We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic House in Idyllic Location”

Review of Sunnybank Lodge

Sunnybank Lodge, covered ground floor porch, large first floor terrace, perfect for alfresco dining.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sunnybank Lodge, covered ground floor porch, large first floor terrace, perfect for alfresco dining.
Secure private gates to just 9 houses Sunny rear decking and glass walled living area letting the outside in!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
Sunnybank Lodge, covered ground floor porch, large first floor terrace, perfect for alfresco dining.
Secure private gates to just 9 houses
Sunny rear decking and glass walled living area letting the outside in!
Time to relax at Sunnybank Lodge.
First floor front decking for alfresco dining
Step from the kitchen out onto the front balcony and enjoy breakfast in the morning sun.
dual aspect from front to rear decking.
Spacious modern kitchen with all mod cons, double oven, microwave, hob, fridge freezer.
Open plan living
dual aspect through the first floor.
Solid Oak large dining table, perfect for entertaining. Seating for 10.
multiple seating options to maximise social times and those views
Bright and flexible living space with westerly views over Swillbrook Nature Reserve.
spacious seating area around the woodburner
2nd floor mezzanine relaxing area overlooking the lounge below and elevated views out to the lake.
Spacious 2nd floor king size master with en suite & integral sound system
Spacious 2nd floor bedroom, double wardrobe, sound system and en-suite shower room.
Ground floor king size master with en suite
Ground floor en-suite high quality bathroom, underfloor heating, huge double shower.
Spacious Triple room, with wardrobes, TV and patio doors to rear decking
Ground floor twin room, comfortable beds, shuttered window to front of property.
South facing outside dining and seating, overlooking the lake
Just one of the many uninterrupted views across Swillbrook Lake.
Go for a stroll on the 550 acre private estate.
Sit back and enjoy the wonderful sunsets over Swillbrook Lake.
Have a workout in the Artspa gym before taking a plunge in the 2 heated swimming pools .
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 9
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Rojam3
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic House in Idyllic Location”
Reviewed 2 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We love Lower Mill Estate and have holidayed there several times - each in a different house. This was by far our favourite house. We felt very secure in the gated Orchid Village and the views were the best we have ever seen - situated on a lake without houses all the way around made a huge difference. The middle floor had the lounge and kitchen with a large TV and entertainment system, fire for cold nights and 2 balconies for better weather.

Every home comfort was provided and we especially liked the sound system throughout the house. This house is perfect whether you have small children or not. We were also very impressed with the organisation of the owner and immediate response from the housekeeper / property manager when contacted.

The Spa is brilliant although we really wish they would extend the hours the pool and facilities are open and look at making the changing areas larger with more showers.

We ate at the on-site restaurant which was great and the play area was perfect for the kids.

I highly recommend this house and Lower Mill Estate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
400mark16...
Brackley, United Kingdom
1 review
“As good a winter holiday in the uk you could ever wish for! Superb!”
Reviewed 5 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

I booked directly for my extended family for the week after Christmas including new year. The house is amazing...spacious, modern,light, and with a layout that suited a huge age range. Oldies sat in front of the fire by night and by day admiring superb views, King fishers in the morning. The Little ones found nooks to play games and entertain themselves while still being under a watchful eye... With the big glass spaces and covered balconys ... With wind and rain lashed all week bar the first and last day we..it did not seem to matter,.
The kids cycled safety every day in the secure environment to the pool where on several occasions we had all the facilities on offer to ourselves.. Amazing!!I just don't get it .. The rest of the time I could not describe it as busy. The layout at the spa pools are great... Read the info.. It is all true! Perhaps the reed bed plung pool is a touch cooler than I expected... But such fun! Other pools are warm and clean, sauna and steam rooms rarely full and all included in this booking.
Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is hard to say as so many good points
Liked least: Nothing... Oh (the grandparents got a bit lost on the final leg because of the dual carriage.. Directions for those who won't use a sat nav need to be tweaked a little.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marym1328
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house in great location with everything you need”
Reviewed 14 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

I found Sunnybank Lodge quite by accident via the Internet. Of course that has it's risks especially as I didn't really know the area but I thought it looks ok and there's a swimming pool, tennis courts and canoing so contacted the owner via email. From initial contact the service and response was excellent, I chatted to the owner and thought Nice Guy. I wasn't really sure what to expect of the house though of course it looked "nice" from the photos. Nice is an understatement. It is absolutely lovely and ideally I'd like to swap my place for this
one :-). Furnished to a high standard with everything you could possibly need for a week with 3 other adults to attend son's wedding -I'd brought hangers but they were also provided, I'd brought hairdryers (no need), torch (no need) etc etc. The kitchen is large with a large fridge freezer, very well equipped, the beds are extremely comfortable and everything was in perfect order. The helpful folder explaining everything was useful especially the internet access (kids cant live without the internet apparently). Stunning views from the living room over a lake, the balconies were great places to sit and relax and enjoy the sunny weather. There is building going on a little way down from where we are but that wasn't a problem. The Estate staff were all very very helpful, the pool was a nice place to go toto cool off though because of the wedding stuff we had to do we didn't get to use it a great deal. Tennis courts looked great, signs for where to hire the bikes and canoes were on the estate. I even inquired about buying a place there - again very helpful - just the lottery numbers need to come up now!!!
Highly highly recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hard to say, all of it!!
Liked least: Leaving!!
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheila H
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This house works really well for a mixed family group”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We spent a family weekend at Sunnybank Lodge and found it a perfect place to enjoy with a mixed age group. As grandparents we particularly appreciated the layout. We basked in luxury on the top floor, two floors away from parents and young children on the ground floor whose accomodation was also very comfortable. All the fittings and fixtures were of the highest quality, loads of room in the fridge and generally very spacious with lovely outdoor spaces for relaxing with good views over the lake. Unfortunately it rained for half our weekend but we all repaired to the swimming pools and spa. We loved the Miss Mouse treasure trail and were very impressed to find real treasure in the hidden boxes. I would definitely recommend this house to families wanting to holiday at the Lower Mill Estate

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jim M
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely and hospitable for a family Christmas in a beautiful area.”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

A beautiful house with more than enough room for us (4 adults and a baby). The house is secure in an estate, relatively quiet but very friendly in the winter. The view out the back over the lake is stunning, west facing over the lake for bird-watching and sunset gazing. The kitchen and living areas are very well equipped and the bedrooms clean and comfortable. From the front door, nature trails, woodland walks and the Thames Path are all within easy walking distance. Our christmas celebrations were made more special by the generous welcome and bountiful decorations. An extraordinarily pleasant break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing