We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Comfortable cottage, secluded, but within easy...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crooked Beams

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Upstairs Study Room
Upstairs Study Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Elizabeth...
Billericay
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable cottage, secluded, but within easy reach of town centre”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Stow is a lovely centre for the Cotswolds. The cottage is well-equipped, comfortable, and roomy with lovely secluded garden just outside Stow and is wonderfully quiet. We had a peaceful week there winding down from a very busy time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jul 2017
Dear Elizabeth
Thank you so much for your review..We have owned our cottage for more than 30 years and although we still use it ourselves we felt that it should be used more often than we need. We, too love the peace and quiet together with the proximity to Stow. We do hope that you will come again.
Best wishes
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carole-Cr...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful Cotswolds Cottage !”
Reviewed 12 July 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We've been to Crooked Beams two or three times now and would definitely return. A quintessential Cotswolds cottage with an open log fire and plenty of room; it also has a lovely garden with a southerly aspect, which is accessed from a conservatory off the kitchen. We visited over the Christmas break during a cold snap, but the cottage was lovely and warm and cosy. An added bonus was the wonderful garage with an electric door, which kept the car frost-free for our outings the following morning.

Set in the lovely quiet hamlet of Maugersbury, it's only a short stroll into Stow on the Wold where there are many shops, pubs and restaurants. Plenty of walks on the doorstep also, but central for exploring the rest of the Cotswolds. Check out the wonderful Daylesford farm shop at nearby Kingham.

All you need for a 'chilled' visit to the Cotswolds, and Mary is a wonderful host who will definitely want you to enjoy your stay. We are more than happy to recommend this lovely cottage.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Dear Carole
Thank you so much for our review We are pleased that you enjoyed our cottage and hope that you will come again
Best wishes
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim725
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
“Beautiful garden. Very relaxing”
Reviewed 9 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Very nice clean cottage in a quiet village 1/2 mile from Stow. The garden and sun room were very relaxing after a day of touring.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
green9567
Dover, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect ...but”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The cottage is lovely every convenience very peaceful and quiet and central to most attractions it would have been a 5star but for the seating in the lounge which is not really suitable for larger people

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2017
Thank you for the kind review. Perhaps for a very large person you found the full size two seater sofa a little small if you are used to a three seater, but a three seater might look too large in a cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
2 reviews
“Lovely week in a charming cottage”
Reviewed 6 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We have had a wonderful week in Cotswolds. The cottage was very charming and and well equipped. The conservatory was a very nice place to sit and relax and have a meal. Nice with a little library which also contained a lot of information about the area and walking paths. Location was fantastic, calm and peaceful with a short walk to Stow with nice restaurants and pubs.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and hope that you will return in due course.
Best wishes,
Mary
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing