We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a night here with my two teenage daughters. Looks a bit like an airport as you arrive, inside it's stylish and open plan... stunning. Very impressed with the huge bedroom, it's facilities, cleanliness. We had a massive double plus a sturdy and comfortable z bed. All felt brand new although the hotel has been open for 2 years. Asked for additional pillows which were brought to the room quickly and for an extended check out time - which was no problem either. If you're planning on visiting Winchester, you'll need a car to get there. It's about 5-10 mins drive from the centre. A great experience and I'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Ali Soleil,

I was delighted to read your very kind response, thank you. I am pleased to see you had such a great stay and enjoyed the hotel. We are very proud of our hotel and try very hard to keep it looking like the day it opened!

I have passed your comments onto the team.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
Gneral Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,049)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

825 - 829 of 1,049 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights which included valentines day. We were greeted by a happy lady in reception, who accepted us booking in a little earlier due to the M25 being unexpectedly clear. The hotel has a huge foyer which had a few business people gazing into their laptops.
We were quickly checked in a went to our room on the ground floor overlooking the patio type area outside the restaurant. The room was a great size, although lacked wardrobe space, as we had brought winter clothes as well as evening wear. We had a double bed with a z bed for our 6 year old son, we found them comfortable and certainly had 2 night of sound sleep. The room was very quiet and at the end of the corridor. The evening for valentines day we went to the restaurant and had a really nice meal, which was part of the deal, bed, breakfast, evening meal. The staff in the restaurant were very plesant and paid particular attention to our 6 year old son, who was kept occupied with colouring and some puzzles. The choices were very good and the kids menu also had the usual choices.
The location was good for the science place right next door, which we went to on arrival at the hotel. We also caught the bus to Winchester, which stops at the bottom of the hotel entrance. 1 suggestion to the hotel would be a footpath to the road, but we realise due to it being newly built, it may be work for the future.
Overal out stay here was very relaxing and comfortable, food was good, staff very good. We may have liked a little more to do inside the hotel as a suggestion to Holiday Inn, but that would not stop us going back again or recommending to others.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leepashingdon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Leepashingdon99

Thank you for a great review!! It is always with great pleasure we take such positive feedback about our food, team members and how we look after our customers, especially the little ones.

I hope you will be able to return.

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived all staff were welcoming and friendly. The reception area was light modern and welcoming. Our room was fab lovley and clean and of modern design. The breakfast and evening meal were off a excellent standard. We really enjoyed our stay and would definatley stay again. Thankyou Mr and Mrs Chapman

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Mr and Mrs Chapman,

Thank you for such a lovely review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. i have passed on your comments to the team especially our kitchen team. I look forward to seeing you on your return.

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Spent 4 nights at this hotel visiting old haunts.
We loved the spacious feel to the hotel and especially the huge, open plan reception area.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and quick to respond to requests.
Elizabeth in particular went out of her way to suggest the best places to eat, which lead to a wonderful evening at Tanoshii in Winchester.
The bedrooms were very comfortable, roomy & well appointed.
The air conditioning was a little noisy, but this is not something which concerned us.
Convenient for all the local sights in and around Winchester & several rail stations servicing London, we found this bright, modern hotel to be excellent value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Vincent,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much! I am very lucky to have a great time and have passed on your comments, especially to Elizabeth, who always does such a fantastic job. If you could let me know what room you were in I will check on the air con, as normally this is very quiet.

Many thanks again and kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Rooms were large enough for a family of 4, clean and nicely decorated. The staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant menu reasonable priced and food was a very good quality. I will definitely stay here again on our next visit

Room Tip: If you have children ask for rooms on the lower ground level, monitor reception was still very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moomook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Moornook,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.7 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,917 reviews
3.5 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,157 reviews
8.1 km away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,324 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $150 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing