We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic millions!”
Review of the nest

the nest
Ranked #1 of 8 Coffee & Tea in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 6 - USD 25
Cuisines: Deli, British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The nest really is one of a kind, a local produce store and deli, a relaxed family friendy cafe, an RHS gold winning plant centre, delightfully architectural antiques, PYO fruit in season and lots of easy walks and trails around 12 acres of Herefordshire. Three miles west of the picturesque market town of Ledbury. Imaginatively furnished, light and airy children and dogs all welcome A great place to stop off, enjoy a cup of coffee and a piece of cake, linger over a leisurely lunch, browse the paper over brunch and to stock up on daily essentials or pick up a gourmet treat to make someones day.
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

Have passed this place on many occasions and wondered what it was, so popped in with friends. There's a rustic little cafe with a nice menu(if you like eggs). We had some coffees which were nice,and the waitresses were very friendly. my friends and I thought how nice it was the staff are able to wear thier own comfortable clothes and crocs,along with brightly colour t-shirts. Obviously cleanliness wasn't a big deal as no-one was wearing gloves or hairnets,and there was a dog wandering around. but this fits in with the no frills style of the complex. Onto the shop with lots of localish produce, a little overpriced for me, but great for tourists or retired folk with money to spare. Also there are a few strange "upcyled" articles there, obviously not selling, as they were covered in dust. The plant centre was ok, just like any wyevale. I'm sure behind the rustic country theme they portray, there's a slick money making machine behind the scenes! I hear wyevales for sale, you should make an offer!

Date of visit: July 2018
4  Thank Feeblebun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott C, Owner at the nest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for getting in touch, glad you spotted out theme is egg based!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2018

What a charming cafe cum plant centre cum bric brac place this is! There is seating inside or out, round the back or side or front, you choose! The coffee is good, and so is the food. Oh, and also very good value! Inside there is small shop selling local produce and a counter selling a tantalising array of home made scotch eggs. I love this place and if your lucky enough to visit it so will you!

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Keith F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott C, Owner at the nest, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

You are very kind, thank you for taking the time to review us. yes we do seem to have spread a bit, last count we had over 200 seats.. but as a chunk of the furniture is for sale the capacity does ebb and flow a bit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2018 via mobile

Called In for lunch with family and was not that impressed. First in the shop the lady serving seemed only to have one cleaning cloth and was using it to clean all sorts of things that should never happen. Then there was the food basically egg based. I asked if the veggie scotch eggs were cooked in separate friers from the meat based ones but was not given a answer. There was a large dog walking around where ever it wanted to. My coffee was not very hot even though I had asked for extra hot. I am not really sure what the aim of this place is. And would not rush back.

Date of visit: August 2018
4  Thank Cyndi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott C, Owner at the nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

What a shame, but no one can please every one, no matter how hare they try! We have fortunately found a niche here for relaxed, dog friendly families who embrace our philosophy. Having been in the Scotch Egg business for over 15 years producing over 30,000 a week these days keeping pork, vegetarian and gluten free recipes safe is something we are very well practiced in, my apologies if this was not made clear to you. We will obviously look into your comments on one of the team breaking the hygiene rules, we would consider this gross misconduct with the subsequent procedures, if only you could have mentioned it at the time to help and protect any other customers. As for the coffee,well I can only apologize certainly this is again not acceptable but thank fully not a comment we regularly hear. Our apologies for letting you down.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

Had several afternoon teas here, all were first class. The garden center offers some really good plants arranged in areas to suit your gardening needs

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank mauwhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott C, Owner at the nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

We were extremely fortunate when Mark and his gang agreed to move into the poly tunnels, plant centre and cafe together make for a lovely day out!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We went in for lunch while on holiday. A ramshackle assortment of buildings with tables and chairs dotted in all sorts of nooks and crannies, there is a farm shop a garden centre and the cafe. The place was very busy which is usually a good sign. We ordered the sharing plate of tapas, all local cheeses, chacuterie, chutney,smoked salmon and scotch eggs plus an assotment of salad and pickled vegetables, olives,sun dried tomato plus a basket of crackers and an assortment of delicious bread. All that for £15.00.
It was a real treat.
Well worth a visit, or more than one if you are staying locally.

Date of visit: August 2018
1  Thank Nola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott C, Owner at the nest, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2018

Many thanks delighted you enjoyed your visit, as we built our business on the scotch eggs we met hundreds of interesting artisan producers along the way and now we have stopped touring around its lovely that we can bring some of these finds together under one roof, hope to see you again if you are passing our way again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed the nest also viewed

 
Ledbury, Herefordshire
 
Ledbury, Herefordshire
Ledbury, Herefordshire
 

Been to the nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing