We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the stunning onsite Luxury Spa, just a few minutes walk from your holiday villa...
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Welcome to the stunning onsite Luxury Spa, just a few minutes walk from your holiday villa...
The private members Luxury Spa at The Lower Mill Estate - Guests only access
The Luxury Spa reception - quite literally just a few minutes walk from your lakeside holiday villa
2 x Swimming pools, sauna, steam room, plunge/eco pool and fully equipped gymnasium at the Spa
The world class and award winning - Private Luxury onsite Spa facility. Enjoy !
Luxurious slate lined (heated) outdoor full size pool, simply wonderful !
Gin clear water & stunning views across the nature reserve from the HEATED indoor pool
The beautiful Welsh slate lined HEATED indoor swimming pool at the Luxury Spa complex
Close up shot of the outdoor plunge pool - The UK's only eco pool
Beautiful jade green Welsh slate lined HEATED indoor pool, with views across the nature reserve
A swim with a view – all round panoramic glazing and double height aspect. Simply stunning!
Fully equipped gymnasium at the onsite Luxury Spa complex, Lower Mill
The newly constructed outdoor children's play area - Just a few minutes walk from your villa
The fantastic brand new Balihoo onsite Restaurant and Club House, now fully open to all guests
Fully licensed bar at the recently opened Balihoos Clubhouse and Restaurant - Cheers !
Hand crafted locally brewed craft beers and ciders, now being served at the new Balihoos Clubhouse
The scrumptious Bali Burger - Now being served in the new Clubhouse and  Restaurant
Handmade freshly stone baked pizza - Available at the new Balihoos Clubhouse and Restaurant
Delicious selection of locally made cakes and pastries, great with a freshly brewed coffee
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Skybluesh...
Coventry
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely area, spoiled by overzealous charging procedure. Lost a repeat booking as a result...”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Resort/area is lovely - clean, safe and plenty to do. A quiet tranquil escape.

The spa was lovely, restaurant on site great too. we really enjoyed our break.

We had issues with this apartment, that were dealt with in an aggressive, threatening manner. We were a large group, and all responsible types! However, threats to charge and communications on the matter were dealt with in an immature, difficult manner.

The most contentious issues were...

* Non-removal of bin bags. There was no signage inside the accommodation to explain where to leave rubbish. It was explained in the booking notes...one paragraph in 12 attachments - which I couldn't re-read given the lack of internet access. Yes, I should have considered this more...but a brief reminder in the house would have solved this. Who doesnt do this?!

* Repairs to a stairgate - deliberately damaged. Believe it or not...having 4 babies/toddlers in our party, we were very keen for this to work properly. On day one, we noted that the wall fixings were loose. Yes, we should have called them straight away - I realise this!. However, following accusations of damaging the property, I take issue with this in that the house clearly isnt being monitored to be in a fit and proper condition to let to families safely.

It took weeks to resolve the matter. Why charges couldnt be discussed suitably and addressed in a mature manner I do not know.

It tainted our memories of a lovely trip. I feel much better though,having booked to go elsewhere for our next get-together, rather than risking any more issues by using this company.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Lakeside surrounding, lovely park areas.
Liked least: Antiquated, aggressive management of property.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Sep 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to review Duck Down Lodge.

Firstly, we would respectfully point out that Duck Down Lodge is not an apartment as stated by the guest, but is in fact a four bedroom detached lakeside property.

This guest stayed at Duck Down Lodge earlier in the year, in May 2016, but unfortunately they did cause some damage to the property during their stay.

There was damage to the stair gate on the first floor landing, with the gate itself appearing to have been pulled away from the actual wall and the fixings, with resulting damage to the surrounding plasterwork and to the paintwork.

In addition there were also a number of towels that were heavily soiled, with what appeared to be fake tan, our cleaning contractors did try and launder the stained towels, but with no avail, the stains just could not be removed and necessitated replacement of the damaged towels on a like for like basis.

As well as the damage caused to these items, the house was left in a truly awful state, with lots of general rubbish left throughout the property, half eaten food left in the kitchen, dried on food on plates, pots, and pans in the kitchen etc

Our cleaners reported no less than 6 x large black bags of rubbish that needed to be removed from the property. Overall the house required an additional 4 x “man hours” of cleaning, in order for it to be restored to the required standard, ready for the next set of incoming guests.

On discovering the damage reported by our cleaners on the day the guests vacated the property, we emailed the guest the same day, with details of the damage, accompanied by a large number of supporting photographs, clearly showing the damage.

Unfortunately we did not receive a reply to the email, possibly the guests did not receive it, as there were a number of large file attachments, that being the photographs of the damage to the property, so perhaps it may have found its way through to the good old spam folder!

In the absence of any response, or reply from the guest, we sent out our standard security deposit letter detailing the damage caused. This was sent via both email and Royal Mail recorded delivery post, directly to the guest’s home address, this time we received a reply to the email within 30 minutes of it being sent. In addition, a few days later, we also received quite a long letter from the guests through the post. The response was well written and amicable, although the guest did appear upset that we had sent a formal letter through the post, rather than a less formal approach.

On receipt of the guest’s response, we then telephoned them personally to discuss the matter, they were very polite during the telephone conversation and the call was concluded with an amicable solution to the situation.

The guest acknowledged the damage to the towels and the condition that the property was left in, stating that they thought the towels would wash clean and that they were not aware of their obligation under our agreed terms that they needed to leave the property in a reasonable condition. They refuted causing the damage to the stair gate, which remains somewhat of a mystery to this date, as there was categorically no damage evident, prior to the guest’s arrival at Duck Down Lodge.

The guests were really lovely about the whole incident and took full responsibility and as a good will gesture we agreed that they would only meet the costs of the replacement danged towels, on a like for like basis and that we would absorb the costs of the repair to the stair gate and also the extra cleaning costs. In addition, we also didn’t charge for our time for dealing with the incident, which totaled over 3 hours, a number of emails, or any of the periphery costs, such as recorded delivery postage, liaising with contractors to carry out the repairs, and some lengthy telephone calls. The actual final charge to the guest was just £ 45, which was the cost price of the replacement towels only, we didn’t even charge to go to John Lewis to collect them (we had to make a special trip that day, ready for the next set of incoming guests), nor did we charge to launder them before they could be used.

We feel that our approach was more than fair and we acted with the upmost integrity, professionalism and respect at all times. In line with our agreed terms, we could have charged the guests the full £ 250, that being the full amount of the security deposit.

We were a little disappointed that the guest did not initially report the damage upon checking out of the property, as this would have then enabled us to deal with the matter much more expediently and without the need to issue more formal paperwork.

We are a somewhat surprised to see this review, some 4 months after the guests stay and after what we had considered to be a highly amicable resolution for both parties, to the unfortunate incident.

Although this has been hugely time consuming, we thought it important to layout all the facts associated with the booking.

We wish the guests all the best for the future and for future holidays, we bear no hard feelings, life is much to short!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hanginwit...
Kettering, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect! ”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Have stayed at other properties on the estate, but this definitely has the 'wow' factor and I will be rebooking in the next couple of days for another stay!
Clean, spacious with great views. The 8 of us came away totally relaxed and not wanting to leave!
5 star accommodation!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bev N
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great week”
Reviewed 27 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Just spent a great week with the family in this amazing house, we didn't want to leave !
Beautiful views across the lake, watching the swans, ducks and fish.
Well equipped house, plenty of room, quality furnishings and comfy beds.
Lovely bistro on site that served a great sunday lunch and then spent the afternoons swimming in the 3 pools, the 2 outside warmer than the inside one
Would highly recommend and hope to return next year.
Thank you Jamie, you were most helpful and always just a phone call away

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: shop closed for 3 days ( due to low season )
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tranquil”
Reviewed 18 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Very relaxing. Lovely apartment/house really well appointed and tastefully decorated. Great view over lake. Nice pool only a stone's throw away (and an outdoor pool for the brave!). Lots of countryside for walks and running. Tennis court booking system could use an overhaul though!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
USD 134
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing