We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good variety of animals and great for a whole day out”
Review of Marwell Zoo

Marwell Zoo
Ranked #16 of 73 things to do in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Our 140-acre park is home to an incredible range of exotic and endangered species, in beautiful, landscaped surroundings. Just by visiting Marwell Zoo (owned and operated by conservation charity, Marwell Wildlife) you'll be making a big contribution to our projects to conserve species and habitats, both here in Hampshire and around the world. If you're loopy for lemurs, be sure to explore our Walkthrough exhibit, Lemur Loop. Opened this Easter, at a cost of £7.8M, our new Tropical House is the largest exhibit ever built at Marwell. Guests are be free to share the habitat and enjoy views of new, colourful and charismatic mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish and insects whilst learning about the flow of energy through life. Keep an eye out for new arrivals throughout the year too! Our £16-20 adult entry fee varies across the year and includes a voluntary donation of around 10%. Please check our website for full ticket prices.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Baby buggy parking, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We as a family with teenage kids enjoyed the day very much. In fact we should have came earlier on the day, as run out of time and haven't seen everything.
Popped into the cafe half way and food was tasty and reasonably priced.
As it's a zoo some animals have less space than in a safari park, but I didn't think that it's too little, apart from the marabou. Poor bird tried to fly a little but hardly had the space for it. That enclousure surely should be made higher somehow.
Despite this we are going to return to see all the animals we haven't managed so far.

Thank Zsuzsanna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Zsuzsanna W, thank you for taking your time to leave us a review.

It's great to hear that your whole family enjoyed your trip to Marwell! Our Top Tips do advise spending at least 4-5 hours around the park to make the most of your day, however, at least you now know this for your next visit!

We're glad you enjoyed the freshly prepared and locally sourced food and drink from Cafe Graze, our catering staff take great pride in the food they serve.

We're glad you felt the enclosures seemed to be sized correctly for our amazing animals. We also believe our animals’ enclosures provide sufficient opportunities for them to seek shade, shelter and privacy when they want it. We constantly evaluate their facilities to ensure their welfare needs are being fulfilled. Naturally planted landscapes within enclosures also provide access to height and the provision of water, especially where bigger animals such as our large cats are concerned. Our animals frequently receive enrichment which helps to keep them entertained and stimulated in a naturalistic way which aims in mimic their behaviour in the wild. The enrichment programme is closely monitored and under regular evaluation, so please be assured the marabou is receiving the correct care and in the correct size enclosure.

We can't wait to see you around the park again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tropical house"
in 106 reviews
"road train"
in 100 reviews
"snow leopard"
in 75 reviews
"big cats"
in 66 reviews
"large enclosures"
in 47 reviews
"cafe graze"
in 37 reviews
"tractor ride"
in 38 reviews
"endangered species"
in 36 reviews
"red panda"
in 33 reviews
"giraffe house"
in 29 reviews
"animals seem"
in 28 reviews
"father christmas"
in 37 reviews
"lots of space"
in 31 reviews
"annual pass"
in 56 reviews
"christmas experience"
in 25 reviews
"great family day"
in 41 reviews
"gift shop"
in 100 reviews
Filter

224 - 228 of 2,534 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Very well ,worth a visit all staff within the Zoo very helpful, Animals are well cared fore,
We visit the Zoo every couple of years and still find things we miss on the last visit, cost a bit high but worth every penny to hep preserve our future wild life for our future generations

Thank Martin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Good afternoon Martin Q, thank you for your wonderful review.

We're pleased to hear you enjoyed your trip to Marwell as well as our wonderful animals and excellent staff.

We're currently in the middle of a ten year development plan at the zoo so hopefully there will always be something wonderful and new for you to see!

Hopefully we will see you around the zoo again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Haven’t been to Marwell for quite a few years. What can I say lovely and clean loads of work has been done but I think the animals themselves just haven’t got a lot of room to move around all they do is pace up & down not that nice to see. They need more land the lions, cheaters & other animals just can’t live how there meant to.

Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hi Lisa C, thanks for leaving your feedback from your trip.

We're glad you found the park clean and we are currently in the middle of a decade long renovation of the zoo. So far this has included Wild Explorers, Lemur Loop and the newly opened Tropical House!

Our animals’ enclosures are regularly evaluated to make sure that they are getting the best from their spaces. We make sure that their welfare needs are our top priority – meaning we are always looking to give them the best opportunities to seek shade, shelter and privacy when they desire it.

Larger animals, including our big cats, have naturally planted landscapes that allow them to gain height. We also provide them with sufficient water and shade. We also have a programme of enrichment that we use on all of our animals to make sure that they are fully stimulated. We make sure all of our work is constantly looked at so we can give the best care to our animals.

Please be assured that our expert keepers regularly monitor our animals and everyone who works here at the park has their needs and welfare as a top priority.

Hopefully this doesn't deffer you visiting again, we would love to see you back at the park soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I’ve been visiting Marwell Zoo for many years, as a child myself and with my own children, now teenagers. I’ve always been extremely fond of the place but today I feel compelled to let the management know about our fantastic visit today (Easter Sunday). It was very busy indeed but every staff member we encountered was amazingly friendly, upbeat and enthusiastic. The car park guides did a brilliant job. The cafe was very busy at lunchtime yet the staff were so patient and professional. We listened to a young lady (Megan, I think) give a great talk about the meerkats. She was clearly passionate about her job and the animals. The road train driver was brilliant, and provided lots of interesting facts about the animals as we passed them. The new tropical house is simply amazing. Marwell Zoo is one of my favourite places to visit and we are very fortunate to live nearby so will be back many times in the future. Thank you to all the wonderful staff there. See you again soon.

Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Louise C, thanks for your lovely review.

It's lovely to hear you have memories from your own childhood as well as your children's. It's wonderful to hear what a super visit you had over the weekend!

We did expect this weekend to be exceptionally busy as it was a bank holiday, we're glad you still made it to visit us in the slightly dreery British weather! We're glad the car park attendees were able to help you upon entrance to the park and it is lovely that Megan from our public engagement team was so enthusiastic and was able to teach you something during your visit.

We are so pleased you loved the Tropical House too, we have been so excited for our visitors to finally see the finished exhibit so it's great to hear your lovely feedback.

We can't wait to see you around the park again soon Louise!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Been to many zoos and this one just didn't make the cut was a good day out but the value for money wasn't great. The viewing areas for the animals were limited so couldn't get as close as you would hope except the penguins. The cafe staff as you come in the gate were useless couldn't get a simple order correct and had to charge the card twice to correct the order. The optional donation feels like it is forced on you at gate also made it all very awkward. Wouldn't bother returning so many better places.

Thank Stacey-marie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarwellManager, Manager at Marwell Zoo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Hello Stacey-marie J, thank you for taking your time to leave us feedback about your visit.

We're sorry to hear you felt the zoo was poor value for money. With regards to the admissions cost, as we are an action orientated charity, all surplus from our admissions costs goes directly into conservation work here in the UK and around the world. We also aim to ensure our prices are in line with other similar attractions, so we are disappointed to hear you felt this was not the case.

We encourage guests to imagine Marwell Zoo as a walking safari. We advise taking a stroll around with a patient and watchful eye and imagine that they are trying to see our animals in the wild. With 140 acres of beautiful parkland to explore, and hundreds of animals to see, we suggest allowing 4-5 hours for your visit.

It's disappointing to hear you had a bad experience in our cafe; all staff at Marwell have an aim to deliver a warm and welcoming impression to all guests in order to contribute to a great experience. However, we are sorry to hear that you did not feel this was the case on this occasion. We do currently have a few new staff members in our cafes so it could be the case that they were still in training, we're sorry if this was an inconvenience for you however.

Our admissions team are expected to ask each guest at the time of buying their ticket, whether they would like to pay the extra 10% donation which goes to our conservation work, this is completely optional, although we apologise if this was not the impression you received during your visit.

We hope that with all the exciting developments we have coming up at the zoo that you will change your mind in the future, we would love to see you around the zoo again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marwell Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Marwell Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing