We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere but food needs attention”

The Ivy Montpellier Brasserie
Reserve with OpenTable
The Ivy Montpellier Brasserie is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #93 of 502 Restaurants in Cheltenham
Restaurant details
Reviewed 6 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely place and attentive staff. I’ve been a few times for brunch and dinner and have been a little disappointed and don’t think it matches its sister stores. Twice, I’ve had brown avocado served for brunch and I’ve been a little underwhelmed.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank hannahmonro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

362 - 366 of 649 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, attentive service and delicious food. Reasonably priced too. Highly recommend the coconut yoghurt with fresh fruit and the eggs royal.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank JOK68A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

I’ve been to the Ivy in London and Edinburgh on a number of occasions and always had a first class experience but my first visit to the Cheltenham branch was disappointing

Building and location are great but the staff and food was very average, staff were unwilling to deviate from the menu when I asked for a side dish that wasn’t listed - it was for some vegetables which were served with other dishes but weren’t listed as a side. Other branches have previously said “let me ask the chef” and they always deliver, Cheltenham staff were of the opinion you can only have food exactly as it appears on the menu, not prepared to ask the chef

Minor point I know but it set the scene for the service all evening - food was also put in front of the wrong people and cutlery didn’t match the food served, no bread offered etc

If this was a normal priced chain restaurant it would have been a 5* but I expect more from the Ivy brand

Date of visit: April 2018
2  Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

This was our first visit to The Ivy and we will certainly be back. A little expensive for casual lunch but excellent value for a special meal. The food and wine were both very good.

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018 via mobile

Love the building with the glass dome in the centre, that area is best for supper and sipping cocktails. The little booths are more suited to brunch or lunch. Full of pictures of racing horses obviously...the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. The food has always been very good but beware the old 'specials' trick.. steak you say... lovely, we will have that .. only to discover it was £36..each just for that!! Gulp! But I swallowed it down as I wasn't paying the bill!!! Steak was extremely succulent and melted away and for people with tons of money am sure they wouldn't blink at the price so just letting the less well off know to check the price of the 'specials'. That said, have loved it the 4 times I have visited, for a set price girlie lunch it was ideal and keeping mother happy over brunch!! All in all, can't fault it x happy eating xx

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank andreajane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy Montpellier Brasserie also viewed

 
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
Cheltenham, Cotswolds
 

Been to The Ivy Montpellier Brasserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing