We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Wesley House(Winchcombe)
USD 144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Lion Inn(Winchcombe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveller rating
166
182
76
44
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
182
76
44
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite hartthe pubsausageshared bathroomevening mealtravelzoo dealsuperior roomwooden floorssudeley castlehigh streetcream teayoung staffsteaksome tlcroom was clean and comfortablemashshower head
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

First visit. Country pine setting. Spot-on service to put us at our ease. Interesting menu – it was a Thursday and that meant an offer of two steaks with a free bottle of wine. Thus, after an excellent Caesar salad with enjoyable bread, we had the steaks - one filet and one rib-eye - cooked to perfection with delicious chips and plenty of salad. All supported a delicious bottle of Malbec and coffee. Simple and on the button. All for £59.50 plus service. We will definitely go back again.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank TheGuitingGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 14 March 2018 via mobile

As per each year when we come up for the Cheltenham racing festival we tried to have a family meal here. We patiently queued to ask if the empty table in the bar was free only for who appeared to be the manager (some Rupert bear character in red chords and yellow shirt) to near enough shout at his member of staff that they should know that it wasn’t. Anyway at that point another table in the bar became free so we asked about this. We simply got ignored so we took the sensible option and walked away and took our custom elsewhere. In fact what a blessing in disguise that was as we went to a fantastic pub called the Royal Oak in Gretton where they were packed but made room for a family of five. The food and service was exemplary and we are booked to go back there tomorrow night. We will not be returning to the somewhat pompous and rudeness of the white hart. Rupert can look for other custom but won’t get ours back.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, General Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry you felt like you were not dealt with in the correct manner but, as I explained at the time, all of our tables were booked owing to the fact that it was the Cheltenham Racing Festival.

I do hope you'll give us another try, please feel free to call me to make reservation next time.

Kind regards

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

Food was great. We went when it was snowing and the pub and adult toilets were nice and warm. However they do not turn heating on in the baby changing room it was ice cold. When I told the bar staff the response was ‘it’s cold everywhere’.
How helpful of them! Thanks for that!
Such a shame as I will not be returning!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank RachelD1610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, General Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for your review.

I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us.

I apologise for the temperature of the ladies toilets located in the bar but, at present, there is no heating in there. Perhaps next time you could try the toilets located in reception, they do have heating.

Kind regards

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018 via mobile

Booked the White Hart direct as we enjoyed a stay here several years ago. It cost GBP85 which was way too much. The feel throughout our stay was this is a business being run to the lowest possible cost. In an old building we expect quirky but the landing area is in dire need of redecoration wirh much chipped paintwork and grubby floors. It looks just like a "before" picture in a renovation project. Our room (6) was very small - we needed to take turns moving around and store our bag under the dressing table. The curtains are badly faded and both the vinyl headboard cover and bathroom floor are spotted with paint. The bed requires at least a mattress cover to avoid discomfort. Altogether the room is unpleasant and tired. At breakfast our experience got worse. My "Eggs Benedict " turned out to be singular Egg Benedict" and the solitary theme continued when my husband's order of mushrooms to replace an unavailable item arrived as one small mushroom. Based on this experience we ate elsewhere that evening. When I asked the manager about moving room he was unapologetic when he told me they were full. Guests should note the Inn's free car park is not large enough for the demand so be prepared to use the cheap local car park. That aside, we will not be staying here again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Redlizziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, General Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback.

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your most recent visit to The White Hart Inn. We hope to have all of the rooms redecorated by the end of this year. Perhaps you'd like to give us another try once our refurbishment programme has been completed.

Kind regards

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2018

A nice quiet village away from the usual tourist traps very friendly staff, the upstairs looked like it was under renovation but the room was lovely, clean and spacious. The food was terrific, friendly staff went out of their way to assist. Steep steps at the back for hauling up your luggage but you could unload quickly from the high street which does not have any parking.

Room Tip: parking is at the back no parking in the village
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Bryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHartManager, General Manager at White Hart Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again some time.

Kind regards

Gareth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews