We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine cuisine & ambience (C17 wallpaper in corridor upstairs...), lovely pool etc:in non-chain hotel in an historic town”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2010

Really loved this place: fine historic ambience, the best cooked breakfast, great gastro dinner, fine room (mine had four poster bed, teddy bear on the bed (for sale), and overlooked the lovely High Street - somewhat redundantly for a business traveller, but quite special...!); a lovely small pool, sauna, jacuzzi, the quality control of a chain, yet in a very fine small market town. A small section of 17th Century hand-painted wallpaper had been uncovered in the corridor upstairs, and so it goes on...

Downsides: slightly expensive for leisure visitors (I enquired into double room rates, and could imagine these prohibitive for some looking at gastropubs with accommodation?); no swim suit dryer in the changing room - but this latter a minor suggestion to raise the bar higher in an already special place. Good attention to detail: spare soaps on the changing room sill, and classical statues by the pool; open fires, big sitting rooms with comfortable sofas etc etc...

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert_rickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 311 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 12 September 2010

Stayed at The Feathers for two nights with husband and 6 other friends, The service at reception was friendly and efficient and we were shown to our rooms by one of the staff.

Our rooms were great! Comfortable beds, lovely bathrooms and plenty of cupboard/wardrobe space. Our room had a comfortable sofa. Tea and coffee making facilities as well as flat screen tv and hairdryer. The bathroom with bath and shower, the towels etc were dazzling white and fluffy and plenty of hot water at all times.

The breakfasts were ample, cereal, fruit, choc aux pan, and yogurt and all delicious the full English especially good and the scrambled eggs with smoked salmon recommended by us! The efficient waitress kept the tea, coffee and toast coming!

We also ate dinner at the hotel in Fuggles restaurant, and we all agreed that the food was absolutely first class and enjoyed by all, clean plates all round! The staff were efficient and friendly as was the bar staff.

We used the swimming pool, Jacuzzi and sauna a few times and nearly always had it all to ourselves. The complex was spotlessly clean plenty of towels to use and lockers for changing. There is also a small gym, looked fine but did not use. Tip: we took our bathrobes and used those as you do not have to walk through the public area to the swimming pool.

The town of Ledbury is really nice and we visited the local museums and church all well worth a visit. Also visited the Cider Museum and the Morgan car factory both within easy reach of Ledbury. All in all a very good few days in Ledbury made especially great by The Feathers Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

This is a delightful hotel in pleasant Ledbury. The welcome at reception was very friendly, our room, beautifully decorated, was quiet and contained all you could ask for. The hotel was busy with a wedding reception but this had no effect on the quality of service to other guests. Dinner was excellent, the menu offering a wide choice including many locally produced foods. After a comfortable night we enjoyed a splendid breakfast, and as the hotel is no hurry to require you to leave we had a leasurely morning before moving on. It is a bit pricey, but for this quality of food, comfort and service well worth treating yourself.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brucebassa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This Hotel is not disabled friendly either in accessing accommodation or in the individual rooms. No hand holds in the bath/shower. Hostess tray poorly supplied and dangerously placed. Grossly overpriced for facilities provided. Staff pleasant,friendly and competent

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank ChrisD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

After suffering the delights of the Green Dragon in Hereford and a few other poor hotels in the Herefordshire area, the Feathers was a welcome surprise.
Nestled in the heart of Ledbury, the Feathers ticked all the right boxes.
Slightly pricey for a room in the locale but I'd say it was worth it overall. Lovely big beds and very professional staff.
The hotel also offers everything a business traveller could want with a gym, pool and fabulous looking restaurant which seems to be the restaurant of choice for the locals. Though we ate out in the Indian on the High Street as I was looking for a more relaxed evening.
The Feathers can appear on first hand to be an old and stuffy hotel, but on arriving this was quickly forgotten. From young children, to gym users, to a professionals and retirees, the Hotel seemed able to accommodate all without anyone losing out.
The breakfast was big and beautiful.
My company paid £98 for a double with single occupancy. Parking was free and right next to the hotel within yards of the High Street.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elefant350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
106 reviews
2.2 km away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
45 reviews
7.9 km away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
998 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#4 of 10 in Malvern
1,215 reviews
17.5 km away
The King's Head Hotel
The King's Head Hotel
#3 of 12 in Ross-on-Wye
418 reviews
19.9 km away
Castle House
Castle House
#1 of 11 in Hereford
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range: $265 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing