We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Outstanding”
other travellers have booked this property
View of the cottage from the orchard (with outbuilding in foreground)
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the cottage from the orchard (with outbuilding in foreground)
Upper House Cottage Cottage as seen from the lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
View of the cottage from the orchard (with outbuilding in foreground)
Upper House Cottage
Cottage as seen from the lake
The patio in evening sun
the wildlife pond at sunset
'farmhouse' kitchen
Kitchen through to utility room
Master bedroom
Master bedroom with en suite behind
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Lounge and woodburner with french doors to patio
Lounge with dining table behind
traditional oak beams
stable door in utility room
landing with friendly Chair Bears
landing through to bathroom
family bathroom
Welcome basket - all homemade or locally produced
Welcome cake - yummy :)
view from patio to local church
May cowslips around the lake
We've arrived!
enjoy some Upper House freshly laid eggs
2 swans that came to visit the cottage
Lots of Flora & Fauna to enjoy
curious cows in the neighbour's field
view from cottage garden gate over our field - walks from door!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Ledbury, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Julie L
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 15 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Whilst we booked to stay in the Upper House Shepherd's Hut, it would be a great injustice not to recommend the Upper House too. The area is a natural peaceful and beautiful part of the world, but when you walk through the gates of Upper House something happens; you leave the business of the world behind and become part of a tranquil haven. The whole setting is beautiful, thoughtfully planned and well maintained. The gardens are wonderful for children who need to burn off some energy whilst the parents sit by and relax. The accommodation is immaculate and ever so comfortable, the Shepherd's Hut is a little piece of Heaven of Earth. The hosts are kind, helpful and know how to make you feel welcome without overpowering your stay. We can't recommend this place highly enough. Simply perfect.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2018
Thank you
You are welcome back at any time and Sarah and I look forward to welcoming you
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jennygars...
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Lovely clean property with lots of outdoor amenities for the kids”
Reviewed 31 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Close to Ledbury and other attractions included Simmonds yat, puzzle wood, steam train, and nearby Farm.

At the property there was table tennis, a net for tennis outside, swings, a slide and trampoline. There is a large pond but this area is fenced off so safe for children.

There was a generous welcome pack including their own eggs, local apple juice, and homemade cake, bread and marmalade. Wonderful!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2017
Hi Jenny
Lovely to welcome you again. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again.
Jim & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christine...
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful....”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2013

This was a wonderful place to stay. I stayed here with my mom and my two children. The house has been designed to have old-world charm - but it's a new house with all the modern conveniences you could possibly want. The house is spotless, and very comfortable. My children were very happy to run in the yard and jump on the trampoline, and the views from this home remind me of being a child(my mother is from this area so I have spent a fair amount of time in the UK). The fresh bread, milk and a jam cake were so very appreciated and delicious. We will be back to stay here over the next 12-18 months.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2014
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roger P
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Upper House Cottage is a very special place to stay”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013

This was a most enjoyable holiday. The cottage is very well equipped and very comfortable. The owners are very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The location is excellent for exploring the area whatever your interests are. We have stayed in many cottages for our holidays, and this was the best yet, we hope to return as soon as possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: You felt at home as soon as you arrived.
Liked least: There was nothing that was below par
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jason M
Stocksfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb cottage in wonderful relaxing setting.”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The quality of accommodation is excellent. The cottage has bags of character and is well furnished with lots of internal and external amenity. The owners Sarah and Jim live in the adjoining house and couldn't have been keener to ensure we had a great stay; introducing the kids to their horses, making sure we knew to make use of all the facilities (including Jim's dinghy on the pond that the boys loved).

The cottage is very well equipped and there was a parcel of goodies on arrival, disposable barbecues and lots of useful maps and info.

Ledbury is 5 mins away and is a nice small town and there is lots to do within a short drive. Puzzle wood and the butterfly zoo at Symonds Yat were big hits with the kids.

Overall a top quality cottage. We'd strongly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Relaxing feel and attention to detail
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2013
Hi Jason
We are really glad that you had a nice stay and look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Jim & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing