We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cosy cottage in the heart of Stow on...”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Bell House, in Stow-on-the-Wold
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Bell House, in Stow-on-the-Wold
A classic Cotswold cottage living room! Fabulous inglenook fireplace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
11 reviews
Welcome to The Bell House, in Stow-on-the-Wold
A classic Cotswold cottage living room!
Fabulous inglenook fireplace
The cottage is full of character
Reverse view of the living room
A great sociable space
Lovely character features
The open plan kitchen and dining room
Wooden dining table with seating for five
Electric flame effect fire
Reverse view of the dining area
The well presented kitchen
A useful utility space, with a door out to the courtyard garden
The courtyard garden, a great suntrap in summer!
One of the outdoor tables
A second outdoor table and chairs
Looking across the courtyard garden
Please note the lack of spindles on the side of the staircase
Bedroom 1, with a king size bed
A lovely, cosy cottage!
Family bathroom, with bath and separate walk-in shower
Bedroom 2, with a double bed in the cottage eaves
Cosy and welcoming!
Bedroom 3, a small room with a single bed
The Bell House, as seen from Park Street
Welcome!
One of Stow's many traditional pubs and restaurants
The Bell House, for a relaxing Cotswold holiday
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Stow-on-the-Wold, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bronte102...
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Poverty not panache”
Reviewed 11 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Noisy, smelly (cigarette smoke) tatty furniture and not 3 bedroom.
We had stayed at 5 other properties over 3 weeks in the UK. This was terrible.
Our daughters bedroom was like a cupboard ...that small you could not get her case in the bedroom. The smell, was awful ...we had to open every window and door and buy candles to make it smell ok

Issues:

Dirty cups and cutlery, washed all
Internet intermittent, I fixed
TV , THAT WAS SO OLD ... had 2 channels , fixed by fixing antenna cable
Tatty furniture , wardrobe unstable
Noisy like sleeping on the M1, drunks at night from the 3 pubs close by
I fell in the garden on the rotten wooden deck / path as it collapsed, twisted my ankle
Agent that hides behind , well it's not us that manage it , thx character cottages for all the talk but no action ...we paid you , you have a responsibility to back up the words ...not hide behind small print

Terrible ...not at all restful ....stay at the sheep inn it has way better quitter rooms or the slaughters inn in lower slaughter...beautiful !

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
"”Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner's appointed property manager at The Bell House:
“Thank you for your comments and I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at The Bell House. I have responded to your points in turn below.

The Bell House is a non-smoking house and, to the best of my knowledge, this rule has never been transgressed. I was there myself to check the house and found there was no smell of cigarette smoke.

The Bell House (as stated) is close to pubs and on a road, but we have never experienced foul drunks. The cottage normally gets positive comments regarding its location as it’s so central in the town. I’m sorry that you were disturbed during your stay, but sadly we have no control over this issue and have not received other comments about noise.

Whilst there is Wifi at the property, it states on the website that this is dependent on the supplier, such as BT, and cannot always be guaranteed. Being in a small town, it can fluctuate now and again, so I’m sorry this affected your stay. As for the TV, the main TV has Freeview and is in the lounge, whereas the TV in the bedroom is not something we advertise. Whilst it is an older model, we have left it in the cottage as there are some children’s video tapes at the cottage, and we wanted to keep a TV that would still play these. There is also a DVD player.

The furniture is a mixture of old and new, including some beautiful antique pieces. The kitchen and bathroom are newly refurbished and the other rooms retain the cottagey, characterful feel. We feel the website is an accurate representation of the style of the cottage.

I’m sorry to hear that you fell on the deck. We have since been to the cottage and checked the decking.

As soon as I was made aware of how you felt, I contacted you and offered to come to the cottage to help in any way I could, and to smell the cigarette smoke for myself. My offer was turned down, so I was unable to help further during your stay. “”
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cosy cottage in the heart of Stow on the Wold”
Reviewed 9 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Having stayed at The Bell House in 2016 we can't fault it. A beautiful traditional 3 bedroom cottage right in the heart of Stow on the Wold, Cotswolds.
It has that warm friendly feeling when you walk through the door into a perfectly equipped kitchen.
There are 2 double bedrooms which are great and so comfy. The 3rd bedroom is smaller but this is where our 8 year old son slept with plenty of room.
The bathroom is extremely well appointed with modern facilities and is very spacious and clean.
There is a small downstairs toilet towards the rear of the cottage through the utility room.
The back garden is small but very elegant with great character and is a proper sun trap ( when it's out ) so it's great for sitting outside and enjoying a drink or meal on the table provided.
The lounge has a large traditional open cast iron fire, which sets the scene just beautifully.
The area of Stow on the Wold is beautiful, only 5 mins to Bourton on the water and a superb base to the other towns and villages of the Cotswolds.
There is plenty to see, eat, drink and shop for.
If I can recommend the Kings Arms in Stow for a meal, all home cooked food and great portions in a wonderful setting.
We will probably be back again next year for another few nights in this fantastic cottage. Absolutely recommended.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TLBK
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful cottage with an open fire for in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights during school half term and absolutely loved the our stay. Living in Central London means things like an open fire are not very common so every minute that we were indoors, we had a roaring fire going and sat in the living room playing games, watching TV or reading a book.

The cottage has everything you need (apart from food, which you obviously need to bring with you!). There's also a small back garden which can probably be put to better use in the summer (although our daughter loved stomping around in the snow when we visited!).

Everything worked as expected - kitchen stuff, hot water, heating, etc. There was also some logs which we used up very quickly but there's a Tesco nearby which sells logs very cheaply.

Plenty of attractions within driving distance. Although be warned that during the weekend the restaurants and pubs nearby are booked up so make a reservation if you want to go out for dinner. And we were very lucky with getting parking outside the cottage but it does get busy during the day.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eelbrookr...
London
Level 5 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Charming house in beautiful Market Town”
Reviewed 26 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

A friend and I just returned from an idyllic seven night stay at The Bell House.
We loved the look, feel and location of the cottage. Very smart throughout. We travelled by train from London, and a quick taxi (or bus) ride from Moreton in Marsh. No car needed as the small market town will keep you entertained for days on end. Several pubs, restaurants and tea houses. Excellent family butchers.. top quality produce, ideal to prepare roasts and pies in the fabulous kitchen.

The sitting room is lovely. Spacious area with a massive Inglenook fireplace and a wood burning stove. Loved it. Large led tv there if needed. As room is large the tv is not in your face, which is a plus for me.
Kitchen diner has everything you need and more. Adjoining laundry room with a top of the art washing machine and a drier which we used as we travelled light. Toilette downstairs is another bonus. Every room in the house has windows.. so no poky bathrooms. The enclosed patio/garden would make a sweet area to enjoy warm evenings out.

Upstairs we used the two double rooms which were so pretty and with very good bedding. Secondary glazing provides extra quietness without spoiling the character of the building.

The bright and airy bathroom is fabulous. Both with a bath and a massive walk in shower, plenty of space to keep your toiletries,
Heating system kept the whole house super warm throughout our stay. Lots of different lights and lamps can make the house very bright or as I did, choose for a more subtle light in the evenings.

Basic items were provided including some fresh milk and yummy cookies. Washing stuff, etc. Thank you Maggie for your helpful assistance during our trip.. just a phone call away answered and solved any issues that may arise.

Will definitely return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chebbie67
Jersey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic, homely clean cottage in an excellent location, will stay again”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Stayed with family, including my 7 year old and my mum. Cottage was extremely homely, clean and welcoming. Lovely welcome pack on arrival. There was also a wood burner (which wood was provided for the first couple of nights) which we made great use of! Couldn't ask for a better central location (Stow on the Wold) and plenty of restaurants and pubs within walking distance. Thoroughly recommend and we are looking forward to rebooking for next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing