We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place to base a tour of the Cotswolds.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lavender Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
163 reviews
Perfect for al fresco refreshments
Entrance to Lavender Cottage
The River Windrush flows through the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
The River Windrush in the centre of Bourton-on-the-Water
Bourton-on-the-Water
The village wildlife
Ooops! Only joking. You'll have to travel to Arizona USA for this view
Bourton on the Water celebrates Christmas
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 163 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Kathy P
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect place to base a tour of the Cotswolds.”
Reviewed 11 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

This is an extremely well kept cottage that is full of character and charm. It is clean and tastefully decorated, and includes all of the amenities, such as a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, etc. The owners really go out of their way to make guests feel comfortable and provide a nice selection of products in their welcome package. We really felt as if this were a home away from home, and many good restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance. Strongly recommend this property, and the location is first rate as well.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Charm, comfort, and character
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
We're pleased that you enjoyed your trip to this beautiful part of England and that you appreciated the amenities at Lavender Cottage. Thank you for taking the time to post this review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GEM2178
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely, well equipped cottage”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay with our American friends.
Loved the cottage, everything we needed was provided including plenty of food.
Location was also great - the cottage was quiet but a very easy and short walk to the centre of Bourton + we were able to park easily outside.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Oct 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We're pleased that you all enjoyed your stay & the ideal location of the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean S
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage, delightful owner”
Reviewed 23 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Have just had the most wonderful stay at Lavender Cottage. What a charming cottage, cosy, extremely comfortable and so clean and fresh it was a delight. Hilary who owns Lavender Cottage is a pleasure to correspond with and it is clear that she wants the very best for her guests. After a long tiring journey it was so lovely to find all the goodies she had left to make our stay so enjoyable. From the beautiful fresh roses, chilled wine, fresh coffee, chocolate biscuits and lots more we felt really welcome. Everything you could ever need and more was provided at Lavender Cottage, including DVDs, CDs, iPod Dock, and more. The two bedrooms were lovely with new fresh linens and big fluffy towels. The sitting room even had some snugly wraps should it have been a bit chilly, however with the very efficient fire there was no need for them. The kitchen was fully equipped with very lovely crockery and Wedgewood mugs. Nothing at all was missing.
Bourton is one of the prettiest villages in the country and Lavender cottage is just a few steps away from the very heart of the village, so no need for the car whilst you are there. If you are looking for a quaint, traditional Cotswold cottage you could do no better than Lavender Cottage. It's absolutely perfect.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2014
We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelWri...
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A storybook-perfect cottage for a Cotswolds escape”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We had a fabulous two night stay at this cottage and only wish that we had booked a longer stay. From start to finish, our time here ran so smoothly.

We arrived at our gorgeous cottage, nestled in a quiet group between a few others. This is the stuff children's books are made of: an idyllic cottage packed with old-world character that says 'English country escape'.

The whole check-in process was very straightforward and our hosts had kindly put a few little extras in the fridge and cupboard, so we had all of the essentials we needed. The entire cottage was clean and very well-appointed.

Bourton-on-the-Water is undoubtedly one of the loveliest villages in the Cotswolds and the cottage is located only metres away from the water and all of the eateries and shops.

An unforgettable stay - we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: My parents slept in the double bed and said the mattress wasn't all that comfortable.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post this review. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Lavender Cottage & that you appreciated it's proximity to everything that the beautiful village of Bourton-on-the-Water has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
42shirley
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little gem in a lovely place”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Just home from home..everything you need even a stock of necessary food.
Well looked after and very tastefully and thoughtfully furnished.
The location is perfect, peaceful yet only a few yards from the main street and windrush river.
Our second stay ..don't think it will be long before our next visit.
Recommend the Cotswolds wild life park and Motor museum.
Everything is so close by.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2014
We're pleased that you've enjoyed your two visits to Lavender Cottage and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing