We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Best Holiday Home I Have Ever Stayed In.”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property! The spacious and stunning living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
Welcome to the impressive, Grade II* listed, Middle Gable The Old Hall
A beautiful Cotswold stone property!
The spacious and stunning living room
Stylish furnishings, underfloor heating and a roaring log burner
The house is a lovely home from home
The large kitchen and dining room
Large, hand painted dining table and chairs
Beautifully presented
A lovely, sociable room
The house is full of character features
The lovely, old stairwell, in the heart of the house
A beautiful stained glass window, in the stairwell
The luxurious master bedroom
Traditional character features and modern facilities
The grand, four poster bed
Relax in style!
Looking out to the landing
Antique furniture
The family bathroom, which contains a bath with a handheld shower attachment, toilet and wash basin
Another room full of character
Bedroom 2, with two single beds
Beautiful style and character
Bedroom 2 also has a day bed
A lovely bedroom
More character features
The house has a lovely garden at the front
Middle Gable The Old Hall is one of a row of traditional cottages
The garden in full bloom
Middle Gable The Old Hall, an exceptional character property
The garden is beautiful all year round
A lovely place to relax and unwind
The square holes are 'dovecotes', where doves would once have lived
Bourton-on-the-Water is a beautiful Cotswold village
Take a stroll by the River Windrush
Known as the 'Venice of the Cotswolds'!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Bourton-on-the-Water, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Wendy M
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“The Best Holiday Home I Have Ever Stayed In.”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Even before entering Middle Gable it was impossible to not be impressed by the beautiful frontage of the building, overlooking a very pretty, well tended garden.
The cottage, formerly part of a 17th century manor house has not lost the elegance and richness of a long and bygone area. The owner has cleverly combined 17th century with modern living ensuring a luxurious stay but with the feel of having stepped into an historical gem. The cottage has been lovingly furnished to give a grand yet homely feel with the interesting touch of many wonderful paintings/prints of historical figures (many from the 1600s). It would be quite easy to while away a few hours just appreciating the decorative features throughout the house.
The cottage is full of character, and as mentioned, still retains its antiquated atmosphere. We loved the master bedroom with its wooden floorboards, latched wooden door and mullion windows. The crowning piece of the room has to be the king sized four poster bed, which was extremely comfortable. We also liked the portrait of Queen Elizabeth 1st, keeping a stern eye on things!
The living room was very cosy and uplifting. We enjoyed relaxing with a glass of wine, by the log burner fire and keeping our feet warm, not only with the use of the fire but also the underfloor heating - a real luxury!
The only downside was our stay here went far too quickly! There is lots to see and do in the surrounding areas, the village of Bourton on the Water is delightful. Whether you are looking to simply relax and unwind, or have a more energetic holiday this location caters for both. We visited Birdland , the Motoring Museum and The Model Village, all within a short walking distance from the cottage, and all very much worth seeing.
In short we couldn't have wished for a better venue in a better setting. Perfect! Thank you.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too hard to choose although we really loved the Master Bedroom
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie M
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 18 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and easy to find with the instructions provided. Good facilities (with the exception of the dishwasher which left everything with a powdery film and lack of waste bins). We did remember to take bin liners, kitchen paper, washing up liquid, shower gel and tea towels, but didn't expect to need to take our own toilet paper!
We like to have dinner in at least once or twice during our stays and many of the utensils, glasses etc were tired.
Our American friends loved the four poster bed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and furnishings
Liked least: lack of supplies
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2016
"Character Cottages, as a marketing agency, does not look after or maintain any cottages. The following is written by the owner of Middle Gable: "Thank you for your review; I will answer your points:
The dishwasher is a Neff appliance and we have always found it to be an excellent dishwasher.
We do not have waste bins in the kitchen because Cotswold district Council is very particular about what goes into which bin and we have found that if you put a bin in the kitchen everything gets put into that and then the council will not take the rubbish therefore there are bin bags under the sink.
The refuse bins of which there are three and two sacks for cardboard and plastic are situated at the top of the garden by the garage, a fact I tell you about it when you call me.
Washing up liquid is kept under the sink along with numerous other cleaning products and cloths, tea towels are situated on the tea towel holder which slides away under the cupboard next to the cooker - there are two tea towels for Each visit.
We do not provide shower gel as this is a personal thing but we do provide hand wash in both bathrooms and the kitchen. We would not expect you to provide your own toilet roll and we provide 2 toilet rolls in each bathroom , and the housekeeping team have confirmed that this was the case last Friday when you arrived.
With regards to the utensils being tired, we use the property on a regular basis and I check everything over and replace anything that might be chipped. When we spoke on the Friday night about the Internet and when you met my husband at the property on the Saturday, we asked you if everything was okay and you said yes but if you had mentioned any of your concerns then we would have been able to look into them for you.""
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pafcmike
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect base for visiting Cotswolds”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed at Middle Gable for a week over the bank holiday at the beginning of May - with friends of ours for the first 3 nights, and then just the two us for another four nights.
The property is awesome, both as a lovely home, and as a location.
Middle Gable is everything - and more - that you expect, from the website. It has all the functionality you need, whilst maintaining its charm and character. Oak beams, wooden floors, beautiful 17th century furniture, windows, you feel like you are actually living in Tudor times, but with the required mod cons. It's spacious, comfortable and peaceful - an ideal getaway.
It's within walking distance of the centre of town (about 2 minutes away) yet you feel like you're in the countryside. You just couldn't wish for a better location.
There's a double garage, so we and the couple we shared with over the first 3 days, could both park in there. And, if you're feeling lazy, you can also park a car on the hard standing immediately in front of the garage.
Storage heaters and underfloor heating work a treat - although we rarely needed it, as the sun shone through the lounge window most of the time. A bathroom with shower attachment on the first floor was ideal, whilst our friends used the the shower room on the ground floor. Both were lovely.
We spent a lot of time visiting the quaint shops, cafes, pubs etc in Bourton itself, where there is such a great choice of quality eateries. But we also visited lots of other beautiful towns and villages from the base - such as Stow-on-Wold, Burford, Broadway, Chipping Camden, and Moreton in the Marsh- all of which were in easy reach of Bourton. We even spent a day at Stratford-upon-Avon, which, although a little further, still took less than 45 minutes to get to.

We couldn't recommend this place highly enough, as, from first speaking to Kate, the owner, (who told us everything we needed to know, as well as a few good tips, a few days before arrival) right through to leaving day, we had such a relaxing break.

Even the neighbours were friendly, with Anne always willing to share a few ideas with us, when we bumped into her.

If you're looking for a typically quintessential English hideaway with quality, I can't believe there is a better choice out there than Middle Gable!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tapper54
Frankfort, New York
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Three weeks was still not long enough!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in September 2015

The first time my husband and I stayed at Middle Gable, we rented for one week, had a lovely time, but it was over all to quickly. So, the next year, we booked for two weeks. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, now so comfortable, it was like coming home. Our most recent stay was for three weeks in September of 2015. All we can say is, when can we come back? The location of this most magnificent property is super convenient to the village, yet kept very private from the tourist element. The pubs, the shops, the bakery, all wonderful places to visit and yet return to your own patch of heaven at the end of the day. The underfloor heating makes it most comfortable, even on a cold, rainy day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and garden.
Liked least: leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catlikesp...
Excelsior, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Classic English Countryside”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We loved Middle Gable. We stayed there with our 3 kids, ages 9, 11, and 14. It was perfectly located in the gorgeous town of Bourton-on-the-Water. We could easily walk to everything in town and also drove to Warwick castle and Birmingham for a premier league game. The cottage itself so comfortable and has everything that you could need to stay there a few days or longer. Hopefully we'll make it back there some day!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing