We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honey Cottage

Honey Cottage, right in the heart of Stow with pubs and shops on the doorstep
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Honey Cottage, right in the heart of Stow with pubs and shops on the doorstep
Kitchen/Breakfast room Perfect pace to enjoy your morning coffee!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
Honey Cottage, right in the heart of Stow with pubs and shops on the doorstep
Kitchen/Breakfast room
Perfect pace to enjoy your morning coffee!
A wonderful place to relax on those more chilly nights
Romantic double bedroom
Pretty twin bedroom
Right in the heart of Stow with great restaurants on the doorstep
A cosy retreat at any time of the year
Guest book comments Oct - Dec 2016
Guest book comments June to Sept 2016
Great for a romantic break for 2, a family holiday or a weekend away catching up with friends
The patio - ideal for a drink on a sunny day or enjoy a BBQ (sun umbrella provided!)
The market square
The beautiful rolling countryside surrounding Stow
Great independent shops
With everything on the doorstep there is no need for a car
Visit nearby Bibury (or The Slaughters, Burford, Bourton-on-the-Water, Chipping Campden etc)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DaveMatth...
Plymouth
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 30 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had a great time in this cottage with character. Everything that you might need was provided. Yes, the water pressure could have been better, but we managed. It's what you get with a cottage with character! The wi-fi was a godsend, as we had our teenage son with us. The cottage is very well situated and very close to the shops. We recommend Lucy's tearoom. All the rooms were a good size, we have stayed in other cottages with smaller rooms.
Parking can be a problem, but we managed to park in the street parallel to the cottage.
We would definitely stay again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character and view from the back (the church)
Liked least: Low height over bath.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Oct 2015
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay Dave. We always go to the New England Coffee shop (fabulous coffee!) so will give Lucy's a try and maybe indulge in an afternoon tea! Look forward to hearing from you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shahidul...
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 15 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

First time staying in the Cotswolds which is beautiful, topped with this lovely cottage to ourselves. It had character and really felt like home away from home. Lovely fireplace too. The kitchen had all the utensils you can think of, especially a cupboard of essentials you may have forgotten to bring. This extra touch made a difference!! The place has everything you would have at home such as an iron and board, hairdryer, lots of board games (although pieces missing in a few of them), coffee press. teapot etc etc. The water pressure isn't very high but we are informed that it is normal for Cotswold. Lots of pubs etc nearby. Would definitely recommend staying here. However it is not recommended for tall people... I am F506 and I manged to bang my head on top of the doorway coming down the stairs!

Downsides... The pillow was too high and too stiff. I couldn't sleep very well. My partner slept well though. The WiFi is very intermittent. It would work and then disconnect regularly. Even after restarting the router it didn't work.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: The pillow
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Honey Cottage and your time in Stow.

Appreciate you mentioning the Wi-Fi as it is normally very reliable so there must have been a temporary glitch which we will investigate - we stay regularly and work from the cottage so appreciate the importance or reliable Wi-Fi.

There are a couple of low beams/ceiling areas in the cottage which is pretty typical for a historic cottage in the Cotswolds. My husband is 6ft and is convinced that people must have been shorter back in 1650!

Hopefully this will be the first of many stays in the Cotswolds and if you visit during the winter months, you get to enjoy the magic of the log burner in that lovely fireplace.

Look forward to welcoming you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colin s
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“wonderful, idyllic and well appointed”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

what can i say about this wonderful cottage in the heart of Stow on the wold. it is fantastically placed just a 2 min walk from the town square and all that has to offer. if you need a supermarket then tesco is only a 10 minute walk away.
the cottage itself is great, lovely big kitchen, two nice sized bedrooms, if you are over 6 foot you may struggle in the double room apart from the bed area but this is a minor issue. Nice sized lounge with an aladdin's cave of board games and books to use whilst here, also lots of CD's and DVD's to use if you happen to want them. we re-discovered Monopoply on a rare wet day during our stay. The hosts have really thought of everything with pretty much any kitchen gadget and utensil you may need. a selection of cookery books on the shelf and a small cupboard with some provisions you may need to borrow if you run low. this really is a home from home.
the only slight downside was the water pressure which was a bit low at times ( told beforehand in the advert) and a fairly low ceiling in the bathroom (6 footers beware again) but this is something that is a bit of an inconvenience rather than a major problem. all in all a fantastic place to stay, thoroughly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole thing
Liked least: stairs are very steep
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Honey Cottage. There are always a few little quirks that come with a very old cottage that has lots of original character, which I think overall adds to the charm - really pleased you enjoyed your stay and had a nice time in Stow. Hope to hear from you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alisonlou...
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
“perfect for exploring the cotwolds - immaculate and well equipped”
Reviewed 22 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

simply delightful, beautifully done. I am a cook and the kitchen was well stocked with all necessary equipment. well equipped with a whole cupboard full of games, et cetera. gorgeous sun trap of a courtyard garden. stow itself is historic and picturesque with great places to eat - we were sorry to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the courtyard garden and the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amanda R
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage all the little extras make it special”
Reviewed 21 January 2014 for a stay in January 2014

A lovely we'll equipped cottage in the heart of stow, lots of little extras that make it home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jan 2014
I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay Mandy and thank you for your feedback.

Hope to see you again in the future at the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing