We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great family holiday!”
The stunning architect designed Osprey Lodge holiday villa, set lakeside on the Clearwater Lake
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The stunning architect designed Osprey Lodge holiday villa, set lakeside on the Clearwater Lake
Osprey was a former show home for the estate and is a large one off bespoke property Access to the Osprey Villa is via your very own private footbridge (child safe)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
The stunning architect designed Osprey Lodge holiday villa, set lakeside on the Clearwater Lake
Osprey was a former show home for the estate and is a large one off bespoke property
Access to the Osprey Villa is via your very own private footbridge (child safe)
The tranquil and beautiful Clearwater Lake is the setting for Osprey Lodge
Your very own private hot tub, heated to a toasty 40 degrees year round - Relax and enjoy !
Open plan lounge area, complete with panoramic glazing to beautifully frame the views
Osprey Lodge holiday villa was a former show home of the Lower Mill and is simply stunning
Spacious designer kitchen, with all mod cons and breakfast bar with views along the lake
Separate dining area, set lakeside, with far reaching views across the picturesque Clearwater Lake
Alfresco Dining on the private terrace, a real room with a view !
Master bedroom suite with ensuite bathroom and magnificent elevated views across the lake
One of the two twin bedrooms, set at the front of the house with large panoramic window
Second twin bedroom, again, at the front of the house
Osprey Lodge - 4 x Bedroom holiday villa located on the Lower Mill Estate,  Ground Floor
Osprey Lodge - 4 x Bedroom holiday villa located on the Lower Mill Estate,  First Floor
Welcome to the stunning onsite Luxury Spa, just a few minutes walk from your holiday villa...
Gin clear water & stunning views across the nature reserve from the HEATED indoor pool
The beautiful Welsh slate lined, heated, indoor swimming pool at the Luxury Spa complex
A swim with a view – all round panoramic glazing & double height aspect. Simply stunning!
Swim with the frogs ! – The private eco-pool, what a blast, just has to be experienced !
Close up shot of the outdoor plunge pool - The UK's only eco pool
The beautiful slate lined outdoor HEATED swimming pool at the Luxury Spa Complex
The fantastic Luxury Spa facility, at night time, complete with an amazing heated outdoor pool
Beautiful jade green Welsh slate lined HEATED indoor pool, with views across the nature reserve
The newly constructed outdoor children's play area - Just a few minutes walk from your villa
The fantastic brand new Balihoo onsite Restaurant and Club House, now fully open to all guests
Fully licensed bar at the recently opened Balihoos Clubhouse and Restaurant - Cheers !
Hand crafted locally brewed craft beers and ciders, now being served at the new Balihoos Clubhouse
The scrumptious Bali Burger - Now being served in the new Clubhouse and  Restaurant
Handmade freshly stone baked pizza - Available at the new Balihoos Clubhouse and Restaurant
Delicious selection of locally made cakes and pastries, great with a freshly brewed coffee
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cirencester, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Janewashe...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warning - they still owe us money”
Reviewed 13 February 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Nice house. Won't stay there again as the owner has refused to refund us the money for the BBQ they charged to our account (we did not request it - it was December) and for the Wii that we asked for which was unusable (apparently you are supposed to bring your own games when you hire a Wii!!). It isn't a great deal of money but because of this, the owner knows we won't do anything about it, and he will get away with it.

There are plenty of lovely houses on Lower Mill Estate, but I won't be booking anything with this owner ever again. It will be a lesson to me to pay by cheque and never give anyone my credit card details if I can help it.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2013
Thank you for the comments about the house and we are sorry to hear that you feel that we still owe you a refund.

We are slightly perplexed by the two stars rating of your holiday, not withstanding your comments about the refund, as you email us after you holiday to say that you had and I quote; “We're back from a lovely week at Lower Mill Estate. It was fantastic and we enjoyed every minute of it.. the house was superb...”. This email was sent by you on the Friday 4.1.13 at 16:02.

Now to the issue of the refund. We can confirm that the refund for the BBQ was made in full to your card, as requested on the day that you made the request, please can you recheck with your card issuer and you will see that the refund was made some time ago. We are sorry that you appear to have missed it.

The items were ordered by yourself at the time of booking and was clearly shown on your invoice, 2 months before your stay. It was only after your stay that the invoice was queried and we responded the same day. We did not hear know about the missing game for the Wii until your return, had we known during your stay, we would have gone out and purchased a new game for you to use, we can only assume that the game must have been “misappropriated” by one of the previous guests. We are sorry that we did not notice that the game was actually missing, this was an oversight on our behalf, please accept our apologies if any inconvenience was caused.

We have invested multiple millions of pounds over the last 9 years, on our collection of unique holiday villas on the estate and customer service is of the upmost importance to us. To date we have accommodated over 22,000 guests and we have never failed in our contractual obligations and would never dream of doing so.

We offer our apologies once again for any inconvenience caused and offer our reassurance to any future guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jon H
Guildford
1 review
“A great family holiday!”
Reviewed 26 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We stayed at Osprey lodge in November 2012 for a week. Our group comprised 3 adults and 4 young children. Overall we had a fantastic holiday. Having been to Lower Mill before we knew that the on-site facilities were excellent. We were in the pool and spa every day. The children's play areas were great. Best of all was the opportunity for the kids to ride their bicycles everywhere with very limited traffic. Farm shop also is good, although would be good to have a wider selection of fresh meat and veg.
Osprey Lodge itself was exactly as expected. We had everything we needed. We did not need to bring anything at all except food. The Lodge is spacious, with a wonderful main bedroom. The best part for us was definitely the large open plan area. The children were able to play happily and safely whilst the adults were relaxing.
Overall the standard is very good and the specification high. You should not go expecting it to be in line with 5 star hotels inside, but having stayed in many nice places it's certainly not too far away.
We would certainly return and have already recommended to a couple of families we know.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Open plan area
Liked least: Lack of mirrors
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JamesMay7...
1 review
“Great modern family accommodation in lovely surroundings”
Reviewed 13 November 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We had a great stay at Osprey Lodge.

We felt it was very well equipped, modern, clean, spacious and very child friendly.

We were greeted on arrival by Jamie, a friendly host who was helpful and provided information on local restaurants and activities.

The estate was lovely including a spa within walking distance which had a swlimming pool which was great for the kids.

There was a well stocked shop on site and the local pub, the Bakers Arms, was child friendly and served good pub food.

All in all a great family holiday which we would definitely recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynnos
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Certainly not luxury!”
Reviewed 1 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

I have recently returned from an 11 night stay at the Osprey Lodge (Sept 2012) at Lower Mill estate.

Having stayed in numerous lodges around the country since having a family I have to say we were somewhat disappointed with the Osprey Lodge. The website advertises 'Luxury Holidays' yet we found this lodge to be lacking in several areas. My first complaint is the fact that the details contained in the lodge brochure were inaccurate. The welcome pack which was emailed to me states the ground floor has two double bedrooms with ensuite bath/shower, twin bedroom, family bathroom and a utility room. This was not the case. All bedrooms were on the first floor and there was no utility room!
The pack continues to describe the first floor with open-plan luxury living/dining room with floor to ceiling windows, well-equipped kitchen and a further double bedroom with bunk beds. Again, not the case.

The kitchen was far from being 'well-equipped' and certainly did not provide utensils/crockery expected in luxury accommodation. Most of the pots had handles which were loose and rather dangerous to use, they were badly scratched and still had remnants of the previous visitors meal! We had to wash all the glasses and pots before we used them. There was a teapot which held enough tea for 3 cups and a lid that didn't close- how is this sufficient for a lodge catering for 8 people. There wasn't a sieve or a pyrex jug or even a matching dinner set.The ovenware was filthy and we actually had to purchase our own whilst on holiday. On arrival we discovered the kettle was broken. We were provided with another one from another lodge however this did not have a filter on the spout which ment we had lumps of limescale in drinks etc. There were shelves missing from the fridge which reduced the amount of storage within it, again not ideal for a lodge catering for 8 people.

The living space/kitchen/dining areas were nice. Although the space and furnishings were pleasant, we were disappointed with the greasy hand prints across the windows, the dust on the blinds, the spiderwebs and squashed bugs across the walls and ceilings. Shortly after arriving we discovered the Bose ipod docking station was broken. . When trying to settle the children with a cartoon on tv, we discovered batteries were missing from the remote controls- this was also reported but we never received new ones. We had also requested wifi broadband during our stay which wasprovided free of charge (normally a fee). I have to say I would have complained if I had paid for this as it was ridiculously slow and made it very frustrating to use.

When we walked out onto the decked area on the ground floor we were once again disappointed as it looked like it hadn't been used all summer. The deck had not been swept, the doors were surrounded by spiderwebs and bugs, the glass partition had not been cleaned, the 'luxury' table was dirty and the bean bags and hammock were in need of a good scrub.There was suppose to be 'funky swinging chairs' on the balcony and a fire pit, but we couldn't find these. The luxury hot tub advertised on the website has clearly seen better days. The guest manager clearly did not know how to operate it and proceeded to soak one of my daughters as the so called 'water feature' was broken. He explained that there wasn't a lid for the hot tub which ment whenever we wanted to use it we had to scoop out the bugs. It also took 6 days before it reached 40 degrees- I can't believe they charge people for such a product and thankful I didn't pay for it. The 'uplighting' installed in the decking was broken also.

The first floor continued to disappoint as there was no shower in the master ensuite, the balcony was dirty, covered in spiderwebs, clearly not cleaned prior to our arrival. The outdoor sofa was damp and mouldy. The shower heads were dirty and required cleaning before use, they were also loose and poorly fitted. The website states the bathrooms are fitted with Villeroy and Boch sanitary ware, this is not true , they are fitted with Sottini sanitary ware, not that I care but why say it if it is not true. There was no family bathroom, only a shower room. There was slow drainage in one of the sinks which required chemical treatment. We were disappointed in the lack of storage in the second double bedroom, as there were no drawers or surfaces to utilise, but I suppose this was down to the design of the building. The balcony off the second bedroom was empty and uninviting. The welcome pack states 'luxury bedding'- we found the pillows were extremely flat with no extras available. The blinds in the master bedroom, and twin room did not open or close properly. There was a severe lack of mirrors in the lodge. For those that are vertically challenged, the bathroom mirrors were inadequate and with all the prints/artwork hanging on the walls throughout the lodge, it seems strange that no-one thought to hang some mirrors especially for your female guests.

The travel cots that they charge customers for both had broken bases which ment that I had to make my own mattresses with the single duvets from spare beds.

I don't normally complain about things such as the above. In fact I tend to laugh when I read someone complaining about hotel pillows on trip advisor but I was really looking forward to this holiday as it looked so luxurious online. Frankly, I was glad to come home.

The estate is beautiful as is the surrounding area and the spa is a haven with fantastic treatments.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The area
Liked least: The lodge
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2012
We are genuinely sorry that this party appeared to have not enjoyed their break at Osprey Lodge, however we feel we must point out that a number of the points that they raise are rather unfair and a number of issues that quite simply put, are I am afraid inaccurate.

We respectfully provide the following response to the points raised in this review.

The guest’s booking was problematic from the start, with the guest struggling somewhat with the email communications and the pre arrival paperwork - they seemed to really struggle with the pre arrival paperwork and in particular accessing their emails and it soon became obvious that the guests were getting more and more frustrated. Matters were then further compounded by the payment for their holiday being declined and it was some time before the guests were able to honour the payment. This did understandably lead to some awkwardness and once again some frustration on behalf of the guests.

Welcome Pack:

We fully acknowledge the guests comments regarding the welcome pack. The guests were initially sent the wrong welcome pack, originally having been sent the welcome pack for a completely different lodge. This was entirely our mistake and we do apologise unreservedly for this error and any inconvenience it may have caused. However, this was spotted the day after the booking was made, when the guests telephoned us to make us aware of the inaccuracies and we subsequently forwarded them the correct welcome pack. Once the situation was explained to the guests and the correct welcome pack sent over to them, they appeared more than happy and did not let us know of any further concerns or problems. All information on our website, brochures + welcome packs and the lodge’s description on this website are 100% accurate and correct.

Hot Tub:

With regards the hot tub, we are somewhat surprised at the guest’s comments, as the tub was actually out of commission during their stay, pending the delivery + installation of a new cover. This was very clearly pointed out to them prior to arrival and once again on actual arrival and is confirmed by the fact that they never actually even booked the tub and were of course where accordingly not charged for it. The water most certainly would have got cold, as it should not have even been switched on, let alone used !

The new cover is now fully fitted (17.9.12), the tub working at 100% “happiness levels” and guests are able to once again soak away whilst enjoying the truly unique views across the nature reserve and the Clearwater Lake. Bliss !

Kitchen:

One again we are at a bit of a loss, as the guests never made us aware of any problems or frustrations during the full duration of their stay. When our guest relations manager periodically checked in with the gusts during the week (which he did on at least 5 separate occasions, if you include the times he bumbled into them in the ArtSpa facility) - they unanimously informed him that everything was OK and never mentioned a single problem, or frustration!

None of the issues listed were aver raised with our onsite Guest Relations Manger and as such, we were not ever aware of any problems, until after the guests had vacated the property. We were therefore never given a chance to respond to any “problems” or concerns, which is a shame, as if there were any issues we would have acted promptly and professionally to resolve them, to the complete satisfaction of the guests.

We consider the kitchen to be more than more than adequately equipped, although one should take this in the context of the property being a holiday home and perhaps a comparison with ones own home where you would more than likely have specialised equipment, is perhaps not a fair one. We have hosted in excess of 1,500 guests in Osprey Lodge to date and have never had a single complaint.

We also tested the iPod docking station, TV remote control and broadband and all were and are, working completely fine. Again, we can only wander why the guests did not bring these matters to our attention during their stay and if a problem had been discovered, or perhaps an issue with operator error, then we could had and would have acted to resolve the problem to the guests complete satisfaction.

We have however now invested in a new jumbo tea pot and very much look forward to some super size brews in the near future!

Decking Area:

The decking area is regularly power washed and was last given a good old blast in the June of this year and as far as we can see looks in great shape and without issue. During this time of year (Autumn) there might well be some leafs on the deck itself, but certainly nothing that would constitute a problem and being located on a nature reserve and next to a lake, we do sometimes have to make allowances for some overly zealous spiders, spinning their webs. That said, all of our outdoor decking areas are regularly treated with environmentally friendly pesticides which does seem to keep things well under control and again, we have never received a single other complaint to date.

Travel Cots:

Sadly we are unable to provide mattresses for the travel cots that we supply, due to obvious health and safety considerations, this is clearly indentified to all guest at the time of booking. No issues with the bases of any of the cots was discovered, but we did notice that the cot had not been correctly assembled. Had the guest bought any difficulty or concern to our attention, then we would have happily assisted with the assembly of the cot. Once gain, we are somewhat bemused as to why the guest did not flag any problem during their stay.

Other “Problems"

We have investigated the alleged problem with the showers, but could not detect any problem what so ever, they were and are in perfect working order. Likewise the bedding/pillows, which are all from John Lewis and of a high quality.

We did notice a problem with the bedroom blind and have subsequently ordered a replacement, although we must point out that although damaged by the previous guests, did still work. The window in question also benefits from having a roller black out blind which is fitted behind the slatted roman blind, providing total a blackout.

The sanitary ware is indeed provided by Sottini, a high quality luxury designer sanity manufacturer and not Villeroy & Boch, as indicated in the incorrect welcome pack that was originally sent over in error. This is clearly described + noted inline with the description on our own website, this listing on Holiday Lettings, and all brochures/welcome packs, all of which are 100% accurate. We certainly did not and have not ever “lied” about any aspect of the property of its fixtures and fittings, but do concede that as already pointed out, that the incorrect welcome pack was originally dispatched. Please do accept our sincere apologies for this mistake.

Conclusion:

We have clearly not lived up to this guests expectations and for that we are genuinely sorry.

We would however respectfully point out, that we do disagree with a number of the comments raise in this review and it is a material fact that some of the comments are quite simply factually incorrect.

We would like to reassure all potential guests that we take our customer services responsibilities and our guest comfort and satisfaction, incredibly seriously indeed. Quite simply put, we either live or die on our reputation and having invested multiple million pounds on the estate to date, we are more aware than most of the importance of meeting guests expectations. We have to date welcomed in excess of 7,000 guests to our collection of luxury properties and we very much look forward to welcoming many more. Perhaps we could also respectfully point put that we have in excess of 165+ guest reviews on our website, endorsing both the holiday properties themselves and our very high levels of service.

As you will from other guest reviews on this site and our own website, Osprey Lodge is a very popular and much loved holiday villa and should you have any questions or concerns at all, then we would be delighted to speak with you in person.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing