We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and tired”
Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 15 November 2017

First impressions of rude lady on reception. Demanding swipe of credit card. Shown rooms which were stuck in the eighties. Didn't feel clean, in fact I have a crew cut but found long hairs around the sink in the bathroom. Restaurant is like a wedding reception room. There is an Italian restaurant on site. All the staff are Italian and seem friendly enough, but I hate to say it as its someone's business, but I would never return, need totally updating.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank garyc645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2017

Had dinner at this great place they have fantastic Italian food in beautiful surroundings
lovely décor and great service in the large restaurant had a drink in the bar before dinner the whole place is great to visit and is a must if you love Italian food

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skylane72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

Being a family of 5, we booked a family room for 2 nights as this is a great location to explore St Albans and the Harry Potter studio tour. Staff were welcoming and friendly and engaged with the kids. Food in the restaurant was excellent with a huge choice. Breakfast was good. Room 27 was fine, a bit dated and not massive but fine for our needs, and we were not bothered by the train as mentioned in other reviews. Shower great and bathroom clean. So far, so good....Unfortunately one of the duvets on a single bed was not clean at all and looked as if something had been spilt on it, and the same applied to the valence. I dropped an earring and had to move the double bed...yuk, clearly no hoovering recently there! I didn't mention this upon checking out as I felt I had already annoyed the lady at reception by asking to see the restaurant bill before I paid the overall bill, which was a handwritten affair of the room total plus the restaurant total. She produced a large envelope of (I assume) receipts and said it was the end of the month. All was resolved when Joe turned up who kindly reprinted the food receipt for me so I could check it. Overall we enjoyed the stay, but would recommend a bit more attention to cleanliness in the room.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank wales_family_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Ardmore hotel with my two children. One being a baby. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming and could not do enough for us. The room was very clean and we had a comfortable stay. The food is delicious in the belverdere restaurant and highly recommended. I will be going back to visit the restaurant. Overall, it was an enjoyable stay and would recommend staying at this hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Jade R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

A terrible hotel - worn out, outdated and filthy.

As soon as you walk in you get an impression of the place. It's like a timewarp to a bad seaside hotel in the 80's. The place needs fully renovating and updating. The room I was given was filthy. Curly hairs all around and across the toilet, shower and bathroom floor. Toothpaste residue and a piece of floss in the basin, debris all over the carpet and stained bedsheets.

I asked to be moved and the second room was at least clean but it was the size of a shoe box. The paint was flaking off the radiator in the bathroom and the window frames, there were stains and splashes up the walls and doors and the bed was so uncomfortable I barely slept. Their plumbing is bad. The red tap (or at least what was left of it as the whole tap wasn't there!!) gave me hot water. The blue tap gave me warm water. Where was the cold?? Obviously the pipes run very closely together through the system. Couple that with the noise from the freight trains that pass by the hotel all through the night and it's a bad mix.

The bar area was awful with that horrible stale alcohol stink that you get when cleaning doesn't happen. The barman spent all of his time leaning on the counter chatting at reception instead of looking after the bar. If I was paying his wages I'd expect him to be working even if he didn't have any customers, especially when it the bar so obviously needs cleaning!!!!

Breakfast was overcooked and swimming in grease. I ate half of it but felt nauseas all morning as a result. On leaving the hotel and walking to my car, there was loads of food stored out in the open uncovered (next to the trollies that appear to have been stolen from Morrisons). Maybe this was just a food delivery that was waiting to be taken inside but why leave it outside at all?

One thing that confuses me is that somebody is clearly putting a lot of time, effort and money into making the outside of the hotel look nice. A total contrast to the rest of the place and I don't understand why do one and not the other?

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigAndy1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.4 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,421 reviews
1.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.7 km away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
4.8 km away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
11.7 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St Albans AL1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: AU$128 - AU$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing