We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent holiday property”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Alderley House

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michele19...
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent holiday property”
Reviewed 13 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

The property was excellent in every way - spacious, clean and everything available at the house for a perfect stay. The location was ideal with a 10 minute walk into the centre of the beautiful village which was bustling and had plenty of pubs, cafes and craft shops. Also ideally positioned for other Cotswolds villages. The owner was very helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
dawn h
shropshire
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stayed at Alderley House for a birthday celebration had an excellent time. The house was everything & more. Loads of space, comfortable surroundings - just what the doctor ordered! Thank you Margaret & Steve. we will return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very private & luxurious
Liked least: Coming home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susan L
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Our home away from home for a week”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Alderley House for one week with grandparents, children and 3 small children. It couldnt have been more perfect. Margaret and Steve set up extra beds for the smallest children, one even as a last request. The four bedrooms with ensuites (including two baths as well as the showers) were perfect for a fun bath time. All the bedrooms were beautifully furnished and comfortable. The living area accomodated our family of 8 as well as extended family who visited us. The large dining table accomodated big family lunches each day and we extended it one day to seat 14 by opening the french doors and adding a table outside! We stayed during the heatwave but the downstairs stayed cool even with all the cooking going on! The kitchen was well supplied with two sets of cutlery, lots of serving dishes, two fridges and a range/stove that would have suited a small restaurant. We used both ovens, the grill, 5 gas burners and the warming top one day. We couldnt have done all the entertaining we did without these wonderful amenities. There was plenty of hot water, a good working washer and dryer (we used the washing line though) and freezer. The children loved the two water features in the garden. The house is a walkable distance to the pretty village of Bourton on the Water and perfect for families with small children. They loved Birdland, the train museum and paddling in the river. Grocery shopping was easy with the Coop, and Tesco in Stow on the Wold. The small bedroom with sloping roof was rather warm during the heatwave (over 30 degrees all week) and a larger fan might help if this rare occurrence ever happened again! Margaret and Steve were kind hosts and answered our many emails with great patience. If you are looking for a 4 bedroom house in the Cotswolds, we would highly recommend Alderley House. All our visiting family were amazed at the size and quality of this rental, a true family home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: ensuite bathrooms, kitchen stove, large living area
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steelgard...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic cottage”
Reviewed 10 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great cottage: good sized rooms (the master bedroom in particular), great kitchen and outdoor space. Being able to close the gates meant that we could let the kids run freely. And it's a short walk (feasible even for a 2 year old) to the model village etc. Everything we could ask for!

The landlord was very helpful, even calling me on our checkin day to tell me about some road closures in the area, and met me at the property to show me all around.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing