We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Generally good gallery”

The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum
Ranked #8 of 48 things to do in Cheltenham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Four new floors house extensive galleries for temporary exhibitions - for international / national touring shows, special highlights from our collections and fun shows for families - space to discover local heroes and archive collections, including the great Edward Wilson (one of Scott's key men on his 1912 expedition to Antarctica), and a new gallery space in which the internationally renowned Arts & Crafts collection will be shown.
Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

Really enjoyed the paintings and some of the more historical sections (Romans’) etc there is a fairly large emphasis on brown furniture and arts and crafts which I wasn’t interested in. Worth a look though and it’s free

Date of experience: November 2018
1  Thank 92glennw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (393)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"local history"
in 16 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 9 reviews
"antarctic explorer"
in 5 reviews
"furniture collection"
in 4 reviews
"wide range of exhibits"
in 4 reviews
"excellent cafe"
in 6 reviews
"worth a visit"
in 19 reviews
"an eclectic mix"
in 4 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 13 reviews
"free entry"
in 6 reviews
"two hours"
in 6 reviews
"cake"
in 7 reviews
"centre of town"
in 4 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 4 reviews
"guild"
in 9 reviews
"pottery"
in 8 reviews
"movement"
in 17 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2018

I was pleasantly surprised as this is a well set out museum and gallery with a great deal of interesting local and broader history and paintings. I particularly enjoyed the archive area with a special WWI exhibition. Excellent for Arts and Crafts for which The Cotswolds is well known. Visit and donate to keep this place running. Children's area. Good cafe too.

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank Bookbag123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2018

Really interesting art gallery and museum and welcoming staff. Great bonus to the city center and escape from the bustle of the nearby shops. Very relaxing atmosphere. Café had very helpful staff but limited menu so a bit disappointing.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank 377Rosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2018

Had a good repeat visit the Wilson today,always a pleasure as there is so much to see.The place is like a tardis,you keep going from one interesting room to another and another and another.Wonderful displays of paintings,furniture and porcelain.Brilliant.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Front Office Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Fantastic to hear that you are a repeat visitor we really do appreciate the support. Our building has three stages, the first section holding our museums collections opened in 1907, the arts & crafts section opened in 1989 and the new part of the building holding the art galleries opened in 2014 leading to our unique layout. So you are right in your tardis analogy as it literally represents over a hundred years of growth. Thank you for taking the time to post feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 14 October 2018

A quirky free museum with a lot of history. Great shop and cafe and an eclectic mix of artifacts. I liked the paintings

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank BazRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham T, Front Office Manager at The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Our museum collections display has been called quirky by many a visitor and we take it as a compliment so thank you for taking the time to visit, we really appreciate it and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Wilson, Cheltenham Art Gallery & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing