We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Food”
Review of Deep Blue

Deep Blue
Reserve with OpenTable
Deep Blue is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #138 of 740 Restaurants in Portsmouth
Price range: USD 6 - USD 29
Description: A beautiful, recently refurbished restaurant located on South Parade Pier with the best sea views in Portsmouth. With 180 covers inside, and 105 covers outside, we can cater for any event, special occasion or just a casual quick meal. Daily specials provide some variety to the core menu and change on a very regular basis. And now serving breakfast between 8-11 Monday-Sunday.
Restaurant details
Description: A beautiful, recently refurbished restaurant located on South Parade Pier with the best sea views in Portsmouth. With 180 covers inside, and 105 covers outside, we can cater for any event, special occasion or just a casual quick meal. Daily specials provide some variety to the core menu and change on a very regular basis. And now serving breakfast between 8-11 Monday-Sunday.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Arrived very late but still welcomed in, staff very friendly and the restaurant nicely done. Had one of the specials, the big dish that although not quite as described was very tasty with plenty of prawns.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank richardtQ3368CV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 216 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018

Our second visit to Deep Blue was as good as our first. A very warm welcome and friendly staff. They gave the four of us a nice big table in the window which meant that my husband was able to transfer from his wheelchair into an ordinary chair with ease and we had enough room to store the chair to one side. Fantastic view out on the fun going on at the end of the pier and lovely to watch the busy Solent traffic. Deep Blue is a stylish bright and airy restaurant with a mixture of all shapes and sizes of tables and cosy booths. It’s also nice to be able to watch the chefs working in the huge frying station. The food was very good and the large fish and chips is humongous! A good variety on the menu for large and small mouths. Love the crispy batter. ❤️. They have a nice clean disabled toilet but if you’re going in with a wheelchair only take the small dead cat to swing round in it!

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JennyandKeith66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

We went to the Deep Blue Restaurant having eaten takeaway on the pier last summer; which we loved. Greeted on arrival and given a choice of seats, the place was a little empty which we imagine was due to being ‘off season.’ Lovely decor. Nice range of choices in the menu but we just opted for standard and a large fish and chips! Food came promptly and was delicious. Large fish was very, very large in comparison to the standard but no problems with that. Only issue was the 2 x pints of Cokes ordered. Paid almost £4 each and both glasses were half full of ice (and they were huge chunks of ice too) we told the waitress who wasn’t really that bothered and even said that the prices had recently increased and it was expensive wasn’t it! Note to self: Do not purchase fizzy drinks from Deep Blue in future!
Will certainly return as food was good value and tasty - although we did prefer our ‘out of the box sat on the pier’ experience!

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Rae H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBRestaurant, Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Rae,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad to hear that you had a lovely time and that the food and service standards were at your expectations.

Unfortunately, in what concerns the prices of the Cokes. due to the recent sugar tax that applies on high sugar products we had to increase the prices to still be able to make some profit on those drinks. I do apologize for this matter.

We hope to see you soon to enjoy a lovely meal within our company.

Regards,


Restaurant Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Location: Southsea Pier

Venue: Large venue with tables and booths.

People: Visited with partner and baby. Multiple highchairs available.

Decor: Classic British seaside style, white and blue.

Food: The main foods are good. Mussels, medium cod and chips were good. Was disappointed that there was no fish burger. Onion rings were oily. The thing that lets this place down is that the condiments were a little on the cheap-side. Fish size was good. Some people may find the chips portion to small, but i thought it was fine.

Drinks: Full bar menu, with multiple beers on tap.

Service: Pretty good considering the size of the place. Did feel like we waited a while for food, considering its fish n chips.

Summary: There are not many sit down fish and chips restaurants that are open after 5pm, so from that aspect, it is good. I don't doubt there are probably better fish and chips to be had elsewhere, but not with the seating capacity or bar menu as this place.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank DharmP_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBRestaurant, Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Dharm P,

Thank you for your constructed feedback. We take every comment seriously has we are a new restaurant so we still have a lot to learn.

I'm happy to hear that you were happy in overall with the location, venue and bar.

I'm sorry to hear that you were disappointed with onion rings and also that you had to wait while for your food to arrive. In our restaurant we make everything to order to ensure that everything comes as fresh as it can possibly be.

I would love to see you come back for nice fish and chips evening and hopefully we can ensure that you have some fast and delicious cod.

Kind regards,

Restaurant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2018

We have visited this restaurent several times and have been very impressed BUT not today!

The fish was pleasant but not as fresh as before and we bought and paid for large portions of Cod but were served medium portions as evidenced by the portion size others received.

The waitress was unhelpul and said all the portions looked different but we know what we received! No attempt was made to reconcile the error.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Mikef1312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DBRestaurant, Manager at Deep Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2018

Dear Mikef1312,

I'm sorry to hear that you had bad experience in our company that day.

This issue occurs quite a lot. The size of our fishes are done by weight and not by size. Our medium cods are 6-7 oz and our large are 8-9 oz. Therefore a medium could look larger than a large but there would be less fish in the medium than the large. Therefore that does not excuse us in the matter of the freshness of the fish that was lacking when you visited us and i would like to apologize for that issue.

We would love too see you again soon to give us another chance to treat yourselves with some beautiful fish and chips.

Warm regards,

Restaurant manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Deep Blue also viewed

 
Petersfield, Hampshire
Portsmouth, Hampshire
 

Been to Deep Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing