We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just what we had hoped for”
other travellers have booked this property
Well Cottage - front view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Well Cottage - front view
Welcome! - entrance to Well Cottage via gate Close-up of Well w/Iris in May
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
Well Cottage - front view
Welcome! - entrance to Well Cottage via gate
Close-up of Well w/Iris in May
Footpath from private driveway leading to Front Door surrounded by herbs,roses & flowers
View of Lounge with original Large Inglenook Fireplace and Wood Burning Stove.
Peonies in Bloom in Spring
lounge showing beams, flooring and rugs
Dining area
Dining area
Neat, Clean and Tidy Kitchen
Back Bedroom with Double Bed
Close up of Double Bed in Back Bedroom
Close-up of Single bed in Back Bedroom
View of Double and Single Bed in Back Bedroom
View into Front room with Double Bed showing exposed fireplace and Beam
View into Front Bedroom
Corner Angle of Front Bedroom
Victorian Bathroom - newly refubished
Heated Towel Rail
Comfortable Bath with Shower - all newly refurbished
Rear view of Detached Well Cottage
Kingsbridge Inn at river side
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Italian first
Any
English first
Crampton...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just what we had hoped for”
Reviewed 3 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We loved our stay in the Cotswolds. That includes our stay in Well Cottage. It was a perfect
Balance between quaint and comfortable. The ambiance of the century's old cottage with all
The comforts. We did several walks as the location was so good. There were many spots to eat out and shops for self catering if we wished. The land ladies were easy and pleasant to
Deal with. Everything was perfect. We would happily recommend it and would return ourselves

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The charming 16th century ambiance coupled with upto date facilities
Liked least: Liked it all
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jacky1858
Nevers, France
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We are a couple of French people with our daughter and we had wonderful holidays in Well Cottage. It is a very pleasant, comfortable, clean, quiet and cosy place to stay. It is decorated tastefully. Moreover, its situation is close to all the shops in the charming village of Bourton on the Water. We thank Jo, the housekeeper who was very helpful. We recommand this cottage for people who want to have holidays they will never forget.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulI8242...
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideal English cottage”
Reviewed 15 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The cottage lived up to our dream - truely English cottage style. Facilities were great and kept very clean - thanks Jo! A great location for the Cotswolds!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jean K
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Cottage!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Cottage in prime location, 2 mins walk from restaurants and village. Cottage contained everything we needed. Cosy lounge, modern bathroom, very comfortable bed. Cannot fault the property at all. Off road parking a real bonus as parking in village difficult. Bettie and Dawn (owners) were really helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Many thanks for our wonderful stay, hopefully be back soon

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpetual...
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Perfect location within Bourton on the Water”
Reviewed 24 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

This period cottage (17th century) retains many features including low beamed ceilings and stone walls. A modern bath has been added, with a small but functional kitchen. The owners are excellent at responding to inquiries within a few minutes, and that helped ease any concerns. Just prior to our arrival, they experienced a problem with the boiler and gave us the choice of going to another accommodation (which they had arranged) or coming as planned and then seeing if they had been able to solve the issue. When we arrived, the boiler was in the midst of being replaced, and Bette was on hand to explain the situation to us. While it did take us a few extra hours before we could get in to the cottage, we did take the opportunity to travel around the village.

The lounge has a huge original fireplace with a wood stove added. We lit a fire one cold evening and it warmed up the cottage very well. It was a lovely way to spend an evening. What is nice about this particular period cottage is that it has windows on 3 sides in the lounge, which adds a lot of light.

The new boiler worked well, and there was always hot water and heat in the house. The bathroom is modern and very nicely done up, but as it is in an extension it remains rather cold and could use with a blind on the window for privacy.

The kitchen has all the amenities you need for a stay. Although the cottage can sleep five, there is only seating at the dining table and main living area for four people (this wasn't an issue for us, but families may want to consider it).

Bedrooms are a nice size and can sleep 5. Lovely, warm linens. A selection of different types of pillows would be nice as all were very hard as were the mattresses. If you have any difficulty walking, be aware that the bedroom floors are very uneven as is to be expected in a cottage of this type.

The best element of the cottage is its proximity to the village. It is a very short walk to the river and tea rooms, but enough off the main area to be quiet.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Location to the village
Liked least: Cold bathroom and hard beds
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing