We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A perfect cottage in a lovely location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lilac Cottage

Rear of cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi. Garden door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
Rear of cottage
Lounge with log burner, TV/DVD/Freeview, Gigajuke hi-fi.
Garden door
Kitchen from stairs
Kitchen from Dining area
Double bedroom
Double bedroom towards window
Twin room
Bathroom
Patio
Front of cottage
Patio and garden from bedroom windows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
baiyor
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A perfect cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed 25 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Lilac Cottage exceeded all our expectations. It was quiet, very nicely furnished, comfortable and had every amenity we as first time visitors to the Cotswolds (from the US) could have needed or wanted. Access to nearby villages via rental car or by foot in many cases was easy. Each evening we had a myriad of very good restaurants to chose from; walking around the village of Stow-on-the-Wold day and evening was at our doorstep. I would highly recommend Lilac Cottage as the perfect cottage for a short or extended stay in the Cotswolds!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, especially the views to the garden and beyond
Liked least: Absolutely nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2015
We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to the Cotswolds and that we were able to provide a comfortable base from which you could explore. Thank you for the recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“A relaxing stay”
Reviewed 13 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This was our first visit to Stow in the world and Lilac Cottage made it better, wonderful location for local town and the Cotswolds in general. Good to have parking and garden.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The headboard on the main bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
We're very pleased that we were able to enhance your first visit to Stow on the Wold and thank you for your kind comments on Lilac Cottage.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillr162
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolutely lovely cottage”
Reviewed 23 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Couldn't have been any nicer. Perfectly located on a quiet street, just minutes from the center of one of the most charming villages in the Cotswolds. Had everything we could ask for. Wonderful, relaxing, romantic getaway.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay at Lilac Cottage and thank you for your positive comments. Reviews by previous guests really do help prospective guests to choose a property.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KKarr123
Saint Charles, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Charming cottage in charming area of England”
Reviewed 9 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Lilac Cottage. The cottage is well equipped and has a period charm that made it just as enjoyable to curl up in a chair with a book on a rainy evening in front of the fire as to be out and about. Both bedrooms are on the back of the cottage, making it very quiet at night and in the morning, and the views are lovely. The only thing that could possibly had made it better would have been a dryer (the washer was a big help though on its own, and there is a foldable drying rack stored under the stairs for use with drying clothes). That being said, we really didn't find any deficiencies at all with this lovely property, and it was well placed in the area with a short walk up to the town square, and only 10 minutes drive to a train station that got us to Oxford in 45 minutes. We loved our stay and plan to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Would have liked a washer/dryer combo vs. just a washer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2015
We are very lucky to have such a diverse range of visitors to Lilac Cottage from all over the world and we are so happy that everyone likes the cottage and enjoys their stay. However, we are always looking to not just maintain this standard, but to improve where we can and we will certainly look into providing a washer/dryer in place of the washing machine - it would be easier in winter when laundry can't be dried outside.
We would love to welcome you back to Lilac Cottage again in the future.
Regards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark B
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The lilac Cottage is well worth a visit! A Home from Home!”
Reviewed 1 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

The lilac cottage is well worth a visit! We only stayed for two nights, this was definitely not long enough.

The cottage is very well presented and very clean. It is a credit to Dianne and her Cleaner. It has everything you need to survive. Dianne has provided plenty of information about the surrounding area in her information packs.

The cottage is located a short walk from the town centre which has plenty of small shops and plenty of pubs. We ate at the Bell Inn roughly 100yrds from the cottage. The food is great, well worth a visit.

It took a little bit if time to find the cottage as it is tooked away in a quiet location. However if you find sterling close on a map. Which is a small cul-de-sac off union street. You will find the rear entrance to the cottage on the right hand side of the cul-de-sac.

I would recommend Lilac Cottage to anyone and we will definitely be revisiting.
.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Thank you for your kind comments about Lilac Cottage, myself and our Housekeeper - who does sterling work and takes great pride in presenting the cottage to the very best standard. We endeavour to provide a comfortable environment and when guests describe Lilac Cottage as "Home from Home" we are very happy.
Concerning the difficulty in finding the property, in the Directions & Access Information I send out I do explain that SatNavs take you to Sterling Close (I have tried to have this rectified, to no avail!) and give full directions to the front door on the cul-de-sac.
Thank you again for taking the time to post this review and we look forward to welcoming you to Lilac Cottage again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing