We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch (but lacking something)”

Miller & Carter Hereford
Ranked #29 of 254 Restaurants in Hereford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 9 - USD 35
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 28 August 2018

Saturday lunchtime visit. Very nice 2 course set menu was our choice. Service was good and the food was also good, but I felt that the place just lacked a certain something. Felt rather clinical in a way with not much personality, like all the staff were just going through the same old routine, without showing much interest. But having said that we enjoyed it and will probably go back

Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Hereford, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2018

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad you enjoyed your meals with us. We as a management team will feed back your comments to the team and look into how we can try to produce more of a personality within the working environment.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Miller and Carter Hereford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (803)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 803 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2018

We love going to Miller & Carter restaurants & the one in Hereford is no exception. It is a lovey spacious restaurant with plenty of room, during our stay there we were attended on by Onwell a very pleasant & helpful guy. We decided to have their great burgers & fries & were not disappointed as they were delicious. We also had one of their mouthwatering deserts & after sitting a while we paid the very reasonable bill & left feeling very contented.

Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Hereford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello there,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your comments. We are so pleased to read your kind words regarding our restaurant and Onwell. Onwell is a credit to our team and your comments will be passed along to him.
We hope to see you again soon

Regards
Miller and Carter Hereford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

Very disappointing service £60 bill would return as the food is good but something seriously needed addressing Sunday.
Service is usually second to none at these chains but this time it was extremely poor, order taken on a piece of paper lent on a drinks tray which seemed forever after sitting.
Food order taken, starters fab arrived speedy but mains oh my 40 minutes later, my steak was drastically over cooked and the check back was done once our meals had finished.
It was a little embarrassing, we have never had service like this before from the Hereford chain and it seemed sad and disappointing that things have slipped.
We would return but maybe not for some time in the hope they can get that reputation back. Maybe some staff training is needed.

Thank lauren47182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Hereford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hello there,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We were sad to see that you didn't have the experience that we'd hope. After reading your comments it is apparent that you weren't served in a time or manner we consider acceptable. We in the management team will be talking to everyone who worked that day to establish why and how the issues occurred in order to rectify them for future visits.
We hope you return to us so that we have the opportunity to restore your faith in us.

Regards
Miller and Carter Hereford.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

To be fair to this restaurant, I have only visited once so am unsure whether the awful service was typical or just an aberation.

My wife asked for a comfortable seat and pointed to a booth and was placed in an uncomfortable steel chair next to a window.

The French would be apoplectic if they saw ice being put in their wine.

The house white was disgusting. Told that was the only white wine available by the glass. Then saw wine list. Whole load of white wines available by the glass.

The Chateaubriand took over an hour to arrive and came drenched in peppercorn sauce.

Missed film at cinema because of slow service. Not busy, just slow.

Maybe this restaurant is really super during the week, but definitely the second team on at weekends. It is a shame as the owners have obviously gone to considerable expense and trouble to get things right. But, however good the ambience and the food, they need to understand the importance of good service and that they cannot be lax on this just because it is the weekend.

4  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Hereford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2018

Hi there,
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review. I was upset to read about your time with us not being up to your standards.
I would however like to say that we have no steel chairs within our restaurant and I believe that all of the chairs we have could be considered comfortable. I also know that you and your wife were moved to the booth seating as you requested before your meal arrived. The chateaubriand you had was 31 minutes in the making at which point I personally watched it leave the pass with the sauces you ordered served separate to the steak as is our brand standard. I don't believe this amount of time is unreasonable considering the product that was ordered.

Kind regards
Chris Burch
Deputy Manager
Miller and Carter Hereford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2018

Miller & Carters, is a beautiful inside, very classily. The food is amazing, I had a steak and its cooked how I wanted, The staff and service was excellent. I would recommend them. just one thing it very expensive, if it was a little cheaper we would go more often.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank misty65dickinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General Manager A, Manager at Miller & Carter Hereford, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2018

Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad to see that you enjoyed your experience with us at Miller and Carter. All of our team take great pride in what they do. We hope that the time you spent with us was worth the price you paid!

We look forward to seeing you again

Regards
Miller and Carter Hereford

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Miller & Carter Hereford also viewed

Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 
Hereford, Herefordshire
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to Miller & Carter Hereford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing