We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and peaceful holiday”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
kitchen area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
kitchen area
mini orchard
Fabulous sunsets
some of our girls
bbq
cosy sleeping alcove
view from inside hut
one of our cotswold ewes
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Shepherds hut -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Winchcombe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LesleySte...
Thirsk
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxing and peaceful holiday”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed for eight nights in this small but perfectly formed shepherds hut. The fittings are tasteful and everything you could need for a weeks self catering is supplied. Our intention was to walk parts of the numerous and beautiful walking trails that pass through Winchcombe and we weren't disappointed! Our hosts were welcoming as were the many local hostelries and cafes we visited. We had three super lunches in Cafe 6 in Winchcombe. Two days we did not walk and visited Cheltenham and traveled on the local steam railway thoroughly enjoying both. The shepherds hut gave us a peaceful and relaxing holiday as we were not tied to eating at specific times and came and went exactly as the mood took us. We also enjoyed cooking on a few evenings in the hut using local produce from the excellent Budegens store in Winchcombe. Fabulous break and felt fully recharged. Thank you!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanny1201...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 26 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We have recently had a second visit to this beautiful shepherd's hut. The hut itself is very well-made and tastefully decorated plus exceptionally clean. It is equipped with everything you will need for 2 people, and more - tea, coffee, sugar provided, even a pint of milk in the fridge on arrival! Linen is also provided. A well designed kitchen area and toilet with basin & shower. Storage space inside proved very useful, as well as the lovely decked patio. A lovely peaceful place. We will definitely visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Hor...
Kingsclere, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A haven of peace and tranquility.”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed in this delightful shepherds hut from the 04/07/16 - 10/07/16. We were greeted by Julie who settled us in. She was extremely helpful and had provided a pint of milk in the fridge for us to get started with a cup of coffee. While on hand Julie and her husband were completely unobtrusive during our stay, and we really felt that we were "away from it all". The setting was stunning, and views tremendous. The Shepherds hut was cosy,spotlessly clean, extremely comfortably and beautifully maintained, with everything we needed for our stay.

The location provided a central base for enjoying the Cotswolds and we enjoyed the bigger towns such as Cheltenham, and experienced the charms of smaller more traditional towns. We have recommended this little treasure to friends and family already, and will be planning another visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria...
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply perfect, a little hideaway - everything we wanted!”
Reviewed 4 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My husband and I were after a few days away together before our first baby arrives at the end of the year.This beautiful little hut was everything we could have hoped for! Don and Julie were there to greet us and show us in. The Shepherd's Hut is small, but perfectly designed and immaculately clean and tidy. The under bed storage drawer was more than enough space for both of us to store our clothes for 5 days. The location of the farm is perfect for exploring the north of the Cotswold area all within less than half hours drive! We spent our days in the sun visiting the beautiful villages and stunning places to walk...then we returned to our cosy little space for an afternoon nap with the breeze blowing through the windows (OK, so I napped and the husband went out running but I'm growing a human!lol) In the evenings we found some amazing little pubs, a different one each night with delicious food...I left a list of recommendations in the Visitors Book in the Shepherd's Hut :D. With no phone signal it really was a true escape, in the few days we hid away here we really grew a serious soft spot for this little Hut... Once the baby is old enough to have sleepovers at the grandparents, we will definitely be heading back to spend a few more days away from it all!
Thank you Julie & Don for the most relaxing week, just what we needed!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How cosy the Hut was, It really is all you need in a compact little Tardis!
Liked least: The mattress was a little uncomfortable for me, maybe a memory foam mattress topper could be added....saying that, at 6 months pregnant I rarely find sleeping comfortable!lol
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthew J
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Some like it hut (sheep and shearful)”
Reviewed 25 August 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Amazing stay at the Shepard's hut. It's located at the top of a field over looking loads of farms. There were a couple of caravans also but was not a problem as the hut has its own deck and driveway. The location was great for exploring by car, and the owners really friendly. Even brought out a BBQ for us to use. The hut was amazing inside proper kitchen and bathroom, amazing how much fitted inside; and finished to a good standard too!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing