We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house and surroundings”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sweetslade

Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows The spacious open-plan living area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
90 reviews
Sweetslade seen from the east with views over open countryside
The view to the east from the gable windows
The spacious open-plan living area
The light & sunny dining area
The large bedroom with en-suite bathroom
Sweetslade seen from the south with sunny seating area
The living area with woodburning stove and flat screen HD TV
Lovely views from the living room
The well-equipped & stylish kitchen area
The well-equiped & stylish kitchen area
Wake up to a view of the open countryside
The spacious bedroom with king size bed, and open staircase to the ground floor
A luxurious en-suite bathroom
The bedroom features a stunning south-east facing gable window
A view of Sweetslade from the footpath
A short walk from the door to the bluebell woods
The footpath from Sweetslade to the village & pub
A view of Rockbourne village
A view of Rockbourne village
The Rose and Thistle pub in Rockbourne
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
New Forest, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 90 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Alex B
1 review
“Beautiful house and surroundings”
Reviewed 8 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

My partner and myself have recently returned from a week long stay at Sweetslade...and what a great week it was!

As others have said, we were greeted warmly by Robert who showed us around the accommodation and talked us through how various bits and pieces worked. He recommended a couple of walks and nice pubs (the Rose and Thistle was particularly lovely!) and he made us feel very welcome. Robert was also a great help when our car ran into a spot of bother and really went above and beyond to help.

The accommodation itself is very nicely designed indeed. The appliances and furnishings are high quality and well maintained. We really couldn't believe it had been operating for three years - it felt so shiny and new that had we been told we were the first people to stay there we would have believed it! The bedroom is large and comfortable with wonderful views and the living space nicely proportioned with sofas that are dangerously comfy. We were only disappointed that it never got cold enough to give the wood burner a go.

The location in Rockbourne is very rural, but it's only a short drive into the New Forest which is where we spent most of our days out. Fordinbridge, the local large village with shops, is lovely for a walk around and has a very handy co-op. While there we ate in the George Inn one afternoon which we would highly recommend.

All in all Sweetslade was a wonderful base camp for exploring the New Forest, but was also such a lovely property that we really enjoyed our quiet cosy evenings indoors.

We really do hope to return soon and will be recommending.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2015
Thanks for taking the time out to do such a comprehensive review, look forward to seeing you again soon. The chocolates went down a treat !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis P
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect cosy, clean holiday home!”
Reviewed 7 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

As we arrived we were greeted by the owner who was very warm and welcoming. It was a very cosy, clean and stylish cottage which had modern furnishings and facilities which were great! The bedroom was very nice with great views and a comfy bed too. There were a number of walks around the cottage too which were very nice and it wasn't too far away from the new forest either! Would definitely come back, wish we had stayed longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Nov 2015
Thanks for taking time out to review very pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zan190775
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Sweet Retreat”
Reviewed 18 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I defy anyone not to love Sweetslade. It is warm, clean, comfortable and excellently appointed with quality furnishings and appliances.
We spent a week here and found it a good base for exploring the New Forest, visiting the Isle of Wight and the Dorset coast.
Bird-watching from the large living-room window over breakfast was an added delight.
I would definitely recommend this charming holiday property.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warmth, cleanliness and peaceful location.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Thanks for taking the time out to review, hope to see you both again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alastair...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect little escape”
Reviewed 29 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Comfortable and full of character, whatever the weather. Well equipped and in a beautiful location.

The perfect escape from reality.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Oct 2015
Very pleased you enjoyed this alternative reality
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bev H
Kent, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely barn, peace and quiet.”
Reviewed 23 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Had a lovely long weekend, the barn was lovely, had everything you needed and more. So peaceful and great for a weekend of relaxation. Would definitely recommend to friends and we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: peace and quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Thanks for taking the time out to review, very pleased you had a relaxing time look forward to your return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing