We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful quaint cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
172 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 172 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Gaapaul
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful quaint cottage”
Reviewed 18 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fantastic time here in Bourton, the cottage was exactly as described and quaint. We felt like we were in a different world. The house was clean and everything worked perfectly.
We really appreciated the food essentials provided. Hilary gave use great directions, local info and how to access really early and also reminders.
The house is so close to a couple of nice pubs and restaurants too.
We couldn't have asked for more. A perfect rental.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
I already know how much you enjoyed your stay, but thanks for telling others about your experience. We'll look forward to welcoming you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulcrump...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage, Gret Location”
Reviewed 17 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017

The cottage is absolutely lovely and it's location couldn't be better for the centre of Bourton (about 45 seconds walk to all the action!) We were lucky enough to meet the owner, due to being early arriving, and she was lovely too! The cottage is well equipped both in terms of the kitchen but also in terms of books, games and dvds (a few more action flicks for the boys though please lol) We were amazed to arrive to a bottle of wine in the fridge as well as all the basics we might need like bread and milk etc...even better the owner left a great book for our 2 year old! Thanks for the stay and we will definitely return in the future. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED :0)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Mar 2017
Thanks for your comments. There are dozens of DVDs to choose from, but I obviously haven't got the mix quite right, haha. You'll be pleased to hear that we've had an extra shelf and more DVDs ready for some time, and are just waiting for a free slot to fit it. You'll be well catered for next time. I'm pleased that you appreciate everything that we provide for our guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayo66
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Lavender Cottage”
Reviewed 8 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

What a lovely cosy cottage, in a lovely location, within a minute's walk of the river and high street that is, Bourton on the water. The cottage is cosy and warm, and all our stresses n strains just ebbed away upon our arrival. Lavender Cottage is truly lovely, we can't say a bad thing about anything to be honest. Even little touches like tea, milk and a bottle of wine just added to our relaxing arrival.
Would we stay at Lavender Cottage again????
It's a no brainer, of course we would.
It's a haven of relaxation.
Thank you Hilary for your help and letting us stay in your wonderful cottage.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2017
Thanks for this endorsement. I wish that modern life didn't come with stresses & strains! I'm pleased that you felt able to unwind here and I'm sure that you've gone home feeling a little lighter. We'll look forward to welcoming you next time you feel the need to escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthStar...
1 review
“A cosy 4 day trip in lovely Bourton-on-the-Water!!”
Reviewed 7 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

My boyfriend and I wanted a cosy quiet get away for a long weekend, and we got it. Lavender cottage is spotless, well laid out, and extremely comfortable. It is beautifully located just off the main street with a lovely river, plenty of great tea spots, pubs and shops. Hilary & Alistair were extremely prompt in their responses, and made sure we had everything we needed in the cottage for our stay. We loved it, and we would definitely come back here if the opportunity arose.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2017
I'm pleased that you found what you were looking for and that you enjoyed our beautiful village. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claudia F
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed 28 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Lovely well equipped cottage. Very cosy. Thank you very much for leaving food/drink and providing the air mattress for our son. Perfect location. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jan 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. I'm glad that we were able to squeeze in an extra "bed" for your son and pleased that you appreciated what Lavender Cottage offers guests.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing