We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Somerset House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Portsmouth
Certificate of Excellence
basingstoke
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic weekend away”
Reviewed 23 March 2012

myself and my partner wanted a night away, relaxed and romantic. We were absoluetly delighted with the Somerset House Hotel. We were welcomed from the minute we arrived until the minute we left. The rooms were clean and unique, our room had a jacuzi bath which was amazing. The continental breakfast was fresh and just what we needed. A full english was also available for those that need it. The breakfast is served in the sister hotel, this is literally 5 metres from the somerset front door, an excellent stay and would definatly stay again! THANK YOU!

Room Tip: every room is unique! call the hotel and tell them what you are after. i am sure they would advice o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Front Office Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 May 2012
Thank you for leaving us such a lovely review!

We hope to welcome you again in the future,

Somerset House Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    240
    73
    18
    12
    2
See reviews for
72
199
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Great little hotel which offers excellent value for money. Staff were very attentive, rooms were very clean and well maintained. Felt like a real home from home, will definitely stay again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for the review, we are pleased you found the hotel a home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one nite , rooms very clean and very comfortable , breakfast nice and nice to have a choice be it full English is not in room rate , so if your like me and like a full english , you can add 17 pounds to your room for 2, but all in a very nice place to stay

Room Tip: We had room. 3 very large loads of space which is hard to find in hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deancummings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
We are very glad you found the hotel room spacious and comfortable. We lower our room rates to those you will note at similar hotels in the area to allow people the choice of a cooked breakfast. Many don't wish to have it, especially our business travellers in a hurry, so we dont like to charge for something people do not use.

We hope to welcome you again when perhaps we can show you some more of our rooms,

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed in this hotel for two nights a couple of weekends ago! The room was decorated to a brilliant standard and was very clean! The hotel dealt with my request of non feathers without any problem at all and were very friendly! The breakfast was really nice with lots of choice of cereals and juices! One minor complaint is the croissants were a little bit mouldy on the first morning. Also had a small complaint about the plumbing of the room, the radiator was very noisy all night long. However this didn't prove to be too annoying. Overall the hotel was really lovely with a few tiny complaints however I would definitely stay again and have recommended this hotel to friend visiting Portsmouth soon!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haffacake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your kind words and recommending the hotel to others.

I am very sorry to hear about your troubles at breakfast and can assure you that is not something that fits with our high standards at all.

Please contact us if looking to stay again so we can offer you a discount as way of an apology for this oversight,

Kind regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

We were planning a weekend in Portsmouth so I did a search on hotels as I couldn't face another disturbed night at the Ibis. I discovered this hotel and for a few pounds more, it looked a lot nicer than the Ibis. We received a warm welcome at the sister hotel Florence House on arrival and were shown to a beautifully decorated room in Somerset House hotel opposite. It had a beautiful comfy wooden sleigh bed, Sky tv and a large shower. Cooked breakfast was extra but the continental breakfast was adequate. We were so impressed by this hotel, we booked another weekend before leaving and received a generous discount. Car parking is on the street with parking permits supplied by the hotel but off street parking is also available if there are no permits left. The only thing I can find to complain about was the lack of a dressing table in the bedroom - I was going out to a dinner one evening and found it difficult to find somewhere to put my make-up on

Room Tip: The hotel has no lift facilities so request a ground floor room if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cennet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielFlorencehouse, Manager at Somerset House Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you again!

Kind regards

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.1 km away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 39 in Portsmouth
1,142 reviews
0.0 km away
Florence House Hotel
Florence House Hotel
#3 of 39 in Portsmouth
713 reviews
0.9 km away
Number Four Boutique Hotel
Number Four Boutique Hotel
#4 of 39 in Portsmouth
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Stattons Hotel
Stattons Hotel
#7 of 39 in Portsmouth
671 reviews
0.0 km away
The Florence Suite Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 km away
Florence Gardens Boutique Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Hotel

Property: Somerset House Hotel
Address: 10 Florence Road | Southsea, Portsmouth PO5 2NE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portsmouth
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Business Hotel in Portsmouth
#7 Luxury Hotel in Portsmouth
Price range (per night): $127 - $522
Hotel Class:4 star — Somerset House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. Individually designed bathrooms feature fluffy towels, designer toiletries whilst some have either walk-in showers, spa or free standing baths. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Free secure parking is available at the hotel. There is an A La Carte Restaurant opposite the hotel called The Kitchen Southsea and a Boutique Pub The Florence Arms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia APAC and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Somerset House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset Hotel Portsmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing