We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect honeymoon retreat!”
other travellers have booked this property
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden Lovely garden seating
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
Picture postcard thatched cottage in a pretty village
Secluded private garden
Lovely garden seating
Open country views
Velvet sofas, low lighting and a log stove. Very cosy!
Dining area
A perfect bathroom with luxury toiletries
Lots of interesting designer touches
Luxury bed under the 17th century beams
Hand built kitchen with high quality equipment
Vintage china, crystal glasses, bone handled knives and silver plate cutlery
Red Arrows flying during Kemble airshow
The cottage viewed from the wild garden in the orchard
The thyme & lavender footpath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Laura C
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect honeymoon retreat!”
Reviewed 27 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

This little gem was everything we wanted for our honeymoon cottage and more. The location is lovely and peaceful, backing onto open countryside down a quiet lane. Unfortunately we visited in October and didn't get to enjoy the beautiful garden as much as we could have. On a warm evening it would be perfect to sit out on the luxurious furniture with a glass of wine, looking out over the fields.

Inside, the cottage was just as delightful. Everything of the highest quality and spotlessly clean. A highlight was the wonderful wood burner, although the heating was great and we were never cold even though it was chilly outside. Upstairs was just as much character, and the most gorgeous bathtub imaginable.

We just adored this little cottage and will definitely be returning. I could write an essay about it and not do it justice. So I will end the review by saying that staying at Asphodel Cottage is like visiting a fairytale. A dream cottage. Simply could not recommend it enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very hard to choose one thing! The character perhaps.
Liked least: Really could not find fault.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
So pleased that you had a lovely stay and we hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BizMan15
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A proper beau cottage”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic stay at this thatched cottage in Tarlton. Beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. The only thing that wasn't beautiful is me but luckily my girlfiend is.
It has one large room downstairs which is the kitchen / living room and then 2 rooms upstairs which is the bedroom and bathroom. Adorned in artwork and lovely looking antique items, it feels proper 5 star when you walk inside. It is so homely and relaxing so the perfect place to stay to unwind, recharge and forget about work, stress etc

Tarlton is a great location. Nearest pub is 1 mile away. Nearest supermarket is in Cirencester about 4 miles away although nearest shop is about 2 miles. Easy to get to lovely villages like Bibury, Lacock and Castle Coombe which are highly recommened to visit

If you are looking to stay in this wonderful cottage then:
1. Remember why you are there - To relax and get away from your usual life. Some people may get a shock when they see the TV is upstairs in the bedroom and not downstairs in the living room but does that really matter? Surely you are not there to watch TV?
2. Cooker - When you read the visitors book at the cottage there are comments in there about the cooker being a nightmare to use. However these are unfair as it is clear from what they have written that these people didn't read the instructions. If you read the simple instructions then it is easy enough. I felt sorry for the owners really as they have got negative comments about something which is the users fault not the owners.

We had a fantastic time here and I would highly recommend it to anyone and everyone

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Thanks for your lovely review. Glad you had an excellent stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
243bam
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing cottage!”
Reviewed 22 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Just got back from a short stay, it was perfect!
The cottage is warm and cosy with a log fire. We had a lovely arrival hamper.
The cottage is decorated to high standard and there is everything you need ! Great location only 4 miles from Cirencester and miles from tetbury. Great local pub just down the road.
It's the perfect place for a peaceful break.
Will definitely recommend you won't be disappointed!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jan 2015
Very pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
188CassyL
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Stunning”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

A beautiful cottage with a tasteful and homely interior with character. The garden is also beautifully kept with further outside furnishings to enjoy the wonderful view in comfort.
A peaceful location with easy access to a variety of places of interest.
It was difficult to leave.
I would say that the stairs take some concentration as they are a bit slippy and steep. This is of course all part of the character of the building.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burner
Liked least: The stairs are a bit slippy but just take a little concentration - it is the character of the building.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hockneyho...
North Wales
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A real chocolate box cottage”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

What a lovely 5 days we have had in a beautifully appointed cottage. It is in a very peaceful village surrounded by fields of yellow rape seed flower and perfect for those who like peace and quiet away from the crowds. The thatch makes it so inviting and once inside you will not be disappointed with its layout and the owners thought of making it cosy. There is a pub within walking distance that does evening meals should you choose and the reviews in the guest book read very well. Although there is lovely garden space to use we only managed a quick half-hour before sunset, lovely space though to unwind with a drink or two.
Overall it was a great stay and would recommend to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Wi-fi not working
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing