We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dover House”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Dover House

Facade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Facade
Front door View
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Facade
Front door
View
Living Room
Living Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Staircase
Staircase
Staircase
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Feature fireplace
Sofa bed
TV room
1st Floor bathroom
1st Floor bathroom
Top Hall
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 2
Top floor bathroom
Top floor bathroom
Galley Kitchen
Galley Kitchen
Wetroom
Wetroom
Laundry
Garden
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Painswick, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mr Robert...
1 review
“Dover House”
Reviewed 22 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at Dover House for my son's wedding.It was a wonderful base with in walking distance of all that Painswick has to offer. It is a beautiful period house , well equipped with outstanding views and was perfect for our needs.
We enjoyed our stay there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Aug 2017
Dear Robert,
Thank you for your review.
I wish your son a long and happy marriage.
All the best,
Sandra Edwards
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken F
Lindfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely New Year Stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

This property is located in a side street within walking distance of the main street and not far from a pub. It has lovely views to the rear and has a single off street parking space. The bedrooms are large and well furnished but none are en-suite though there are adjacent bathrooms (bath rather than shower and if shower your requirement then there is one on the ground floor). We were a party of seven so the first floor lounge was the fourth bedroom with the comfortable sofa bed. This means the smallish hallway front room is the only lounge area and comfy chairs are then at a premium. Less of a problem in summer but in winter and eating in I would say five is a more comfortable capacity.
The house is well furnished in general and with antiques abounding you get the ye olde English vibe. This is enhanced by the quirky layout of small kitchen and adjacent prep room on different levels and cellar for laundry, microwave and fridge.
The kitchen was well equipped with crockery, pans, crockery etc. just a case of finding them.
All in all a very enjoyable stay. There was a slight problem with the booking agent and might be better using tripadvisor rather than any other.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macandbre...
Gosport
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memorable stay in a beautiful part of the world”
Reviewed 11 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Just the most beautiful period house and so well equipped - very high spec decor and lovely period furniture, crockery etc. The location is perfect for walking as long as you don't mind hills. The house was warm and comfortable in every way.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murraygar...
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
“The Dover House is exceptional!”
Reviewed 8 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

The Dover House is exceptional in everyway! There were 6 family members, 2 from Texas, 2 from Wisconsin, and 2 from Michigan, and we stayed 3 days which was not long enough. Next time we will stay longer. I loved everything about this home! The decorating and materials used in this home are over the top! I got so many wonderful ideas. The view from the back yard is like a fairy tale, and we loved sitting out there and soaking it all in. Thank you, Sandra, for sharing your beautiful home with us, as it is a memory we can savor the rest of our lives. Jeannie Murray from Texas

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bwait
United States
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewel in the Heart of The Cotswalds' Queen”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We had a wonderful week in The Cotswalds, highlighted by our stay at the historic Dover House in Painswick -- a wonderful little village dubbed "The Queen of the Cotswalds".

This period home in the heart of Painswick is incredibly gorgeous and unique, leaving us feeling very lucky to have been able to find and book it on short-notice. The owners of Dover House are cordial, responsive, helpful and accommodating.

We felt pampered with all of the amenities and rooms available in this cottage, and the views from almost every window provided escape. The side parking also provided a sheltered place off narrow streets for our vehicle. From morning sunrises to quiet afternoons to moonlit evenings, the backyard of this cottage and its terrific view of the Painswick Valley provided the tranquility our family was looking for during a restful week in The Cotswalds.

There are thousands of choices when picking a holiday cottage in The Cotswalds. The Dover House in Painswick has very few rivals ...

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing