We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fantastic Zoo...”
Review of Marwell Zoo

Marwell Zoo
Ranked #16 of 72 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our 140-acre park is home to an incredible range of exotic and endangered species, in beautiful, landscaped surroundings. Just by visiting Marwell Zoo (owned and operated by conservation charity, Marwell Wildlife) you'll be making a big contribution to our projects to conserve species and habitats, both here in Hampshire and around the world. If you're loopy for lemurs, be sure to explore our Walkthrough exhibit, Lemur Loop. Opened this Easter, at a cost of £7.8M, our new Tropical House is the largest exhibit ever built at Marwell. Guests are be free to share the habitat and enjoy views of new, colourful and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects whilst learning about the flow of energy through life. Keep an eye out for new arrivals throughout the year too! Our £16-20 adult entry fee varies across the year and includes a voluntary donation of around 10%. Please check our website for full ticket prices.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Baby buggy parking, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 10 April 2018

This was our first visit to the zoo and, despite some fairly inclement weather during the day, we had a really fun time seeing and photographing the animals. There are some excellent viewing locations and we particularly enjoyed seeing the big cats - and getting some great shots. We shall certainly be returning here again.

Thank ZakZapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2018

Hi ZakZapper, thank you for your lovely review!

It's great to hear you enjoyed your first visit to the zoo, despite the weather. Hopefully with some of our indoor exhibits, you were able to shelter when you needed to.

Please make sure you share your photographs from your visit with us on our Flickr page!

We can't wait to see you around the zoo again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,533)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tropical house"
in 105 reviews
"road train"
in 100 reviews
"snow leopard"
in 75 reviews
"big cats"
in 66 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 46 reviews
"cafe graze"
in 37 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 38 reviews
"endangered species"
in 36 reviews
"red panda"
in 33 reviews
"giraffe house"
in 29 reviews
"animals seem"
in 28 reviews
"father christmas"
in 37 reviews
"lots of space"
in 31 reviews
"annual pass"
in 56 reviews
"christmas experience"
in 25 reviews
"great family day"
in 41 reviews
"gift shop"
in 100 reviews
Filter

217 - 221 of 2,533 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Very clean and beautiful surroundings. New attractions and areas to explore have been added over recent years. My children enjoy visiting with plenty of things to do and see. Fantastic place to visit in Hampshire.

Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello Steve C, thank you for your review!

We're so pleased to hear you had such a wonderful day out at Marwell Zoo. We're glad you enjoyed the new attractions we have added over the past few years. We are excited to be in the middle of a 10 year (£17million) development process around the park. So far this has included Wild Explorers in 2015, Lemur Loop in 2017 and the wonderful Tropical House this year. Our next development will be Water and Wetlands (for 2020).

We can't wait to see you around the park again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Firstly this is not very well signposted from whichever direction you approach the entrance, so this needs to be addressed. Have not visited for about a year so was interested in seeing what developments there have been. The new glasshouse had just opened but we were disappointed with the interior. No free flying birds or butterflies and not many other animals we could see. There is only one entrance to get in which was frustrating as we had approached it from the opposite side.
Many areas/enclosures still look run down. Lots of areas could do with a clean/tidy up or coat of paint. The Otter/Koi pool is still very dirty, with rubbish floating in the water. Surely this could be cleaned? It doesn’t give me much confidence in the organisation of the park if this can be allowed to happen. There are not enough toilets or picnic benches or undercover areas when it rains. This venue needs to take some advice from Colchester Zoo, which always has something new going on each time you visit. Very disappointing.

Thank 108jot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello 108jot, thank you for taking your time to leave your feedback.

We're sorry to hear you felt there was little signage around the zoo, there are the brown tourist signs from both directions on the motorway as well as the brown tourist signs running up to the zoo. We have a detailed travel page on our website so please have a quick read of this page before your next visit to make your travelling easier.

Our new Tropical House opened only 2 weeks ago today! There certainly are free flying birds in the exhibit, any of the birds on the forest floor are free to fly, move and roam where they wish. We have three species of pigeon (including a sclater's crowned pigeon, named Neil!), Eastern superb fruit dove, brazilian tanager, a group of Asian glossy starling, a group of Java sparrow and a Fisher's turaco. All of these birds are free to fly through the exhibit however, like all our animals, have the option to hide or seek shelter when they wish. The butterflies are not yet in the Tropical House, however we were sure to notify our visitors that not all of the species or animals will be in the Tropical House just yet. As the exhibit is so new, we envisage the plants growing and developing over time, as well as more species and animals being introduced.

We're disappointed to hear there was rubbish in the otter enclosure. Our keepers regularly clean all of our enclosures and paddocks but unfortunately throughout the day people may accidentally drop litter, which may end up in an enclosure.

We are in the middle of a decade long development plan at the zoo which includes increasing the areas that are undercover. So far this has included Wild Explorers, Lemur Loop and Tropical House but our next development will be Water and Wetlands. Hopefully with all of these wonderful improvements, our visitors will be able to enjoy the zoo in all weather.

We hope to see you around the zoo again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2018

I went to marwell with my husband, daughter and three grandchildren on the 6th of April. We had a lovely day even though it was very busy. The sun was shinning. There were lots of animals to see, and most enclosures had a keeper there which was great as my granddaughter loves to ask questions and they were very knowledgeable. Overall we had a great day but we had one complaint. The restaurant, it was the only place open to get food and it was packed. There was nowhere to sit as a lot of the tables had picknickers on. There were two que’s one for hot food and one for sandwiches so if you wanted chip with your sandwich you had to que up twice, my daughter is allergic to mayonnaise and every sandwich had it in, there was a huge que at the coffee machine and the only place open to get coffee was the ice cream hut and there machine was broken. It said on face book that tickets on line were nearly sold out so they new it was going to be busy and we thought they would have been more prepared. But everything else was great.

Thank Jackie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello Jackie S, thank you for your review of Marwell Wildlife.

It's great to hear you were able to enjoy the zoo on a sunny day and your granddaughter was able to speak to some of our wonderful keepers!

We're glad you had a great day but sorry to hear the cafe was a disappointment for you. We do have some other locations to buy snacks around the park, including Bushtucker Bites in Cold Blooded Corner, which sells hot and cold food. You would have been more than welcome to take your sandwich with you to the hot food till, there is no need to pay separately if you are buying hot and cold food. There are certainly mayo free options in the cafe, we have a few vegan sandwich/wrap options as well as a wide range of other food. Next time you are in the park please speak to the cafe staff as I'm sure they would be able to advise which options would be suitable for your daughter.

We're glad you had a good day, hopefully we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing day out learnt a lot from the talks as well love the zoo is flag and really spread out! Animals look happy and well looked after the only downside was the weather but nothing to do with the zoo! Would come back!

Thank sammi_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Hello sammi_xx, thank you for your review.

It's great to hear you were able to learn a lot during your visit to Marwell and were able to see all of our wonderful animals!

Unfortunately we can't do much about the weather, however we are hoping that with the new covered areas and exhibits (such as Tropical House, Lemur Loop & Wild Explorers) our visitors will have somewhere to hide from the rain!

We can't wait to see you around the zoo again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marwell Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Marwell Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing