We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BUNCH OF COWBOYS ”
Review of The Courtyard

The Courtyard
Ranked #13 of 56 things to do in Hereford
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 May 2017 via mobile

We only received a cancelled show email less than 2 hours before the show. NO PHONE CALL EVEN. Babysitter paid for and wasted , taxi paid for and wasted. STAY AWAY from those AMATEURS ! Go to a PROFESSIONAL run theatre. SOMEONE OUGHT TO BE SACKED FOR THIS FARCE !

Thank JimmyDundee610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P, Marketing & Sales Manager at The Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2017

Dear Jimmy,

We are sorry you are so upset about the cancelled performance of Tony Stockwell, we too were very disappointed that our customers were let down.

Unfortunately, illnesses cannot be predicted and, as explained in our previous conversations with you, Tony had to undergo emergency surgery so was unexpectedly unable to perform. We were advised of this only several hours before the show ourselves and immediately took action to notify customers of this sad news.

We have checked our records and we did attempt to contact you yesterday via the phone number you provided at the point of booking but were unable to get through or leave a message. In fact, we were notified that the number was “unable to receive calls”.

We are issuing refunds to those who do not wish to transfer their tickets to the new date, as mentioned in our private correspondence with you.

We are not cowboys or amateurs, if an act cancels last minute, it's completely out of our hands. When booking for any show, it's very important to give up to date information in case anything like this happens so the theatre is able to let you know in plenty of time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lovely theatre"
in 3 reviews
"sleeping beauty"
in 2 reviews
"curry"
in 2 reviews
"city centre"
in 2 reviews
"performance"
in 9 reviews
"interval"
in 5 reviews
"panto"
in 5 reviews
"stage"
in 5 reviews
"comedy"
in 4 reviews
"auditorium"
in 4 reviews
"films"
in 6 reviews
"cafe"
in 6 reviews
"usher"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 2 reviews
"hilarious"
in 2 reviews
"fab"
in 3 reviews
"play"
in 2 reviews
Filter

12 - 16 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2017 via mobile

Well done to all concerned we had a lovely evening at the Courtyard. The staff were so helpful and the event was a great success with about 200 attending.
The facility is clean and airy and it is easy to move about. The theatre is easily accessible and there are lots of volunteers on hand to guide you to your seats. Vision of the stage is good and acoustics good too.
There is a large bar and food is available via a large salad and quiche selection area and expect to pay between £8 /£10 for a fairly hearty plateful as freshly prepared.
So a very enjoyable event and well done Courtyard will be back very soon!

1  Thank Nenners56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Firstly the two stars is to recognise the following positives: great staff, good shows and clean area.

The "curry" however - dear dear me. The so called Dahl was definitely NOT a dahl. Please learn how to cook Indian if you serve it.

The chicken one looked worse than dog food but I can't comment on taste. However the veggie one was not as advertised and had NO spices - no spice in a curry! Firstly the waiter took out the plates and brought others as they were all dirty. The (non) curry was good, the plate was cold and it was a poor choice with a small bit of naan - that was it. Awful. I have seriously not had a worse so called curry.

Shame as the comedians were hard working and staff accommodating and polite.

Thank holibob69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Went to see Omid Djalili who was quite good. Sadly half the audience were there to thank him for his efforts in saving a local football club rather than to enjoy his comedy and kept interrupting him (one drunk in particular who should have been asked to leave after the second time). Said drunk also chatted all the way through the show, despite a fellow audience member standing up and going over and asking them to be quiet. This was also despite one of the volunteer ushers being within earshot and doing nothing (as usual) The ushers are lovely old ladies and as they're volunteers you can't really expect them to tell a drunk man to be quiet but you can expect them to tell a manager and the manager remove them. (Though previous experience would suggest they scarper as soon as they can). It really ruined the evening.

Prices are high and the only decent seats are the balcony ones.

Thank princessbewok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2017 via mobile

My class at the Steiner Academy Hereford had been studying The Woman in Black, so the English teacher booked them a trip. I wasn't interested (have gone off horror films) but there was a spare ticket so decided to go today.

Wonderful! It's a 2-man show effectively, and carries it off so well (the book thank goodness, not the film). The class and all the adults who went along were bowled over. Lots of "that's the best play I've ever seen!!" afterwards, admittedly from teenagers, but they REALLY enjoyed it.

The Courtyard itself is a haven of culture in a remotely rural spot. There's often something good on, and the festivals which run there regularly are excellent.

Thank Bigcoluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Courtyard also viewed

 
Hereford, Herefordshire
 

Been to The Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing