We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldn’t be giving an award!”

Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 2 Shopping in Hertford
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Foxholes Farm is an award winning family run farm deep in the Hertfordshire Countryside. A fully stocked farm shop, butchery counter and Tea Room, serving breakfast, lunches and afternoon tea. The Animal Barn is open every weekend and throughout the school holidays and the farm plays host to a enclosed children's play area. Admission is free into to the farm and there is a small charge to enter the animal barn. Please note the Animal Barn is open 11am - 3pm
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

I visited with my granddaughter to feed a lamb. I was distressed to see these tiny, scrawny, dirty, uncared for, very hungry animals huddled together in the corner or wandering about crying for food.
We were given a very small amount of milk in a bottle which didn’t appear to be enough and didn’t satisfy the lamb who was still looking for food afterwards.
The goats were well fed, happy little things as were the pigs, but the contrast between a fed on demand lamb outside with its mother and the sad little creatures in the barn was upsetting.
There are chicks in a container outside with no supervision and no signs to suggest to parents that it’s not acceptable for a 4 year old to pick up and squeeze a very young chick however cute they think it is!
The pigmy goats were nice, and well cared for, as were the donkeys but the Alpacas, who, it says like to be in a herd, were timid and shy, maybe that’s because two is not a herd!
The cafe is vastly overpriced, a child’s lunch is half a sandwich, cheese or ham, a small drink carton, a very small square of cake and approx half a bag of crisps for £5! I couldn’t comment on adult food as I asked for a cream tea and was given 2 fruit scones and butter and a small pot of tea, that said the butter was nice. Not quite a cream tea though!
I expected more from the hype, the award winning blurb, I’m not sure what exactly I expected but it wasn’t to leave there sad but I did and I won’t be going back.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank debholmes23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Firstly, lambs are not always cute fluffy animals all of the time, they huddle in the corner to take in the heat of the lamps as the weather has not been kind when they are used to being born this time of year in a much warmer climate. The lambs are kept on strict feeding programmes by our qualified farm team, so we have to make sure they are not over fed, like most animals if you keep feeding them they will become sick. Our lambs are brought up in a very healthy environment, as you can see the ewes from last year have also given birth. The chicks are somewhat mis-handled at times by Children who are not used to handling such young animals, so we rely on accompaning adults to guide the children correctly. We are a working family farm and although our tea room may not be big, food costs are the same, (but you would normally get jam with your cream tea) ? Did you ask the server? We are sorry you won`t be visitng again but thank you kindly for taking time to give us your comments it is very much appriciated!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (138)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"play area"
in 10 reviews
"cake"
in 9 reviews
"light lunch"
in 4 reviews
"fresh meat"
in 4 reviews
"sandwiches"
in 6 reviews
"jacket potato"
in 3 reviews
"full english"
in 3 reviews
"lovely little place"
in 3 reviews
"buy meat"
in 3 reviews
"stopped for lunch"
in 3 reviews
"visited today"
in 3 reviews
"young girl"
in 3 reviews
"local produce"
in 4 reviews
"feed the animals"
in 2 reviews
"preserves"
in 2 reviews
"ham"
in 4 reviews
"great breakfast"
in 2 reviews
Filter

26 - 30 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We often stop here on the way back from the cemetery in Hoddesdon. It is in a lovely setting on a farm, nice and quiet. The coffee shop is lovely with seating inside, on decking or on the grass. Often where you sit is dictated by the age of your children. There is a small park for children probably aged 4 to 10 years. Possibly older, my 12 year old was enjoying the swings. There is also a small petting farm. Today as usual it was busy, however it was so busy that they had decided to do a restricted menu, this meant no burgers, that meant one disappointed son, one pleased mum when he ate it all. It isn't cheap to eat but your not rushed on and with the son shining it is a nice place to get a bit of adult time. My only complaint would be the toilets need more regular cleaning, or I should say tidying. They were clean, it's just us humans seem to think it's OK to leave rubbish and toilet paper everywhere. A LOVELY PATE ON TOAST AND FRESH CUP OF TEA, WELL DONE.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank LouLouTravel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Thank you for your review and for visiting us on a regular basis. We are extreamly sorry that our full menu was not available, it was simply due to the fact we were incredibly short staffed at very short notice. Apologies once a gain and we look forward to seeing you visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We went there on Halloween half term, after seeing all the great looking photo's online. A pumpkin patch, where you can pick your own pumpkins, monster bowling, sweetcorn throwing and you can feed the animals, sounded great, but the pumpkin patch was a very very small area that had a bit of straw in it with about a dozen of over priced pumpkins laying around. The Halloween barn with the sweetcorn throwing was terrible, a few badly painted pumpkins on a wall with filthy dirty bits of half chewed corn to throw at them, a table with a few pens and colouring pages. A lucky dip into tyres filled with straw to find some sweets, but which were empty of the sweets. Had to pay to get into the farm which was cheap enough but there were about 5 sheep, 2 donkeys, 1 pig, 1 calf & a few goats that were available to feed. Kids were getting fed up with waiting to be able to feed the animals. The ducks, rabbits etc were nowhere to be seen. The thing that concerned me the most was the lack of hygiene. After feeding the animal there was only 2 small sinks near the exit to wash your hands in cold water, there were no paper towels to dry them. On exiting the barn again only 2 small sinks to wash your hands again no paper towels to dry them. I told the girls in the so called ticket booth about there being no sweets in the lucky dip and was told that's because some kids take them all at once, and she took a very small handful of cheap swizzle type sweets and hid them in the straw, I also informed them about the lack of paper towels for which she thanked me and sent her colleague off to get two packs of paper towels, which couldn't have lasted long with the amount of people there. The place was packed being half term, but there was only one toilet which was shared by men, women and disabled * babies. Obviously if a mum was in there changing a baby, it was a long wait , and kids always leave it till the last minute before saying they need to go, so a lot of wiggling went on, and a lot of complaining in a very very long queue. (we queued for over 45 minutes for the toilette) Didn't bother with the cafe as not only was it overpriced but people were complaining about having to wait too long for food and drink. They really need to sort out the toilettes and hand washing facilities.

Date of experience: October 2017
1  Thank Chris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this long review on your visit FIVE months ago????? Would have been nice if you could have published such a review on the day you visited, so our team at the time could respond but thank you anyway..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to the farm today for Easter weekend. We had booked in to feed the orphaned baby goats, it was £9.95 each. We had a lovely time with the goats and safe to say it was worth every penny! It was absolutely adorable and the kids were so friendly and seemed to actually want a cuddle! You can also buy a bag of goat feed for 50p if you want more.

There were baby calves, piglets and lambs too that you can see in the same barn, all adorable! There’s also some baby chicks!

We then went on to the farm restaurant and had the burger and chips each. The burger itself was delicious however, they had run out of ketchup so felt a bit dry (nothing to do with the meat just needed a bit of sauce!!) with the ketchup it would have been perfect. My only other issue was that we were sat by the door which had constant streams of people coming through to go through to the animals as it is the only way to get to them... was a cold breeze every few minutes!

This was a lovely thing to do especially around Easter time. I would 100% recommend coming here, especially if you have children (or just love goats like us!!!)

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ohliviyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you so much for your review.. We are looking at other alternatives for customers access through the tea room very soon, we are so glad you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We live only a few miles away and yet never knew of this farm. Having bumped into it online, we made a spur of the moment decision to pop in for lunch.
A really nice meal, happy atmosphere and friendly staff.
The adjoining farm shop was well stocked with some great looking produce.
Enjoyed our visit here and will be back.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerFoxFarm, Manager at Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for visiting and your lovely review and we will look forward to seeing you visit again soon..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room also viewed

Ware, Hertfordshire
Ware, Hertfordshire
 
Hatfield, Hertfordshire
Hertford, Hertfordshire
 

Been to Foxholes Farm Shop, Butchery & Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing