We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but not tired...”
Review of The Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2017

The oldest part of the building is half-timbered and very old (16th century); the rest dates from more recent periods but generally before 1850. There are some more modern rooms at the back. The rooms however are up-to-date, including plumbing! The AA rating is 3 star, which is about right. Reception was helpful - shown to your room, very necessary with a bewildering number of staircases and corridors. Breakfasts were satisfactory though not special; dinner was good from a limited, unchanging menu, done well with good service. Lamb cutlets and guinea fowl were particularly good, not overcooked (easily done with lamb). Try afternoon tea at least once!
Car park access is through very narrow archways but once in there is reasonable space.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look over the High Street, a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Europhile-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 49 of 366 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2017

What a gem! The absolute antithesis of modern, pretentious hotels. No glass/steel/boho chic - just beeswax, creaking floorboards, and fab food. Lovely four-poster room and gorgeous bathroom. Staff a little distant.

Room Tip: Ask for the four-poster and a ladder to climb into bed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Teddyedward10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2017

We planned a high tea for our 90 year old mother who is also a very much loved grandmother. We had excellent service from the team at The Feathers who helped us plan the event. They were very accommodating and helpful with useful suggestions. The service on the day was impeccable and everything went very smoothly. We had a lovely party and the birthday cake was fabulous. Thank you so much

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian K, Public Relations Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you for offering us some lovely 5-star feedback following your Mother's celebratory weekend. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your high tea and our hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

We always stay at The Feathers when coming back to Ledbury, it's like a beating heart of the town.
We have seen many improvements over the years and yet the hotel retains its olde worlde
character.
The breakfasts are first class and Fuggles is a lovely place to eat too.
We would have given five stars except that a male member of the bar staff looked straight through us on more than occasion and continued to chat.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank JanandCol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2017

Having lived in Ledbury for many years i have been into this venue for a drink or two. The building is stunning and is truly traditional english.

The staff can be pretentious and a bit aloof at times and as a result the service falls short of my expectations, such a shame. A little more personal service and a smile goes a long way.

The management really need to spend sometime improving standards, trading on the hotels heritage is one thing but service needs to match.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DazRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard E, Public Relations Manager at The Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for offering us valuable and important feedback. Whist we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent trip, we understand the importance of attentive service and it is often the little things that matter the most in hospitality. We would encourage guests to let us know at the time if they are unhappy with any aspect of service so we have opportunity to investigate and rectify appropriately. May we assure you of our full attention in following up on all points with you directly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ledbury
0.1 km away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
109 reviews
2.2 km away
Leadon House Hotel
Leadon House Hotel
#3 of 4 in Ledbury
45 reviews
7.9 km away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Verzon Hotel
The Verzon Hotel
#1 of 4 in Ledbury
161 reviews
20.6 km away
Brooks Country House
Brooks Country House
#1 of 1 in Sellack
268 reviews
11 km away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Address: 25 High Street, Ledbury HR8 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Ledbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Ledbury
Price Range: $112 - $271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The black and white exterior of the hotel dominates Ledbury's main street. Since Elizabethan times, this famous coaching inn has been a place to relax after a long day's travel. Gone are the days of Royal Mail coaches ferrying the country's post from Cheltenham to Aberystwyth, but still The Feathers awaits the weary traveller stopping in Ledbury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Ledbury
The Feathers Hotel Ledbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing