We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Winchester

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Had a night here with my two teenage daughters. Looks a bit like an airport as you arrive, inside it's stylish and open plan... stunning. Very impressed with the huge bedroom, it's facilities, cleanliness. We had a massive double plus a sturdy and comfortable z bed. All felt brand new although the hotel has been open for 2 years. Asked for additional pillows which were brought to the room quickly and for an extended check out time - which was no problem either. If you're planning on visiting Winchester, you'll need a car to get there. It's about 5-10 mins drive from the centre. A great experience and I'd love to stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alisoncyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Ali Soleil,

I was delighted to read your very kind response, thank you. I am pleased to see you had such a great stay and enjoyed the hotel. We are very proud of our hotel and try very hard to keep it looking like the day it opened!

I have passed your comments onto the team.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
Gneral Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    351
    104
    27
    11
See reviews for
254
310
43
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashingdon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights which included valentines day. We were greeted by a happy lady in reception, who accepted us booking in a little earlier due to the M25 being unexpectedly clear. The hotel has a huge foyer which had a few business people gazing into their laptops.
We were quickly checked in a went to our room on the ground floor overlooking the patio type area outside the restaurant. The room was a great size, although lacked wardrobe space, as we had brought winter clothes as well as evening wear. We had a double bed with a z bed for our 6 year old son, we found them comfortable and certainly had 2 night of sound sleep. The room was very quiet and at the end of the corridor. The evening for valentines day we went to the restaurant and had a really nice meal, which was part of the deal, bed, breakfast, evening meal. The staff in the restaurant were very plesant and paid particular attention to our 6 year old son, who was kept occupied with colouring and some puzzles. The choices were very good and the kids menu also had the usual choices.
The location was good for the science place right next door, which we went to on arrival at the hotel. We also caught the bus to Winchester, which stops at the bottom of the hotel entrance. 1 suggestion to the hotel would be a footpath to the road, but we realise due to it being newly built, it may be work for the future.
Overal out stay here was very relaxing and comfortable, food was good, staff very good. We may have liked a little more to do inside the hotel as a suggestion to Holiday Inn, but that would not stop us going back again or recommending to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leepashingdon99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 24 March 2012
Dear Leepashingdon99

Thank you for a great review!! It is always with great pleasure we take such positive feedback about our food, team members and how we look after our customers, especially the little ones.

I hope you will be able to return.

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived all staff were welcoming and friendly. The reception area was light modern and welcoming. Our room was fab lovley and clean and of modern design. The breakfast and evening meal were off a excellent standard. We really enjoyed our stay and would definatley stay again. Thankyou Mr and Mrs Chapman

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melchapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Chapman,

Thank you for such a lovely review! I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit. i have passed on your comments to the team especially our kitchen team. I look forward to seeing you on your return.

Kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

Spent 4 nights at this hotel visiting old haunts.
We loved the spacious feel to the hotel and especially the huge, open plan reception area.
The staff were very friendly, helpful and quick to respond to requests.
Elizabeth in particular went out of her way to suggest the best places to eat, which lead to a wonderful evening at Tanoshii in Winchester.
The bedrooms were very comfortable, roomy & well appointed.
The air conditioning was a little noisy, but this is not something which concerned us.
Convenient for all the local sights in and around Winchester & several rail stations servicing London, we found this bright, modern hotel to be excellent value for money and we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Vincent,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much! I am very lucky to have a great time and have passed on your comments, especially to Elizabeth, who always does such a fantastic job. If you could let me know what room you were in I will check on the air con, as normally this is very quiet.

Many thanks again and kind regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

Rooms were large enough for a family of 4, clean and nicely decorated. The staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant menu reasonable priced and food was a very good quality. I will definitely stay here again on our next visit

Room Tip: If you have children ask for rooms on the lower ground level, monitor reception was still very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moomook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Moornook,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.5 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
3.8 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,641 reviews
2.5 km away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
3.3 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
3.5 km away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Property: Holiday Inn Winchester
Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price range (per night): $127 - $210
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing