We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal for group get togethers”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
Master on suite bedoom with lake views
Outdoor spa with extensive decking area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tinacase
Fleet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ideal for group get togethers”
Reviewed 12 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We were a group of 8 friends getting together before Christmas and this property was ideal for our needs. The property manager advised us that there were larger 4 bedroom properties with more bedroom space but they only had 3 bathrooms. We wanted a bathroom for each couple so even though the smallest bedroom was tiny it suited us for a short stay. The kitchen was well equiped and we enjoyed the log burner which made the lounge christmassy and cosy. Nice walks around the lakes. The park is in a good position to explore the lovely villages in the Cotswolds and there are a number of good pubs within a short taxi ride.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura K
Stoney Stanton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic place and house”
Reviewed 18 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I booked two properties on this estate for a family get together for my daughter's first birthday and we had a fantastic time. Number 48 Howells mere was spotlessly clean, spacious and very well equipped. The property looks exactly like the website photographs and the views were stunning. Our party was made up of multi generational family members ranging from 1 year old to 65 years old and the property and the estate itself fits perfectly regardless of age. We used the playground, restaurant and swimming pool and found all facilities to be excellent. Our party had four young children and we felt extremely safe walking around the estate as it's so spaced out, site security is excellent, car usage is discouraged and all the staff are so friendly. The restaurant is reasonably priced although we mainly self catered as can very easily get supermarket delivery to the estate. My only advise would be to take a torch as there is little light around outside once it goes dark, which is fantastic for relaxing and an excellent nights sleep, but my husband had difficulties going for a walk around the lakes one evening with just a phone torch!! The property company were fantastic and very helpful. I had rang them before booking to find out which property would suit our party best and they could advise me perfectly. They also gave me lots of useful information on the estate, the house's amenities and the local area. They also do not charge you any hidden charges at all, which is something we discovered alot with other rental companies working on this estate. I enquired after alot of the properties on lower mill estate and this one was extremely competitively priced. They also allowed us to enter the property early on our arrival date and leave later on the departure date for no extra charge. We will definitely return to the estate again and will definitely book this property and with this property company again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynn w
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely weekend in the Cotswolds”
Reviewed 29 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a very enjoyable weekend at Howells Mere 48. The house is set in an estate with everything you need. A restaurant, a small shop, tennis courts, spa with pools and children's play parks.
The house was very well equipped, clean and tidy, with enough space for our family of 4 adults and 4 children.
The booking process is very easy with detailed local info on the area and easy to follow directions to the house.
We would recommend the house, estate and Cotswolds Spa Holidays who we booked through and will be returning in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 February 2016 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having 3 bathrooms and an en suite shower.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thewellco...
Malvern, England
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Not up to Standard”
Reviewed 19 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

It took 2 days of a 4 day holiday before a temporary repair could be made to 2 beds whose slats had fallen through resulting in occupants having to sleep on the floor. Plumbing was also a problem with a clogged drain on a shower and 3 baths that took 20 minutes to fill !!
The bedrooms are hopelessly small for the beds in them (except the double on the top floor) and in one room it is impossible to open the bathroom door fully. The beds are very uncomfortable with wooden edges on them. The inventory is quite extensive but there are no cereal bowls, only soup bowls. also only 5 water glasses for 8 people with 3 pint glasses.There are no kitchen steps to reach the top shelves of the cupboards.
The so called ArtSpa is OK but not as super as it's description - we could not get access to the adults only hour at 7.05pm and there is no supervision to stop children under 14 using the sauna and steam room. And considering the massive amount of houses on the complex, one very small shop and cafe seems hopelessly inadequate.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being with our extended family. for a special birthday celebration.
Liked least: Very uncomfortable beds, two of which were broken.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review. Our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the moving bed slats.

The day you arrived was the first time that we attempted the repair as the guests who departed that day emailed us in the afternoon kindly advising us of the issue.

With limited materials that we had available at such a short notice we attempted the repair which sadly did not hold out.
We were not aware of any issues with the double bed till you advised me.

In fact your son has placed a separate review and commented that he was pleased with the effort made to fix the beds and whist I understand that it disappointing that the first repair did not work we dealt with the issue in a timely manner.

Again apologies for the slow drainage of the shower that my husband fixed as soon as we were notified.

I am glad to hear that you found kitchen well fitted out, we never anticipated that having your breakfast cereal from a soup ball would cause a problem. We replenished all the glasses and had set of 10,sadly on the same day change over this was overlooked as guests did not report the breakages, sorry we do not provide kitchen steps, in all the years we have been renting we never had any issues.
Spa is an outstanding on site facility bringing hours of joy and relaxation to adults and children, if the spa is overcrowded then for heath and safety reasons access may be delayed. Spa is advertised as unsupervised and parents are expected to control children.This comment was place by your son in a separate review “We had an enjoyable time together as a family and especially enjoyed the spa with the kids who liked (for some masochistic reason) using the sauna then jumping straight into the freezing cold eco pool outside!" Sadly rules are not always followed.

The on site shop and café is a small facility, we advise all our clients after they booked to utilise the services of supermarket deliveries or take advantage of an on site restaurant that you can book in advance of your arrival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing