We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really lovely food but very busy”
Review of The Old Vine

The Old Vine
Ranked #30 of 219 Restaurants in Winchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 15 - USD 26
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: This Grade II listed 18th-century inn is the perfect place to meet for lunch, supper or just a drink in relaxed, convivial surroundings - moments away from Winchester Cathedral, and conveniently located in Winchester's vibrant city centre, with its first-rate shopping, restaurants, bars and bustling night-life. Winchester College, the university and historical sites such as the Great Hall are only a short walk away. The Old Vine was awarded Bronze in the Tourism Pub of the Year category and Highly Commended in the Guest Accommodation category for The Beautiful South Awards for Excellence 2014/15, celebrating the best in tourism and hospitality throughout the region.
Reviewed 5 April 2018

We went here for a romantic meal last year it was lovely. The staff were very friendly and efficient at their jobs. My only negative would be the pace with which we were served, it seemed like they were making sure we are and we're out within a certain time. We felt rushed which wasn't nice as you are paying quite a lot for eating there.

Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you for your feedback, we're pleased you enjoyed your visit in the main. The Old Vine is a small and popular venue so it can feel busy at times - sorry if you felt rushed, this wouldn't be our intention. We usually offer two-hour slots for reservations but you can of course keep the table for longer if you wish. And if we are booked "once over" and only have first sittings available we will always let you know when we need the table back again - that way you have a choice to say yes or no. We do hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2018

We have been here twice before.
This a lovely old building full of character, right in the centre of town.
The food and service as before was very good and not that expensive . There is a good choice of menu including some vegetarian dishes.
We will visit again , rooms are also offered and we may try these next visit

Thank 425robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post your comments, we appreciate it!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This is an excellent little pub that serves excellent pub food. Great atmosphere and friendly staff. It really is in keeping with the character of Winchester its self.
Well worth a visit.

Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thanks very much!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Visited as a party of six during a day out, very friendly attentive service considering how busy it was. Food was tasty and well presented lamb shank, burger, sausages, none of the party complained. Portion size was just right and all the food was hot. An excellent choice for lunch. Recommend booking as it was very busy. Clearly very popular. A thumbs up from us.

1  Thank Happyeater19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2018

Thank you! Great to hear.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We had booked a table for lunch and were seated promptly by staff when we arrived. Service pleasant throughout our meal, but we were disappointed with our food in terms of value for money. Scampi seemed to be primarily coating, with very little fish inside. Chips were OK - squeezed into a bucket. £10.95 for this seemed expensive compared with other pub food in Winchester. Beef, ale and mushroom pie at £13.50 was better value and was tasty.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ruby067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theoldvine, Owner at The Old Vine, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback. Sorry you didn't enjoy the scampi - we've used the same wholetail brand for the past 12 years, and it's always been very consistent in terms of quality. We'll do a taste test ourselves just to review it! As for price: £10.95 at a restaurant in a prime city location opposite the cathedral, including table service, linen napkins, and helpful, well-trained staff seems reasonable to us - remember the price any restaurant charges must take much more than just the cost of the food into account. There are wages and lots of bills to pay! We hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Vine also viewed

Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 
Winchester, Hampshire
Winchester, Hampshire
 

Been to The Old Vine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing