We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Winchester
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Rooms were large enough for a family of 4, clean and nicely decorated. The staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant menu reasonable priced and food was a very good quality. I will definitely stay here again on our next visit

Room Tip: If you have children ask for rooms on the lower ground level, monitor reception was still very good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moomook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Moornook,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel after your recent stay.

I am delighted that you and your family enjoyed your visit.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,030)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

810 - 814 of 1,030 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

Four of us spent 2 nights at this lovely hotel during a short visit to the pretty city of Winchester. Only a couple of years old, this is very different from the standard Holiday Inn. May there be many more like it in future!

The lobby is large, light and open. Minimalist but attractive decor gives a great impression from the start. The Reception staff were helpful and friendly. Our rooms (one standard, one Executive as an upgrade - we're platinum members) were spacious, and stylishly decorated. In contrast, the bathrooms were quite small but large enough for us, well designed and in pristine condition (not surprising as the hotel is so new). The beds were very comfortable and we all slept extremely well.

Breakfast is buffet style with the option for eggs to be cooked in various ways to order. The buffet selection was good and it was a pleasant surprise to have a fruit salad that included more than the usual basics. This one included kiwi, mango and starfruit - a very tasty combination. The hotel has clearly taken heed of earlier reviews as the waitresses were extremely friendly and accommodating. While breakfast is £15 per person, at weekends I'd recommend buying a breakfast voucher at Reception the previous evening which reduces the cost to £10 per person.

We had dinner in the hotel twice as our first meal was so delicious. For both meals, we decided against starters, saving ourselves for the desserts as the patisserie chef has a reputation for excellence. We were definitely not disappointed with any of our choices there! The difficulty was choosing which of the many fabulous desserts to go for. That was certainly the lightest sticky toffee pudding I've ever had. The mains were also tasty and we'd strongly recommend the lamb - superb! The only main course that was a little disappointing was the pheasant which was a bit dry although I've yet to be served one that isn't. For the high quality of food, the prices seemed very reasonable.

Thank you to the staff at the Holiday Inn Winchester for a lovely stay. Next time we visit the area, this is definitely the hotel for us!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Jane,

What a fantastic review, thank you so much!! It is great to receive such praise, which I have passed on to the team, who always work so hard for all our guests to have a great stay. The team work very hard to keep the hotel in pristine condition, as we are all so proud of Holiday Inn Winchester.

Kind Regards
Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We stayed overnight at this hotel as we were going to our son's wedding in Winchester. We stayed in a double room with a rollaway bed. Whilst the double bed was very comfortable the rollaway bed was the complete opposite. With hindsight we regretted not booking a family room with two double beds. Apart from this the hotel was very good in all other areas including breakfast and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deerhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Deerhunter,

Thank you for your review. I will look into your comments on the rollaway beds as they are less than a year old. The family rooms with the two double beds are very popular and often booked weeks in advance, just in case you are planning your return visit soon.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed for two nights with my wife at the Holiday Inn. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and the room was spotlessly clean. We also dined on both nights in the restaurant and the service and food was very good and not to expensive. We gave breakfast a miss, as we felt it was very expensive at around £15 each. The room was very quiet and stylishly furnished. The only things I could fault were the small space for hanging clothes was further reduced by the iron and ironing board and the fact that I couldn't get a WiFi signal in the room.
A bonus was that we paid £20.12 for each night, as it was part of a 24 hour promotion held on the 20 December 2012.
I would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear Camsucat,,

Thank you for your review. The promotion was a great deal and I delighted you booked our booked our hotel!

Many Thanks

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a Peppa Pig overnight stay and were very impressed. We had a family room which was very large and very modern and clean. The front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful and gave our children a little present which was a nice touch. Breakfast was quite straightforward and everybody was very nice. Would certainly recommend this hotel for an overnight stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelRosen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Dear Michael,

What a lovely review! Thank you so much for taking the time to do this. I am delighted you had such a great time and the children enjoyed the gift.
I hope to see you and your family if you are in the area again.

Kind Regards

Siobhan Thomasson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Winchester hotels
3.7 km away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4 km away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,866 reviews
3.5 km away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 km away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Winchester
1,132 reviews
8.1 km away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
1,294 reviews
3.9 km away
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
#9 of 13 in Winchester
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Winchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#4 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Price Range: $149 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing