We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Southampton
Ranked #16 of 24 Hotels in Southampton
leicester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Me and my wife went to this hotel prior to a trip to isle of wight, what do i say? The location of the hotel is brilliant close to port with ample paid parking about £8 a day come and go as many times you like, best thing about hotel was the service they treat you like royalty, we opted for an executive room which included larger room, port view, chocolates and bath robes, one main advantage is that you have free access to a wonderful pool and gym which we used

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mit6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Great Hotel
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Southampton during your recent visit to the Solent and Isle of Wight. I am delighted you enjoyed our facilities so much and very much appreciate your observation that you felt you were treated like royalty. Great feedback. Thank you very much!
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    445
    272
    93
    54
See reviews for
212
503
57
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

My wife and I do a lot of cruising and always stay overnight at The Holiday Inn, Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton. They do a brilliant park and stay deal, that works out cheaper than parking in the official cruise car park.
The rooms are always clean and comfortable and we are usually given a room that overlooks the cruise terminal so we can see the ship come in early morning.
It is also close to town so one can do any last minute shopping if you have forgot something. I always do and have ended up going to M & S for swimming trunks, shoes etc. Also if you do not fancy eating in the hotel there are plenty of good restaurants close by.
Breakfast was buffet and very good, the food being hot and freshly cooked.
The staff were excellent and attended to all our needs and concerns.
I would say all in all an excellent hotel to base yourself for cruising from Southampton or visiting friend

Room Tip: For us the higher the better, with views over the docks and solent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mackenziefiddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Mr Mackenzie
Thank you for your very nice comments. To read your comments regarding the team here, the service and our restaurant at the Holiday Inn Southampton makes me feel very proud! We are indeed ideally located for some last minute holiday shopping and I am delighted to read you had an opportunity to fit this in. We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you back again soon!
Regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co.Durham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Stayed here prior to picking up a cruise at the nearby docks. Rooms are comfortable, breakfast decent.

The staff are friendly but seem rather "snobbish", gave me the impression it was a little to much trouble checking me in as i had used priority club points for a reward night and not a paying guest.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanleytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Mr Mcphee
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Holiday Inn Southampton. I am however sorry to read that you felt ‘un-welcomed’ by a member of our reception team, I assure you that this is not the usual standard and that we welcome all our guests whether they are our Priority Club Reward guest or non-member guest. Should you be staying in Southampton again in the future please feel free to contact me directly to make your reservation whereupon I look forward to have an opportunity to welcome you personally to the Hotel.
Yours sincerely
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

This hotel is in bad need of cleaning and a paint and tile and furniture and I can go on. I was worried when we pulled up and it did not get any better. The staff is great. We spent all of our time across the street at the DeVere Grand. Food was better, free internet. Charging for internet was really bad at the Holiday Inn. Would not stay her again

Room Tip: make sure you go across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We typically pride ourselves in providing a high standard of comfort and hospitality to all our guests and it is with great regret to read you were disappointed with numerous aspects of your stay. I obviously have noted your comments and I like to assure you I will review these with my Management Team to ensure we not only improve on the areas you highlight but also to ensure we avoid similar occurrences happening again at some stage in the future.
Kind regards
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The room was bright and fresh - a window the size of the wall looked out over the docks where we could see both the Ocean and QE2 terminals for cruise ships. The other side of the hotel saw Mayflower and City. Comfortable beds and pillows, plus enough room to enjoy the armchairs and coffee table in the room.

Bathroom was OK. I wouldn't have liked to take a bath as there was hair in the plug hole for the whole week, so it couldn't have been cleaned, but for showering it was fine. The washbasin and toilet were always clean.

No safe or minibar in the room. Safe available in reception but not so convenient.

Most people stay here overnight for cruises but we were here for a week. What started as a functional week's stay soon turned into a lovely relaxing break, the atmosphere in the hotel is very nice - the staff are all lovely!

Food in the restaurant is delicious, and the chef was really flexible with our personalising of main courses! Drinks are expensive (£7 for a large glass of basic wine) and the service for drinks is slow, several nights we waited a very long time for drinks and were told that they had a bit of a run on the bar. For this to happen so regularly, there is a problem which needs to be addressed, but otherwise food is spot-on! I've never seen breakfast staff working so efficiently!

The health centre is across the car park in a separate building. Decent sized pool, gym and saunas. Used once and the sauna wasn't working which was a shame, but the jacuzzi was nice and it wasn't busy.

I would use this as a base if visiting Southampton again.

Room Tip: Front overlooks Ocean and QE2 terminals, the back overlooks City and Mayflower terminals ifyou are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mumdad2boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jvs_12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review, 4 September 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Southampton hotel as a base for visiting the area for your week’s rest and relaxation. It is a great ‘base’ to enjoy, Southampton, Isle of Wight and the new Forest. Our vision at Holiday Inn is to operate Great Hotels Guest Love and judging by your feedback, I am pleased to read we did with perhaps the exception of our bar service, being slow at times for which I apologise most sincerely. Feedback like yours is invaluable to ensure that we do make all of our guests stay with us a memorable experience.
We look forward to welcoming you back at some future date!
Joost van Spengler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 km away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#19 of 24 in Southampton
1,745 reviews
0.8 km away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#10 of 24 in Southampton
1,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Jurys Inn Southampton
Jurys Inn Southampton
#6 of 24 in Southampton
816 reviews
0.4 km away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Southampton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Property: Holiday Inn Southampton
Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Price range (per night): $128 - $385
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, IHG, lastminute.com.au, Wotif.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing