We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent - a quite unique place to stay and to...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Dovecote

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Dovecote The Dovecote
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
The Dovecote
The Dovecote
View of house
Kitchen area
Dining area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Lounge area
Main kingsize bedroom
Main kingsize bedroom
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Second bedroom with double and single bed
Bathroom with bath and overhead shower
View over duck pond
Seating area overlooking duck pond
View of house
View from seating area
Outside the house
The Dovecote
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Cheltenham, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sir John...
2 reviews
“Excellent - a quite unique place to stay and to relax.”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We missed out on the superb welcoming cake, which so many guests comment on, because the owners were on holiday themselves. We had had a long journey from France and would really have appreciated finding a bottle of milk in the fridge so that we could have made a cup of tea. As it was, the first thing we had to do was go out again to find a supermarket. This apart. it was a brilliant place to stay and we will certainly hope to visit again in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peaceful location overlooking a duck pond.
Liked least: Lack of a welcoming basket.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Glad you enjoyed your stay. sorry about the milk - we do detail what is included at the house. Sorry you had to go out again on arrival!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jodie W
1 review
“wonderful”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

wonderful little spot, everything you need. no more no less (could of done with a caffetierre)
The setting is perfect for warmer evenings, al fresco. Helen was super helpful and a pleasure to deal with. 10am kick out on a Sunday is a bit harsh. Adorable feature property upstairs.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: setting
Liked least: check out time
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Aug 2015
Hi - glad you enjoyed your stay. There is a cafetiere in the cupboard so sorry you didn't find it! Re check out time, I always try and be flexible on these but when we have back to back bookings, I need to allow time to clean and prepare the house for the next guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
X2166HMma...
Ashtead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A perfect stay.”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Had a lovely short stay in this great cottage. Pretty, well equipped
and great location. Will return!!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammac15
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A little sanctuary”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Beautifully peaceful place. Just what we needed after 2 full on week's travelling around. Duck pond right outside the door of the Dovecote provided hours of entertainment for everyone. So much wildlife to see there. Grabbed a glass of wine and just sat and soaked it all in. The Dovecote is well equipped, clean and very close to Tewksbury and Cheltenham. Stow and Bourton were an easy and scenic drive away. Farm Shop within walking distance, providing local produce and lots of big supermarkets with close driving distance. This is a quirky little place which we have loved relaxing in. Yummy cake provided on arrival too!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona S
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful Dovecote”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A delightful, modernised dovecote in peaceful surroundings next to a duck pond. Absolutely idyllic and perfect for a weekend or a week's getaway. A unique property - very homely with everything you could want in a holiday let. Very comfy beds. The owner gave us a terrific cake which we enjoyed over the few days we were there. Easy reach of great pubs and Tewkesbury itself which is a beautiful town full of history. Lots to do in the area and definitely an area we would go back to. We were there during the Medieval festival which was great fun and had a wonderful atmosphere. Everyone was very friendly and helpful. Highly recommended property, modern ,comfortable and homely too. What a treat we had.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Unique comfortable property in great location. Perfect
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jul 2015
Thanks for your review - so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Dovecote.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing