We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in great location”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
English first
Keith M
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great location”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in November 2016
people found this review helpful

The cottage is less than 2 minutes walk into the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water, so really convenient for getting to restaurants, coffee bars and walking around to explore the area without needing the car. It is on a busy road, which would usually bother me but because the location is so handy and the traffic didn't disturb us at night, this wasn't a problem. The cottage is beautifully done and spotlessly clean and although not huge, was fine for us, a party of 4 adults and a baby. We used the attic room as a nursery for a 6 month old baby in a cot bed, which proved extremely useful as it served as a cosy play area too with plenty of room away from our Golden Retriever who always likes to get involved! It was a little awkward getting everything up there but as long as you're reasonably mobile, it's no real problem. There are plenty of electrical sockets, even in the attic room, although clothes hanging space is quite limited and could be a challenge if you're staying longer than a weekend and don't travel light. However, there's plenty of room to keep suitcases under the bed and it is a super cottage and we'd definitely stay there again if we return to the area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carmen c
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas start”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
people found this review helpful

I have just spent an amazing weekend with my grandchildren in Bourton on the Water enjoying the spectacular annual Christmas fair in this stunning village in the Cotswolds. The highlight of the event was the illumination of a beautiful Christmas tree in the middle of river! We stayed at Chapel Cottage which is a lovely Cotswold stone cottage in the heart of the village, set just off the high street which, despite being only a few metres from the hustle and bustle of the village is a wonderfully quiet retreat. The owners have tastefully restored the cottage to an extremely high standard retaining many of the original period features including a fantastic large inglenook fireplace and the lovely original beams. It was truly a home from home with all the mod cons you could need. The children loved the secret snug room at the top of the cottage, equipped with a tv, dvds and games! I have just had an operation on my knee and although the beautiful original staircase was a little steep it had a sturdy handrail which made it easy for me to get upstairs to the delightful bedrooms. A big thank you to Jigsaw Holidays for a perfect cottage in the perfect location.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
people found this review helpful

Making the most of our ‘Puente’ (a four day holiday) we have come from Barcelona to explore the Cotswolds. We have spent 4 wonderful days in this beautiful cottage in Bourton on the water. Location could not be better and there is no need to cook as you have plenty of choice just a few steps from the door! We explored lots of other beautiful villages and pubs but it was always very good to return each evening to Chapel Cottage and relax in front of the beautiful fireplace with a glass of vino ;-) We will be recommending this lovely comfortable cottage to all our friends and hope to be back….maybe next Puente.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“'Buyer Beware'.....not all as it seems...”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in September 2016
people found this review helpful

Great Location for Bourton Village but,...Very Noisy because the cottage is on the main road.with a constant stream of traffic from 4.30am !!.
Our experience staying at chapel cottage was dreadful, extremely dirty kitchen the sink fridge and microwave had not been cleaned for our stay..previous guests 'hair' in both beds, lounge had previous guests crumbs and sweet papers stuffed down the cushions....stairs dangerous with one step in particular breaking away and very loose.....complaints to Jigsaw and Owners fell on deaf ears and blame afforded to us as guests...easy to do when none of them ever met us....

Could not in all good concience recommend this Cottage nor Jigsaw agency.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Dec 2016
We find ourselves at a loss as to how to respond on this occasion: we first heard of your dissatisfaction with the cottage 2 weeks following your departure and the photos you provided us with were taken on the penultimate day of your stay, 6 days after your arrival. We have never received a bad review for this or indeed any of our cottages. All of the information we provide on our properties prior to booking contains detailed information including a map of the exact location: many of our guests love Chapel Cottage precisely because it has all the attractions this thriving village has to offer on its doorstep. If we know guests wish to avoid a busy community and all that entails, then we suggest a more isolated location.

All of our properties are professionally cleaned prior to guest arrival and since we did not hear from you on the day you arrived at the cottage, or indeed at all during your stay we have no way of verifying your comments. Had you contacted us upon your arrival then we would of course have had the opportunity of resolving any issues but unfortunately for your own reasons you chose to wait 2 weeks after your departure before getting in touch. We do struggle with the idea that you were so unhappy but failed to contact us at all during your stay: if indeed there was an issue, it seems unfair to complain about something that neither ourselves or the owners were given the opportunity to resolve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Athan, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
USD 185
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing