We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (481)
Filter reviews
481 results
Traveller rating
246
146
55
26
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
246
146
55
26
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews high street fish cakes creaking floorboards teddy bear on the bed jacuzzi and steam room small gym light lunch historic hotel service with a smile olde worlde traditional hotel white building old coaching inn lovely old hotel old world charm car park old building
Filter
Updating list...
408 - 413 of 481 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Went here to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. Its the same hotel we stayed in for the first night of our honeymoon. The hotel and facilities were great. The room was spacious and we had the pool to ourselves. My only complaint would be that, as it was the same weekend as the Diamond Jubilee celebrations, they had a party in the courtyard of the hotel. This meant we couldn't park there (which we had been informed about before we left home), we parked in a nearby car park and walked in the pouring rain to the hotel. I also felt as if we were gatecrashing their party a bit and it was an inconvenience to check us in. We had to wait ages at reception to be seen by someone, our check in was rushed through and we had no information given to us about where the pool was or when we could use it etc. This meant a second trip to the reception desk when we found we needed a card to access the spa area and another long wait at reception. However that said the staff were always friendly and the breakfast was lovely!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The whole hotel has an upmarket feel and seems well run. Room was really nice, has an olde world feel without being ann twacky.
It is a genuine historic building, good atmosphere.
Fairly expensive, but you could easily pay more and get less

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank r4m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My wife and I chose this venue for our wedding reception because of its reputation in the county. And it certainly did not disappoint. If anyone is thinking of where to book their wedding then I'd say book here. You will not be disappointed. Everything in the past year from arranging to the day itself was flawless and Mary (management and assisting us with our wedding) was incredibly helpful from the start. We didn't know where to start when it came to organising our wedding but her passion and knowledge for this business just made the whole lead up and day run like clockwork. She was flexible to our needs also.

The staff were superb, incredibly hard working and polite. Edward (management) was superb in the evening as well. The staff could not do enough for us - at breakfast as well. Just goes to show the level of service and professionalism. The high level of service was not just confined to our wedding reception, This is how they are 100% of the time.

I have read a few reviews about the cost of the food and rooms at this hotel. First of all the cost of our reception was extremely reasonable. No room hire charge, nor waiter service charge - all we paid for was exactly what we ate and drink. Considering all the hard work Mary and the staff did in setting out our room at Quills, taking time in assisting us to organise it you will genuinely not get much better value for money. We looked at other venues that were not in the same league of quality as The Feathers and they were offering far less for an awful lot more money. The quality of the food was outstanding and everyone of our party particularly expressed their liking for the food. Breakfast was also excellent. The cost of the rooms may seem a little higher than the average hotel room, but with this you get unprecedented character, charm and pure uniqueness that I have never seen at any other hotel. If you want cheap then stay at the Travelodge in Hereford. But if you want character, charm, quality food & service then look no further than The Feathers.

We had Eve's Cottage for 2 nights and this place is a little gem. If you want to treat yourself then I highly recommend this,

We didnt use the health spa ourselves but others in our party did and thoroughly enjoyed it.

So to conclude, if you are thinking of where to have your wedding (they have a licence for this too), or just a meal/weekend away then do not look past The Feathers. Thank you again.

Stayed: May 2012
1  Thank Nickolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

A little gem of a restaurant ... during the day the Fuggles brasserie is the focus of activity in the hotel. Warm log fires, friendly local staff and a broad wide-ranging menu. Strong, flavoursome meats - Herefordshire beef, Monmouthshire duck and Woodland pork ... as well as fish, salads and lighter bites. Accommodating chef, excellent wine list (extensive) and great value for money. We managed two courses and four glasses of wine (to try the list!) for £84.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank StephenIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2012

What a fantastic old historic building. The breakfast was exceptionnal too. Unfortunately our room was dated in 1980s way (I would have preferred 1780s in this hotel). The prints, wallpaper, carpets, light fittings and lamps are just not nice and certainly do nothing for the old building.

I felt the price of B&B for a three star hotel out of high season a bit excessive. If the room had been better I would not have minded. In the centre of Ledbury there is not much choice so I suppose that is what you pay.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Stephen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews