We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect bolt hole.”
other travellers have booked this property
Picturesque Cottage - directly onto the New Forest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picturesque Cottage - directly onto the New Forest
Dining area with views overlooking forest to the front
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
32 reviews
Picturesque Cottage - directly onto the New Forest
Dining area with views overlooking forest to the front
New Forest ponies at the front gate of the cottage
Many beautiful forest and picnic spots to explore just moments away
King sized guest room with patio on to rear garden
Well stocked and modern kitchen
King sized guest room with ensuite shower
Guest room with views of the forest to the front. Single and Junior Bed (<5yrs)
Hatchett Pond beauty spot just a short walk from Wren's Nest
Private rear garden and patio
Stable block/outbuilding and further lawned area beyond
A short trip to the south's coastline with many beaches and marinas
Miles of cycle and walking paths directly out from the cottage
Village Stores - couple hundred yards from Wren's Nest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
MDMAW11
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A perfect bolt hole.”
Reviewed 25 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

The cottage is excellent. Extremely well equipped, spacious, warm. A lovely garden. We had our 21 month old grandson with us so the lovely toys in the child's bedroom were a really nice touch, he was so excited when he got there and loved his room. The position of the cottge couldn't be better - 5 minute drive into Beaulieu and about 15 minutes from Lymington and Brockenhurst . The New Forest ponies were literally outside the gates, again loved by our grandson but also the rest of the party. East Boldre has a well stocked shop and a brilliant pub with a really welcoming New Zealand owner. I would really recommend this cottage and would return myself.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Proximity to the New Forest ponies.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind words, I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and hope to welcome you back again sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colin B
Orpington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just had a week in Wrens Nest and loved the cottage and location. It was very comfortable, clean and a delight to return to after a long walk or a bit of sightseeing. We were sorry to leave and wished we had booked a longer stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: loved it all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
THATFOODI...
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Urgent need of TLC”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The first thing we had to do was throw open all the windows and doors to get rid of the musty smell. It is an ideally situated cottage a stones throw from a shop and pub and within easy reach of Lymington. Although we enjoyed our stay we found that it was not up to the standard that we would have liked. For example, the showers needed de-moulding, the glassware was chipped and some of the pans had burnt on remains and had gone rusty. If the owner could address these and one or two other shortcomings by placing themselves in the shoes of their paying guests then I would rate it higher than I can at present.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: the domestics, shower, utensils etc
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your review of our cottage. I note all the points you have raised and these are being addressed immediately with our cleaning firm to rectify. A full carpet clean is booked to address any mustiness which may well have come with the warm and wet summer we have been experiencing. With an extremely busy summer of bookings at Wren's Nest some things have obviously become subject to wear and tear and these relatively minor points are being sorted. Thanks again for bringing this to our attention.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sodapop9
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lovely week”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely week at Wren's Nest (despite the awful weather!) The cottage is really nice & probably better equiped than anywhere else we've ever stayed - loads of books & toys & everything you could ever want in the kitchen.

The location is lovely and the local pub (The Turfcutters Arms) is great too: really nice food, friendly staff and board games for kids by the table under the stairs.

All in all a lovely stay, if we are ever in the New Forest again we will definitely return to Wren's Nest.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thank you for your kind comments, I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammi64
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 2 nights, clean, tidy and plenty of space in a beautiful location. Easy access to lots of local attractions/activities. Would definitely go back. The only thing which let it down was the en-suite shower didn't work.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2015
Thank you very much for your lovely comments. I am very sorry about the ensuite shower, following you raising this with me, we had the plumber out straight away and new pump was fitted.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing