We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful! Loved our stay at crooked beams.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Crooked Beams

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Upstairs Study Room
Upstairs Study Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
JNally
St.albert
1 review
“Beautiful! Loved our stay at crooked beams.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Cottage was everything we wanted and more. Spacious, cozy and clean. Had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. Enjoyed our walks into Stow and loved the back garden! Loved everything about it.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manlygirl...
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Perfect Cottage”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Crooked Beams has everything you could wish for in a country cottage. It is comfortable, well located in Stow on the Wold, ,and is quiet . There is somewhere to put the car and has a dishwasher, wifi and washing machine. Alisoun left a nice cake and flowers on the table for our arrival. It was just like staying in a home, not a holiday house. It was an easy walk into Stow where there are interesting shops and plenty of choice in places to eat. The neightbours were friendly and happy to talk to us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carol M
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My friend and I stayed for 2 weeks in this great cottage. Every aspect of the cottage was perfect. It was like a home, what a joy to be so comfortable. The distance to Stow was about a mile and so a quick trip for dinner or to the bakery perfect. I will share our great experience with all my friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the wonderful home feel
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leon363
Grange-over-Sands, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice,quiet,convenient place to stay just outside Stow”
Reviewed 20 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Very well equipped cottage
Convenient situation in the quiet village of Maugersbury
Nice rural walks from the front door particularly for our two small poodles !
Stow on the Wold town is just a few minutes drive and has shops cafes pubs etc in abundance.
Several houses & gardens run by the National Trust etc.are also nearby.
Moreton in Marsh is a short drive away & was worth a visit as was
Chipping Norton.
An excellent visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacquelin...
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Delightfully quaint, well equipped cosy cottage”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage is clean, well equipped & comfortable. It is a perfect location for visiting all the Cottswold's villages. The owners have thought of everything from a games cupboard to fresh flowers, biscuits & chocolate! I can't recommend this cottage enough. There is even a small library room upstairs which is light, airy & full of books & brochures & perfect for a quite read. The garden is a pleasant size & the real coal fire in the lounge is a huge bonus.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing