We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay can't wait to visit again”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
175 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 175 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
cassandra...
Mackay
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay can't wait to visit again”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

My husband and 13 month old daughter stayed here for almost a week and found the cottage excellent. Before we even arrived all communications with the owners were prompt and very helpful. On arrival it was all the little things that made a huge difference, such as: high chair for baby, welcome pack of food (butter, bread, baby food, tea, coffee and spreads), baby books, toys and walking maps. The beds were comfortable and the bathroom adequate for the property style.

The location was excellent, we were able to park near each day and it is great to walk along I the village each morning feeding ducks peacefully before the large groups of people arrive around 10am. On the weekends the town is very popular and we found it was best to go elsewhere and explore and save the town for early AM and late afternoon.

Also if you are traveling with mobile little children (we were lucky as our little one was not walking yet) be aware of the stairs and lack of door on upstairs room.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2016
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. Yes, the village can be busy at weekends this time of year. It's the most visited village in the Cotswolds because it's so beautiful. I'm glad you found it peaceful during "off-peak" hours, and that you enjoyed exploring the surrounding area.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A J
Sandy, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We only spent a few days at Lavender Cottage but I wish it could've been longer! It was so cozy with lots of character, but without sacrificing modern amenities. A lot of thought had clearly gone into making the cottage comfortable, convenient, and spotlessly clean. We were tired after several days rushing around London so although we enjoyed the village and nearby footpaths, we also were content to just relax around the cottage and garden as both were so peaceful and charming. There was plenty of information provided about the village and surrounding area, as well as manuals and info for the appliances in the cottage. Hilary was very helpful, prompt, and communicative in our emails.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
It's such a contrast from the hustle & bustle of London, so I'm pleased that you felt able to relax here. I'm glad that you appreciated the balance of old & new in Lavender Cottage. Thank you for sharing your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warbo76
Moree
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Thank you so much, the cottage was a beautiful, well equipped place to stay. So close to the river and the village centre. We came with two girls 6 & 7 y.o and when we arrived Hilary had put colouring-in books on their beds on the top floor, they loved the whole experience. There's a great range of DVDs for the kids to choose from and a bookshelf that has a nice selection including books about the Cotswolds, maps, board games and music CDs. We were only here 3 nights but we loved our little home away from home, Thank you!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 May 2016
Thank you for writing this review while you were still at the cottage. It was lovely to meet you and hear about how much you'd all enjoyed your time in the Cotswolds. It certainly is a great place for family fun.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatterje...
New Delhi, India
1 review
“Lavender Cottage was our most wonderful experience in the UK”
Reviewed 11 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

I must say that Hilary and Alistair are extremely helpful and humble couple and have one of the nicest cottage's in Bourton-on-the-Water. It so turned out that in our 20 day trip to the UK, we could not stop thinking of Bourton-on-the-Water and Lavender cottage. There was an innate peace there which we couldn't find anywhere else.
The house was clean and upto the mark. It is well equipped and well described in the house manuals provided. They have a place to park the car, which is not reserved but you almost always find the spot available. The market is probably a couple minutes walking and the ducks from the river make it all the way in front of the cottage sometimes at night, making the entire experience very close to nature.
They had a DVD collection which had children's movies and their collection of books was also very good. We were traveling with a baby and they were extremely cooperative in helping us have her with us. They had taken care of things which we wouldnt have expected and it just made our experience even better. We would be at theirs anytime we are in the UK next!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall feel of the cottage and its location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2016
Thank you for sharing your experience of Lavender Cottage and Bourton-on-the-Water. I know from your emails that you're all missing this wonderful part of England, but I'm pleased that you have such happy memories. I'm glad we were able to make such a positive contribution to your first visit to England. We'll see you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaycockro...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, Fantastic cottage & location”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this beautiful cottage with my husband and 2 boys. Excellent communication with booking and very happy with the accommodation upon arrival. It was spotless, comfortable beds and everything you would need had been thought of including all the extras including the food supplies and books left for the boys which was very thoughtful. The area is fabulous very picturesque and literally everything is on your doorsteps, so many restaurants to choose from. I can recommend the Rose Tree. We had a lovely stay wish it had been longer and would not hesitate in recommending Lavender Cottage. We would love to return some day. Thank you :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
I'm pleased that you appreciated the cottage and the location. The Rose Tree is always a favourite for a lovely meal, so I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for your lovely comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing