We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Friendly hosts with quiet home near central...”
other travellers have booked this property
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
The en suite shower room Our dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
The bedroom, with two large windows looking onto the garden and the park beyond
The en suite shower room
Our dining area
Typical breakfast at Hardy House
Staircase to the guest room
Breakfast table in the garden, with the park beyond
Entrance to our house
View to the city centre taken from the park, just a few steps from our house
Winchester's medieval high street is car-free
Three of our guests!
Two of our guests travelling by tandem from Australia to France!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchester, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Voyager30...
1 review
“Friendly hosts with quiet home near central Winchester”
Reviewed 3 October 2018 for a stay in September 2018

We stayed with Felice & Peter for a few nights for a wedding in Winchester. Their home is only 10 minutes walk through a park to central Winchester, with great views up the High Street along the way & a lovely bakery at the bottom of the hill. The room was well appointed, cosy & quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2018
The perfect guests: we loved having you to stay! Hope you had a good journey home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miras0le
Noosa, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay...”
Reviewed 19 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Such a quiet and peaceful place - and what wonderful hosts and amazing breakfasts. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay with you, Felice. You made us feel so very welcome and nothing was too much trouble for you. The dogs were so much fun, too. The room was exceptionally clean, and so comfortable. We certainly intend to come back to stay with you again. Thanks a ton...

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
It was a pleasure having you both to stay. Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T5623MLan...
Somerville, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hidden House”
Reviewed 1 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Hardy House was very difficult to find as there was no sign on the wall or anywhere else to let guests know this was the place. It really is just a bedroom in someone's home. No separate entrance therefore care needed to be taken with the two lovely dogs. Steep stairs lead to a very tiny, hot stuffy room with a nice view to the back garden. The large picture windows didn't open so the small bathroom window needed to be open for any ventilation at all. There was a kettle on one bedside table and a hairdryer on the other with a flimsy plastic chair offering the only seating apart from the bed. There was no hanging space in the robe "as it's our home" even though prices were comparable to a hotel and pre paid. Did I mention there was no lock on the door and unmatching scrungy old towels on the bed. We stayed about 15 minutes and left on the pretext of looking for lunch and never returned. It was a most unsatisfactory first experience of British hospitality.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2018
These people did not stay in our guest room. They didn't even see the room for more than one minute, as they arrived and the wife immediately asked to use the bathroom, then they left the house...taking our key with them.

Our normal check-in time is from 5pm, but they arrived at 10am. They looked most unhappy as they came out of their car, so we assumed they had been quarrelling or had a problem on the way here. They seemed to be unable to make their mobile phone work, which made the husband highly stressed.

When they left the house after using the bathroom (taking our front door key with them), they did not say anything or give any indication that they would not be coming back.

We waited up until late evening for their return, as we were unsure what time they would want breakfast the next day. We were also worried they had perhaps had an accident. Anyway, we laid out breakfast for them for the next morning.

By the next day we realised that the bedroom was still empty, but they still had our key. At that stage we understandably became worried about their strange behaviour. We took advice from a neighbour who also runs a B&B. On their advice we booked a locksmith to change the front door lock.

These people seemed to be expecting a hotel, even though our room is listed on Airbnb which means it's by definition a guest room in a private house and not a hotel with a sign outside or a ‘private entrance’. We also make it clear in the description that this is a small double room.

It was a moderately warm day, but as these people didn't stay in the room it meant that they didn't even ask about the windows or know about the temperature in it. The 'flimsy plastic chair' is a designer Philippe Starck Ghost Chair. Incidentally, we supply a hairdryer in case people haven't bought their own; and a kettle with cups, tea, coffee, milk and sugar for guests’ use. The towels are good quality Egyptian cotton from John Lewis – we have them in two complementary colours to match the room and bathroom. Anyway, these people did not use the towels, nor did they sit on the chair!

We’ve always had particularly good experiences with our Australian guests. These ones certainly do not do their countrymen proud.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George S
1 review
“Gorgeous dog friendly room”
Reviewed 29 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Stayed for a wonderful night here, along with our dog. The hosts were very welcoming and the room was beautiful - clean, quiet, all the amenities.
Highly recommend booking.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jun 2018
It was a pleasure having you all to stay! Do come again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nb231
Doha, Qatar
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for relaxing and close to city centre”
Reviewed 15 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed two nights. Felice and Peter were very helpful and accommodating as we required the sofa bed downstairs for an extra person. Would definitely stay again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2017
Thanks for the nice review Neil. It was a pleasure having you all to stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing