We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Enjoyable”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of COMBE COTTAGE

Exterior of cottage and drive
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Exterior of cottage and drive
Rear garden Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
33 reviews
Exterior of cottage and drive
Rear garden
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Lounge
Folded down dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Kitchen
Bedroom2
Bedroom1
Bedroom 1
Bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Stroud, Stroud District, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Annamarty...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“STAY AWAY I HAD TO CALL THE POLICE ON THE OWNER”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I will start absolutely no phone service in the whole property
Top bedroom was full of beds there was no where to put your clothes not even under the beds as there were mattress stored
there too, the bedside lamps were so tall light and tacky that they fell on your head every time you would go near them it was also freezing up there even with the heating on constant
The bathroom was vile, the Lino did not fit and the bath was falling apart
All the coubards in the kitchen were full so there was not even enough room for bread
I had to spend a day trying to fit our shopping in
Both the hovers in the property were useless I had to use a dust pan and brush most of the time and with there being a fire this was not easy , the TVs were useless you can't change the channel and the one on the top floor did not work
I would have complained but while staying at the property we lost a close relative and I had spent days crying and stressed which caused me to be late by 24 hours to pay for our exstended stay bearing in mind we had already been there 8 days then to find the landlord came storming in to the property at the time I was crying to my friend on the sofa
He was vile to me saying alsorts of things I just could not repeat on here my children were in a terrible state as so was I, I have never met such a nasty man he was going to chuck all our stuff on the street he gave us 5 Minutes to get out I tried to explained what had happened but he said he did not care he would not even wait outside so we could get our stuff out
so I had to call the police I'm so glad I did as they had to threatened to arrest him for breach of the peace
JUST DONT BOTHER
Its right on a busy main road so to dangerous for dogs and children as they can get through
There are plenty of other cottages That are much better with
The vile man even said we would steal
What the tacky lamps hovers that find work or the Wilko value kitchen stuff every time I picked up a spatula at a fish slice they fell apart
I could go on forever

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Feb 2017
This booking was made through Trip Advisor for 2 adults and 2children for 8 days
I was contacted by a neighbour who advised me that 7 people had moved into the property along with two dogs.
They remained in the property for 4 days after they were due to leave,refusing to go
I called at the property and advised that squatting was now a criminal offence and unless they left at once I would call the police,when they refused I did so .The police officers that arrived told them that unless they left within 2 hours they would be arrested.The officers also discovered that the occupants were local itinerant who made a habit of taking such actions against holiday homes
When I checked out my property I found considerable damage had resulted . Many items had been damaged and a considerable number of items stolen. A police investigation is on going and the crime reference number is 300121617
Over 500 empty bed tins were removed from the property and I had to hire a 2 cubic meter skip to get rid of the other rubbish left
I have taken several pictures of the way the property was left but a ll though reviewers are allowed to post pictures that facility is denied to owners when they respond
I am over £1000 out of pocket due to this booking and although I have brought the matter to the attention of Trip Advisor but no action has been taken by them
Finally the claim that there is no mobile connection is totally untrue,all networks work well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jencross2...
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Enjoyable”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have recently returned home after a very enjoyable stay at this charming old cottage.
Yes it does have low ceilings, uneven floors and steep stairs but the advert made us fully aware of these facts prior to bookings.
Our children 5 and 8 did not have the slightest problem with the stairs.
The cottage, was was well furnished, cosy and warm and the kitchen was fully equipped .
WiFi speeds was excellent and the smart tv very use full.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margarita...
mexico
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Magical cottage in a lovely part of the world...”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We have stayed for a week initially and then extended for another week. Gorgeous old fashioned cottage in a lovely area, a hop skip and a jump away from a great chippy and shop. Lovely staircases winding up to a great attic bedroom which our 3 and 5 year old have loved. Would absolutely and very highly recommend this property for families. Nice and warm and very homely...it has absolutely everything you could need. It's like a something out of the pages of Harry Potter.....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Nov 2016
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Characterful old cottage but too near busy road”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

charming cottage but very dark sitting room and stair to first floor very steep - more like a ladder. Unsuitable for very young or old. Nice bedrooms and comfortable beds.
Small kitchen and limited dining are - accommodation and equipment suitable for max 4 people. Garden spoiled by noisy road below.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Oct 2016
Thank you for your review
This advert states quite clearly that the stairs are very steep and that the property is not suitable for the infirm.
This cottage is 400 year old and is typical of that period
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tony24045...
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“lovely cottage and ideal location”
Reviewed 18 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

quirky cottage due to the age of the building some of the internal fittings could do with upgrading, the location was ideal to visit the places we had in mind we had a lovely week and would definately use it again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Sep 2016
Thank you for your kind review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing