We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (487)
Filter reviews
487 results
Traveller rating
314
109
40
12
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
314
109
40
12
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tudor room car park jubilee room overlooking the garden cotswold inns high street lovely hotel long street rain shower afternoon tea beautiful room top floor cream tea roll top bath sunday lunch amuse bouche fine dining
Filter
Updating list...
190 - 195 of 487 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2016

Visited as a result of an "offer" in the Daily Telegraph and a desire to sample this area. The hotel was distinctly "Cotswolds" and olde worlde but extremely comfortable and welcoming. Dinner dining was part of the deal and the meal was flawless, superbly prepared and presented. Breakfast catered for all appetites with the cooked element being individually prepared and served . The en suite rooms were spacious well presented and spotless. All staff encountered were friendly and helpful even volunteering to give up their car parking space so that we could be accommodated

Room Tip: Rooms at the front may suffer a little from traffic noise
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Surreytripper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear Surreytripper_11,

I pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to review your experience.

Your kind comments have been passed to the team.

I hope you will visit again in the future.

Kind Regards
Clare Steward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We were visiting Tetbury for the day where we had an absolutely delicious lunch in the pretty garden of The Close and then enjoyed wandering around the various interesting shops, which included a specialist cheese shop,a Hobbs bakery shop and not forgetting The Highgrove shop. Many of the buildings are very old and more information can be found in the Tourist Information building. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
Thank 429rabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear 429rabbit,

Thank you for reviewing your recent visit.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your lunch.

Tetbury is a wonderful place to visit with its antique shops, and specialist food shops.

I hope if you are in the area again you will visit again for a spot of lunch or an afternoon tea.

Kind Regards
Clare Steward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Had a great meal, we went for the 3 course A la carte menu. Choices were excellent and tastes and presentation superb, really liked the amuse bouche and pre dessert.... a lovely touch. Staff very efficient and friendly. Lovely ambiennce and decor, will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank JonathanG6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CloseManager, General Manager at The Close Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2016

Dear JonathanG6666,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience.

I am pleased that you enjoyed all aspects from the food to the service-as are the hard working team.

I hope you will join us for dinner again.

Kind Regards
Clare Steward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016

Visiting Tetbury with friends, fancied a snack lunch so tried this place. Limited range of bar food, but quite adequate and turned out to be absolutely delicious - when they eventually arrived. Apparently the kitchen printer ran out of paper so our order went adrift - but we received a free round of drinks in compensation and, as we were in no hurry, the inconvenience was minimal. We sat in the hotel garden on a lovely sunny afternoon and enjoyed delicious whitebait and sourdough bread and butter and a chicken and ham sandwich with fresh tasty salad, vegetable crisps and the nicest handmade coleslaw I've ever tasted.

Recommended - just keep an eye in case the paper runs out again ...

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank artymart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016

The hotel is situated in centre of Tetbury very handy for visiting Westonbirt and Highgrove . The ethos is of old world charm in the 21st century, lovely surroundings in a pleasant walled garden at rear of hotel, away from the busy high street ,very attentive and helpful staff . The interior has been carefully modernised but with the age and history of the building taken into account. Last but not least the food offered in both restaurants was excellent and good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking garden much quieter rooms overlooking Long Street noisier
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Chalky926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews