at the rear of the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Arthouse b + b reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing