We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O.K for a night”
Review of Ardmore House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ardmore House
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Reviewed 7 August 2017

We stayed in room 19, which was very small, but the furniture was good quality, and the room was clean. The bathroom was also small, but well presented. However I had a rotten nights sleep the mattress was hard and the pillows appeared to be inflated, so I was unable to reduce the height by rearranging them.
The breakfast offered a good choice of food, and the cooked breakfast was piping hot.
The grounds were nice and would be ideal for a wedding on a nice day, and there was plenty of parking

Room Tip: Pick a room at the back, as there is a busy main road to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janetG2239JY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (561)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 561 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2017

Went there with my wife for one night, got to the reception, which was very small in space, people in front of us checking in, waited around 10 minutes before we checked in, we ordered a double room, when we had checked in and was walking towards the entrance door, we was told that we had a small double room, (he wasn't telling lies) our room was on the second floor, with NO lift, finally got into our room, opened the door and it was small, bathroom was very small not much room to turn around in the shower enclosure, the wash basin was about 3 foot away from the toilet.
The room was dated, although it did look as though that it had recently been painted.
The bed was very comfortable, it only had 1 pillow each, but un be known to us there was another 2 in the wardrobe. The wardrobe was very small indeed, we did notice that the throw over had a tea/coffee stain on it, so obviously hadn't been checked prior to our arrival.
Breakfast was served between 8 and 9.30 am, and the breakfast was enjoyable.
There was ample parking in the hotel, and if you was struggling to find a place there is enough parking out the front.
The main reception is NOT 24hour.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GarryW36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Set up for weddings and conferences. Has everything you need but it's nothing special. It's on quite a busy road so worth asking for a window that faces away from the road. It's a little walk out of the town centre

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank Annie Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2017 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Rooms are tired but ok. Reception gave me a breakfast window of 7.15 to 8.30 but in the breakfast room it says till 9. Continental breakfast ok dont seem to top up during service. However cooked breakfast I received was swimming in oil. Didnt repeat the 2nd day.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017

How can I possible describe how it was for me staying in the above accommodation?? Think" Fawlty Towers, Basil, with ten ingrown toenails" and you get my drift!!! I found most of the staff to be either chronically depressed/disinterested or just plain rude. The happiest person we met was the young lady who attended to the rooms and that is presumably because she's away from all the others who's melancholy must have been contagious.
The house itself is a mish/mash of additions at various times in the life of this "hotel". Most hotels won't charge £35.00 extra per night for the use of a bath but that was what I was asked to pay. I paid £70.00 extra for a room with a bath for two nights in what is advertised as a 4 star Hotel. Don't all four star hotels have bath and shower as standard?? Bed linen was clean and the odd collection of quilts were functional but did beg the question, how often are they washed?? Carpet was not clean but I travel with slippers. Bathroom was ok.
Regardless, my issue is with the reception staff and bar staff who seemed to view us all as" inconveniences" to be dispatched as quickly as possible. They operated a thinly veiled cynical approach towards us hapless paying guests. My impression was that we were a huge inconvenience in the running of the place, we should come and go silently without any interaction with staff or each other. This hotel would be best suited to a convention of" stepford wives or androids" whose switches could be tripped when deemed appropriate to the staff thus ensuring a smooth escape at 23.00 each night. Their mental clocks were primed for a quick get away at this time each evening and anything or anyone who stood in the way of that was scolded like a child.
This is the hospitality industry guys and gals, that means you must try to be polite to guests, smile even and yes, yes, it's OK to be helpful too.
Do yourself a favour and go elsewhere, unless you're doing a doctorate in psychology and require endless hours in strange aggressive human behaviour.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near St Albans
2.4 km away
Sopwell House
Sopwell House
#3 of 10 in St Albans
2,418 reviews
1.3 km away
Clarion Collection Hotel St. Albans
1.7 km away
St Michael's Manor Hotel
St Michael's Manor Hotel
#5 of 10 in St Albans
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express St. Albans - M25, Jct. 22
4.8 km away
Mercure St Albans Noke Hotel
11.7 km away
The Grove Hotel
The Grove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chandler's Cross
2,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardmore House

Address: 54 Lemsford Road, St Albans AL1 3PR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hertfordshire > St Albans
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in St Albans
Price Range: AU$126 - AU$196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardmore House 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Ardmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardmore House Hotel St. Albans
Ardmore Hotel Saint Albans

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing